We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"home away from home"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have stayed at this motor lodge before, easy to find on the main road. The proprietors Allan and Maxine were very friendly,good sense of humor,and able to give good directions for local amenities.The room was very clean and tidy it was nice to see a good selection of teas and coffee and water in the fridge.The bed was most comfortable as were the pillows.Enjoyed my night and will be staying again at a later date.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 119 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This motel is highly recommended to travellers touring around the north island of New Zealand by motor vehicle. It is easily found about 1 lm from the city centre and although it is on the main road ( Landing Rd) the rooms ( at least our's was) are very quiet - though this may just be Whakatane after dusk. The proprietors, Allan and Maxine, are a great source of local knowledge as well as being very hospitable and friendly. Our very large room ( including a fully equipped kitchenette and bathroom) was beautifully clean. It was very good value for the cost.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine M, Owner at Barringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind feed back. We were glad to have helped you have an enjoyable stay.
Maxine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have a the pleasure of staying at Barringtons Motor Lodge a few times now. Honestly I cannot fault the place, the rooms are spacious, absolutely spotless and have everything you could possibly need. The beds and pillows are really confortable. Maxine and Alan are really warm inviting people who are obviously passionate about their motel. Its a pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: All are equally as nice, even the roadside room is lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine M, Owner at Barringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it and are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Friendly staff. Clean unit, if a bit dated. Would be nice to have 2 hot plates in our unit so we could of cooked dinner without using the microwave. Not enough hot water. 2 showers, left with very little hot water for doing the breakfast dishes the next day. WiFi maybe free but the signal was so poor and slow that we ended up using our own internet stick.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZAilsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine M, Owner at Barringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Hi I am surprised with your dissatisfaction as our hot water is on gas so never runs out, we have pretty modern rooms and most of our rooms have top elements or we have a spare transportable one if anyone requires. All rooms also have an electric frypan in them.
If we do have these problems we would like to remedy them and apologies, but first
would you mind checking that it was Barringtons you stayed with please.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The service and hospitality were awesome, the hosts were very friendly, welcoming, and willing to go the extra mile.
Our unit was spacious, quiet and comfortable. This is the cleanest motel i've ever stayed at - fantastic! We couldn't ask for more
Thanks so much for a wonderful Whakatane experience, you really made our trip!
We'll be back for sure :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our stay in Whakatane was due to a family bereavement. The wonderful people at Barringtons Motor Lodge really did go the extra mile for our group of six. From checking daily our comfort to picking us up on our arrival in Whakatane, nothing phased them. We would most certainly recommend Barringtons, lovely large unit easily able to accommodate six and a host and hostess along with friendly staff definitely going the extra mile for all of us during our stay. Our most grateful thanks go to them. Anne

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have tryed other Accomadation in Whakatane but they don't come up to the standard that Barringtons offer. I stay here every month and have done for a number of years. Great hosts, modern large units, always a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
0.1 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#8 of 12 in Whakatane
153 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
363 reviews
0 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#11 of 12 in Whakatane
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Whakatane
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barringtons Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons Motor Lodge

Address: 34 Landing Road, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range: $93 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barringtons Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barringtons Motor Lodge Provides clean, modern, comfortable, and spacious accommodation for visitors to Whakatane.We are part of the Asure Loyalty Group.We are located close to lovely walking tracks along the river and a short walk or dive to Whakatane town centre.All 14 units are ground floor, and have comfortable beds and feather and down throws. Two of our units have disabled facilities. Great range of coffee and teas and breakfast available.Large LCD Televisions.Free Wireless Wifi Access to all units.Small conference facilities. Guest laundry.Free newspaper on request.BBQ available.Bike Hire onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Barringtons Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing