We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barringtons Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was one of our most memorable stays in a motel. The rooms are really big, the facilities excellent, and the beds so comfortable. It was my husband's birthday the day we arrived, and as we sat outside enjoying a birthday drink, the owners came down with a piece of cake for him. They, and another guest in the motel, joined us for what was a great late afternoon/evening celebration. The motel is only a few minutes from the centre of town, and a short drive to Ohope Beach. We would certainly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
52
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night - wish we could have stayed longer!
We found the rooms to be very spacious, very clean, and the bed was super comfy too! Had a wonderful peaceful nights sleep!
The spa bath in our room was fabulous.
Enjoyed free unlimited FAST WIFI, which at many other places is limited to only 100mb and very slow.
The management were very friendly and professional.
Thank you for your hospitality and we would be sure to stay here again in the future.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hunter4holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by the lovely owner who was more than happy to give us any information we needed. The room was very clean and comfortable although you have to go through the bedroom to get to the bathroom which is a little uncomfortable if you are sleeping in the lounge. A door could be added from the lounge to the bathroom so there would be 2 doors into the bathroom. I'm unsure if this is being looked into. The only reason I would not book again is the noise. The other residents decided to party till 4am and only stopped when I confronted them and made them aware that some people were sleeping. I do not feel that I should have been put in this position. I called the reception first but got no answer. We then had our neighbours up at 5 shouting outside our door. It's safe to say I left in a very tired and grumpy mood. I think some signs up reminding other residents to be quiet might help or some complementary ear plugs. This said, this is only let down by other people. Not by the motel itself.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFunlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We could hear our neighbours in the next unit as the walls are very thin. As they got up early to go fishing that was an early start for us also. The bed was comfortable. There is no light above the dining room table. Although they deliver newspapers to the units they forgot to give us one on he second day. How come motel managers cannot get these small things right?


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nzgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine M, Owner at Barringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi
In response to your comments. sorry the next room was too loud. We would have been more than happy to approach them to quieten down if we were aware.
The newspapers are complimentry and although you did not receive one on your door, I believe you received one as soon as you asked.
I'm glad you found the bed comfortable. Many guests comment on our comfy beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Best sleep I have had for years. First time I have woken up without neck and shoulder pain in a very long time thanks to the excellent pillows and bedding in this first class, extremely clean and roomy unit at this immaculate motel. The best ever range of teas and coffees too. Management and staff are warm and friendly and very helpful. We were delighted with our stay here and would definately recommend to all. We have stayed at quite a few motels this year around NZ and I would rate Barringtons as tops and very good value for money spent.

Room Tip: Rooms in back of motel very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent two nights at this motor lodge and found the unit very clean and well set out. A bonus to have free wifi although I did have a few minor problems getting on line. They were soon sorted a good range of tea and coffee and milo. My only grumble would be when I was showed the unit ( 2nd back from road) I commented about traffic noise and the owner commented he'd had no complaints. It's a very busy road and we stayed a Friday and a Saturday night. We'll the Friday night was like living beside a motorway the traffic was terrible all night . Saturday was a lot better. I do admit to living on a very quiet street but if I were to stay again would DEFINITLY ask for a back unit. Not far into Whakatane and very central.

Room Tip: Stay at a back unit opposed to the three at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZVICKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Barringtons Motel, has superb rooms. Bedlinen is better than 1st Class,
Amenities are top, Cleanliness cannot be faulted
Staff and management are extremely helpful and nothing is too much of a problem to them.
The rates are extremely attractive and well worth the pleasure of staying the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine M, Owner at Barringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you chose to stay with us and maybe we can do it again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barringtons Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons Motor Lodge

Property: Barringtons Motor Lodge
Address: 34 Landing Road, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barringtons Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barringtons Motor Lodge Provides clean, modern, comfortable, and spacious accommodation for visitors to Whakatane.We are part of the Asure Loyalty Group.We are located close to lovely walking tracks along the river and a short walk or dive to Whakatane town centre.All 14 units are ground floor, and have comfortable beds and feather and down throws. Two of our units have disabled facilities. Great range of coffee and teas and breakfast available.Large LCD Televisions.Free Wireless Wifi Access to all units.Small conference facilities. Guest laundry.Free newspaper on request.BBQ available.Bike Hire onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Barringtons Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing