We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“veiw and hospitality to die for”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Kawerau, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
“veiw and hospitality to die for”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we spent the weekend here for our 30th wedding anviseraiy the tranqualtly of place to be at ...we found the best hostress anyone could wish for making most welcome and full of help in what to see and places to eat at things that just took your breath away eg train ride leanne advised us it could be chilly when going on the train through the forrest and gave us a blanket to keep our legs warm we will recomend this to all our friends and family and are going to rebook in future cheers leanne from trevor and jo

Room Tip: the rooms with a veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    72
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
161
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a great little motel, set a little way back from Coromandel Town with the most amazing views. Beds were comfy and everything was very clean.

Hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. Rooms felt very private.

Note - claims fully equipped kitchen but doesn't have an oven. Glad we noticed this in traveller photos before doing our shop at the Thames Pack and Save.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseB783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived to a great welcome from Leanne. So friendly, helpful and a great ambassador for Coromandel. She let us know which were the best cafes,takeaways and the best pub in town and followed her advice and had wonderful meals in the 3 days we stayed.
We took a bush walk she recommended, damned near killed me, but my wife loved it.
The motel unit was beautifully clean and modern with views of the harbour and surrounding hills etc to die for.
All in all we had a great time, quiet and restful.
We will be back.
Al and Jane

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al and Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerdanyola del Valles, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent one night in this motel in our way to Auckland. We arrived quite late but on time to see the sunset. The room was very big.The owner was very friendly, we were talking about Barcelona and Spain.

The sunset from the terrace of our room was spectacular, and the road to arrive to Coromandel too. In the future I would like to come back and enjoy more days there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was there with my family.. We were early and thankfully the room was ready as well.. The hosts were very friendly, did tell us some of the interesting places to go to as well as some special offer at those locations. She also recommended nice places for fresh oyster as well as fish and chips.

The view was great, seating by the balcony.. sipping wine and enjoying the sunset taking photograph. Their cat came in once or twice thru the balacony to interact.. You could see the oyster farm as the tide goes down.. It was the last rest point till we head to the airport. Definitely No 1 in Coromandel..

Thank you Harbour View Motel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin_Chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stunning was my wife's verdict when she entered our motel room & saw the view. This is an excellent location for a short stay with very good clean well-equipped accommodation, friendly hostess & a great position - the coromandel peninsula is outstanding.
One extra comment - you MUST get snapper & chips from Coromandel takeaway - arguably the best fish & chips I have ever had (this is a brit speaking!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cedarchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay at this cozy little hotel. Easy to park right in front of your room. Well appointed comfortable rooms, clean, quiet, beautiful sweeping views from room, excellent value for the money. We couldn't ask for anything more and would recommend at least 2 nights to relax and enjoy if you can (we just did one night).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viva-Luigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.9 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
0.9 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
88 reviews
12.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Property: Harbour View Motel
Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing