We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management”
Review of Lion's Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lion's Den
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New management”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I found this in the BBH guide. When I turned up, I met Si, new owner with his mum, only here for the past ten days.
It's a great little hostel with some fabulous features and I feel sure the new owners will keep all the lovely things that make it so comfortable and improve on the things they see that need improving.
I had a wonderful few days in the little outdoor cabin, with hostel facilities a few feet away. Just the wind down I needed.
Good luck to the new owners!

Room Tip: Ask for the elephant house! Best wifi I've had in ages too at $5 for 24 hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
10
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed here back in December 2009 It ruined my holiday.
I had to wait a least 20 - 30 minutes to go to the toilet first thing in the morning, due to shower and toilets being together. I went to the owner to ask if i could use their's as I was desperate. She didn't care, told me to wait. I wasn't the only one waiting either.There were also three other people.
After the couples finally emerged from the two choices of bathrooms. There was hostility between the backpackers. I couldn't get out of the place fast enough.
If the management had been understanding this could have been avoided. Maybe the toilet facilities have been improved? But no doubt the attitude will be the same.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Saw it in Lonely Planet and thought it sounded like a quirky place to stay for our night in Coromandel. Edy was great, very welcoming and friendly. Our african themed double room was small but clean and comfortable and we had a great night's sleep, although the walls are a bit thin so we could hear other people as soon as they were up and about in the morning. Shared bathroom facilities are ok. Shared kitchen and living space is great, with plenty of places to lounge about and a large wooden table for everyone to eat at and share stories over breakfast. We found out lots about the local area and good fishing spots from others round the table. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samncaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland nz
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We saw this place in lonely planets and thought why not...the owner, cant remember her name was very relaxed and welcoming. She only takes cash for payment though. Got given a double room with shared toilets and kitchen. Nice and clean with comfortable bed. Infact the most comfortable bed we slept in during our trip.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank burgerqueen700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The Lion Den is a hidden treasure!
Every room has an (african) theme and paintings and interior according to it. The kitchen alone is worth staying there. Everything adds up to a cosy and warm atmosphere. This hostel is run by a couple who takes care of all you needs. They even leave personal notes to wish departing travelers a good day.
If you come to Coromandel, don't miss out on it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I have just done a whistle stop tour around the Coromandel Peninsular and found this fabulous little retreat hidden away at the end of a quiet street in Coromandel town. THE BEST BACKPACKER HOSTEL for miles. For cat lovers there is the most beautiful resident ginger manx cat.
http://www.lionsdenhostel.co.nz/

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank joanmiaowNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This place has got loads of character. The rooms aren’t the best feature, as they are very cheaply fitted out and not exactly secure. Never bothered us though and is more than made up for by the lovely garden, with BBQs and picnic tables, and friendly hosts. The shared facilities are excellent, with decent bathrooms and kitchen, and you can’t argue at the price! The location is great too, although its further than you think from the town centre – a good 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldsendchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
0.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coromandel Tui Lodge
Coromandel Tui Lodge
#5 of 17 in Coromandel
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tidewater Motel & Tourist Park
0.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Den

Property: Lion's Den
Address: 126 Te Tiki Street, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Coromandel
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing