We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class hospitality and Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alfresco Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alfresco Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Whakatane B&B and Inns
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
“Top Class hospitality and Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The two days spent at the Alfresco B&B have set the benchmark for quality accommodation hospitality and dining - from a beautiful breakfast, afternoon tea and (optional) evening meal which we loved - our "Alfresco Hosts" exceeded every expectation.
During our stay we visited White Island ( a real treat) and plenty of advice was available from our hosts regards other short trips and sightseeing.
Wish we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfresco56, Owner at Alfresco Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We certainly enjoyed your company and thank you for your kind words. Perhaps we will see you again on your next visit. Best wishes Sue and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Delightful, charming and inviting with a hospitality second to none. No ones perfect, but this is pretty close, Sue and Neil, the hosts were gracious kind and very entertaining. Privacy was respected and everything was at hand. Dinner was just great. Sorry we didn't have it the first night as well. Yes, yes!!! We will be back to Alfresco and beautiful Whakatane thanks to Sue and Niel.

Room Tip: All the Rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adena9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A modern property with a wonderful feeling of space, tastefully furnished with quality and style. The numerous sundecks in small pretty gardens encouraged eating outside and explains the name of the B&B. The hospitality was first class and a joy to stay at a property that succeeded in offering a different formula to enhance the experience and enjoyment of their guests. Sue and Neil were knowledgeable, articulate, well travelled and great company, they were also thoughtful in allowing us time to ourselves to relax and soak up the atmosphere. To their credit they had a passion for promoting the area and its produce having some of the best on offer in the North Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Was a great place to start a holiday. Not that close to town but was only looking for a nice quiet place to catch up on sleep after the flight from the States and I was able to achieve that. I had requested dinner for my night of arrival and was not disappointed. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Yes back for our 2nd Visit,we are so lucky.I am sure you will have read all the previous glowing reports. Yes they are all true its great. It may seem a bit more expensive than some B & B 's. But when you get there, see the place, drink and taste all the Goodie's Its more than excellent value for money.As we were on a long vacation ( 7 weeks ) we have been over eating. So we went for the Light Supper options both nights ( see photo's ) Very nice indeed, and of course Neil insists you have a drop or 2 of wine, brilliant evenings Sue and Neil will join you from time to time.
When you finally say goodnight, there is Port and Chocolates in your room to tempt you further.
Don't hesitate go and be pampered, Join 2 lovely people who will go out of their way to make you have a most memorable stay. Thank you Sue and Neil, you keep making it better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We found this B&B on the Internet - weren't we lucky!
Beautiful room, appointed to perfection with port and chocolates and a lovely outlook onto a pretty garden. Our genial hosts are gourmet cooks and the breakfast choice was superb.

Room Tip: Just book there it is well worth the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
241 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

The title to this review says it all, it’s very rare for us to stop in a B & B but this place has made us think about our future choices. The hosts Sue and Dean welcome you into their home and provide a wonderful experience for the traveller. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable; and there are lots of little extras to make your stay feel like home from home, including home made cake to go with your afternoon tea.

We stayed three nights and had both the full evening meal and the light supper options. The food was of a high quality and very well presented. If you include the fact we also had several glasses of excellent wine and a small platter of dips and cheese with a pre dinner drink, the cost of the meals is a bargain.

Sue and Dean were very helpful, arranging a visit to White Island for myself and providing guidance on places to visit. During our two month long trip this was one of the best places we stayed and would recommend it to anyone looking to spend a few days in the warm hospitality of a Kiwi home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crestwood Bed & Breakfast
Crestwood Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#12 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfresco Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfresco Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alfresco Bed and Breakfast
Address: 39 Pouwhare Street, Whakatane, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alfresco Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Alfresco Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing