We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommend for women on their own”
Review of Lion's Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lion's Den
new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not recommend for women on their own”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at Lion's Den and found the cleanliness lacking in areas - the cobwebs on the windows and above lights had not seen cleaned in a LONG time, although other parts were fine. Also, would NOT recommend for women on their own as not many locks on bedroom doors and owner, although very friendly, did not see any issue with this. In fact the door did not lock on the shower and a man walked in. The lock worked and the door shut fine, but the door could still be opened as issue with the grove in the door, and when pointed out the owner said you just had to put your hands on the inside of the door and push (that was the answer rather than a cheap bolt or a notice on the door)! Also showers and toilets were together so a number of people could not get to the toilet at rush times as the showers constantly used. In all my travelling I've never seen toilet and shower in same room in a busy backpackers. The owner was friendly and the place quite unusual, but needs thought on the basics - security and extra cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfanatic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
10
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it. Nothing fancy, a bit quirky, but we found it quiet, clean, and the beds were comfortable. Ok, so there were no locks on the doors, but it has a fun vibe and the courtyard is delightful. The kitchen / lounging area was much better than most. Paid internet available. Free parking. Good showers. Very friendly staff.

Coromandel is wonderfully relaxing. While it is not located on the beach (no real beach in Coromandel) there were several lovely beaches just a short drive away that you'll have all to yourself. Worth a visit. All in all, a good value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L-Wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

What an amazing place! This backpackers in Coromandel Town in NZ is basic (it is a backpackers) and a bit short of amenities but the guidebooks are right that it is like a flashback from the 60s. In spite of all the great reviews it is still very unpretentious, cheap and fun. There are no locks and one of the bedrooms is a teepee in the garden. Stay there if you can!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

I visited this wonderful place in August 2007, just turned up at the front door!!! It's animal theme is all part of it's charm....delightful fairy lights through the trees in the small yard separate the main house from the visitor's accommodation. I believe you can get breakfast there as well, although I was up and out too early! Lovely friendly Lounge come dining room come kitchen makes it a very sociable place to meet new people. This was my favourite place to stay in NZ!

  • Liked — Friendly Atmosphere, Charming decor
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
0.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coromandel Tui Lodge
Coromandel Tui Lodge
#6 of 18 in Coromandel
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
0.2 mi away
Coromandel Court Motel
Coromandel Court Motel
#6 of 11 in Coromandel
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Den

Property: Lion's Den
Address: 126 Te Tiki Street, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Coromandel
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing