We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a good honest steak.”
Review of RSVP of Cherrywood - CLOSED

RSVP of Cherrywood
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Found in the Entertainment Book we bought to help the SPCA charitable Trust. Out of town but worth the effort to get there and yes it is Taurangas best kept dining secret.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice place for a good honest steak.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not a steakhouse but it was a little pedestrian.
The steak was good. Well cooked and tasty but the bowl of steamed vegetables was totally old school and frankly boring. The staff stayed up late whilst I caught up with an old friend and was happy to start packing up around us even while it was fairly early.
Someone needs to explain the meaning of wine pairing to them. Each meal had a list of "recommended" wines which is nearly the whole wine list. None of the recommended wines that we tried worked with the meals we bought. Don't use a pen to change the menus. Printing is cheap these days.
Overall nice steak but only a little bit more work and they would have a great place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crocteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great night out”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had friends over from Melbourne, we took them to RSVP, we had a great night with fantastic food and atmosphere with excellent wine, would recommend to anyone

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seascapevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service great!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was on holiday and my granddaughter took me here, it was great. We went for lunch, the service was excellent and staff very friendly. The food was excellent and a good selection to choose from.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroua Downs, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Dined here for the first time with 8 adults, celebrating a special birthday. Service was faultless - friendly, accommodating to special requests, and food was excellent. Yes, it is on the pricey side, but I was more than happy and would defiently recommend this restaurant for special dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMB27958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taurang
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Two excellent dinners here. A couple of people have said"a bit pricey" for the quality of food that was served, I'd say defiantly not... Will defiantly go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyR513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSVP of Cherrywood also viewed

Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Ohope, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Katikati, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing