We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large Room”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place is really nice, it was clean, well furnished and very large. I really enjoyed the stay here and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Whakatane. The price was very affordable and it is also in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    33
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
52
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I only booked this motel because it was an easy walking distance to the party we were going to. But, it turned out to be one of the best motels we have ever stayed in, and we've been in LOTS of New Zealand motels. Huge rooms, extremely clean, and a very helpful man running it. He saw that we had plants in the car so he offerred to take them to the back of the motel, out of the direct sunlight, and he watered them. Next morning, he saw us packing up the car, so he brought the plants back again. These small touches make us want to return next time we are in Whakatane.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Thank you Maxine and Allan for your kindness and thoughtfulness on my recent trip to Whakatane. Great place to stay, clean comfortable room with everything I needed.Your hospitality is the best! You know what you did! Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingil Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The super-sized rooms and very friendly service make this motor lodge a stand out from the crowd. Our room was clean and comfortable.
The lodge is a pleasant 20-30 min walk along the river into town (although there are a few take-away meal options closer than that).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very clean spacious rooms and friendly proprietors made our stay a pleasure. My wife and I sleep in separate beds and had three cases of personal effects with us. It was a delight to be able to spread out and not feel cluttered. The location is quiet but a little way out from the Town Centre. We took a taxi but were chastised because Maxine said we should have just asked for a lift!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 169Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Allan, the proprietor, was so helpful to us on our arrival. He gave us lots of information about restaurants in the town and offered to drive us there - and he was willing to pick us up after dinner!! However, the riverside walk into town that he told us about was perfect and we walked both ways.
The room was very pleasant and comfortable. We enjoyed our nights stay. The guest laundry was an added bonus.
This is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-and-H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A clean, spacious room with a very comfortable bed. I was traveling with a group of friends on motorbikes and we were offered secure parking for our bikes. This was unexpected and most appreciated. The proprietors were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear as the one by the road is noisy. The one at the rear right corner is enorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine M, Owner at Barringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
You were a great group to have stay. We are more than happy to secure motor bikes or road bikes etc for anyone who stays. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 12 in Whakatane
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barringtons Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons Motor Lodge

Property: Barringtons Motor Lodge
Address: 34 Landing Road, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barringtons Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barringtons Motor Lodge Provides clean, modern, comfortable, and spacious accommodation for visitors to Whakatane.We are part of the Asure Loyalty Group.We are located close to lovely walking tracks along the river and a short walk or dive to Whakatane town centre.All 14 units are ground floor, and have comfortable beds and feather and down throws. Two of our units have disabled facilities. Great range of coffee and teas and breakfast available.Large LCD Televisions.Free Wireless Wifi Access to all units.Small conference facilities. Guest laundry.Free newspaper on request.BBQ available.Bike Hire onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barringtons Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing