We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alfresco Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Whakatane B&B and Inns
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Delightful, charming and inviting with a hospitality second to none. No ones perfect, but this is pretty close, Sue and Neil, the hosts were gracious kind and very entertaining. Privacy was respected and everything was at hand. Dinner was just great. Sorry we didn't have it the first night as well. Yes, yes!!! We will be back to Alfresco and beautiful Whakatane thanks to Sue and Niel.

Room Tip: All the Rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adena9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
47
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A modern property with a wonderful feeling of space, tastefully furnished with quality and style. The numerous sundecks in small pretty gardens encouraged eating outside and explains the name of the B&B. The hospitality was first class and a joy to stay at a property that succeeded in offering a different formula to enhance the experience and enjoyment of their guests. Sue and Neil were knowledgeable, articulate, well travelled and great company, they were also thoughtful in allowing us time to ourselves to relax and soak up the atmosphere. To their credit they had a passion for promoting the area and its produce having some of the best on offer in the North Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Was a great place to start a holiday. Not that close to town but was only looking for a nice quiet place to catch up on sleep after the flight from the States and I was able to achieve that. I had requested dinner for my night of arrival and was not disappointed. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
222 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Yes back for our 2nd Visit,we are so lucky.I am sure you will have read all the previous glowing reports. Yes they are all true its great. It may seem a bit more expensive than some B & B 's. But when you get there, see the place, drink and taste all the Goodie's Its more than excellent value for money.As we were on a long vacation ( 7 weeks ) we have been over eating. So we went for the Light Supper options both nights ( see photo's ) Very nice indeed, and of course Neil insists you have a drop or 2 of wine, brilliant evenings Sue and Neil will join you from time to time.
When you finally say goodnight, there is Port and Chocolates in your room to tempt you further.
Don't hesitate go and be pampered, Join 2 lovely people who will go out of their way to make you have a most memorable stay. Thank you Sue and Neil, you keep making it better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We found this B&B on the Internet - weren't we lucky!
Beautiful room, appointed to perfection with port and chocolates and a lovely outlook onto a pretty garden. Our genial hosts are gourmet cooks and the breakfast choice was superb.

Room Tip: Just book there it is well worth the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
267 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The title to this review says it all, it’s very rare for us to stop in a B & B but this place has made us think about our future choices. The hosts Sue and Dean welcome you into their home and provide a wonderful experience for the traveller. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable; and there are lots of little extras to make your stay feel like home from home, including home made cake to go with your afternoon tea.

We stayed three nights and had both the full evening meal and the light supper options. The food was of a high quality and very well presented. If you include the fact we also had several glasses of excellent wine and a small platter of dips and cheese with a pre dinner drink, the cost of the meals is a bargain.

Sue and Dean were very helpful, arranging a visit to White Island for myself and providing guidance on places to visit. During our two month long trip this was one of the best places we stayed and would recommend it to anyone looking to spend a few days in the warm hospitality of a Kiwi home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at Al Fresco for 2 nights and what a wonderful experience. We chose the "Romance" package which included 2 nights bed and breakfast, champagne and platter on arrival and 3 course meal with wine and pre-meal nibbles on our second night - this proved to be very good value.

Sue and Neil were perfect hosts and very helpful. We stayed in the Parisien room which was very comfortably furnished and included port, chocolates, tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar selection at additional cost and cake was always awaiting us on our return. We had a lovely private patio overlooking fields with horses. The gardens to the bed and breakfast were lovely - shame the hot tub is no longer there!

Sue and Neil prepared wonderful breakfasts with a hot breakfast of your choice included (one morning I had eggs benedict and the other day I have scrambled eggs with salmon- both were wonderfully cooked.

The evening meal was superb and excellent value. Thoroughly recommend .

Al Fresco was very handy to Whakatane - a lovely walk by the river into town.

In summary, wonderful bed and breakfast and superb hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneCheshire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crestwood Bed & Breakfast
Crestwood Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
102 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ashfields Country Garden Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 12 in Whakatane
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfresco Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfresco Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alfresco Bed and Breakfast
Address: 39 Pouwhare Street, Whakatane, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whakatane
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfresco Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Alfresco Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing