We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Mareeba, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beautiful well appointed rooms overlooking the gorgeous McGregor Bay. Short drive or walk from Coromandel town. Close to walking tracks. Reasonably priced and plenty of room for families, great quiet location would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burnsy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    71
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
159
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This motel is an excellent choice for exploring the Coromandel. The owner was extremely friendly and seemed genuinely interested in us and in our travel plans, we got a lot of useful advice on what to do in the region. The room was very cosy and the view from the unit is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The location and view is beautiful! The Motel is immaculate. The owners, Des and Leanne were so kind and helpful we all commented that we would miss them when we left! Never have we experienced such genuine hospitality! Thanks for making our stay so special Des and Leanne!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we stayed here for one night in july and loved our stay! the room was spacious and nice and warm - the bed was the most comfiest bed we slept in over the duration of our holiday in New Zealand. The staff were helpful, knowledgeable and really friendly. The facilities were excellent and the hottub was lovely. The motel is close to town and the views across the harbour were amazing - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we spent the weekend here for our 30th wedding anviseraiy the tranqualtly of place to be at ...we found the best hostress anyone could wish for making most welcome and full of help in what to see and places to eat at things that just took your breath away eg train ride leanne advised us it could be chilly when going on the train through the forrest and gave us a blanket to keep our legs warm we will recomend this to all our friends and family and are going to rebook in future cheers leanne from trevor and jo

Room Tip: the rooms with a veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a great little motel, set a little way back from Coromandel Town with the most amazing views. Beds were comfy and everything was very clean.

Hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. Rooms felt very private.

Note - claims fully equipped kitchen but doesn't have an oven. Glad we noticed this in traveller photos before doing our shop at the Thames Pack and Save.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseB783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived to a great welcome from Leanne. So friendly, helpful and a great ambassador for Coromandel. She let us know which were the best cafes,takeaways and the best pub in town and followed her advice and had wonderful meals in the 3 days we stayed.
We took a bush walk she recommended, damned near killed me, but my wife loved it.
The motel unit was beautifully clean and modern with views of the harbour and surrounding hills etc to die for.
All in all we had a great time, quiet and restful.
We will be back.
Al and Jane

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al and Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.9 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
13.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Property: Harbour View Motel
Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing