We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place just outside Coromandel Town”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A few minutes outside the town, but right over the road from the bay. Really friendly welcome from Leanne (we arrived late and the room was open, lights and heating on ready for us), and nice hot tub by the garage! The motel units are separate from each other, so really quiet, and each has a small deck with awesome views over the bay. Wanted to stay longer than the two nights we had! In a perfect world, all motels would be like this one. Hosts can lend you a spade for Hot Water Beach if you promise not to lose it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 254 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having driven from Paihia in the Bay of Island to Coromandel Town in what can only be described as very unpleasant conditions, the Harbour View motel was a godsend at the end of a tough day. Lovely host (Leeanne), spacious room, good views and a pace of life there and in the town that just means it is a great place to relax. I truly wanted to stay longer there but had to sadly move on.

My only minor irk was that all TV in the units had been knocked out by weather the previous day Whilst I didn't miss watching the TV for the night I believe our hosts should have knocked 10% off our tariff ($150 per night) to compensate for this occurrence.

Room Tip: We dined at UMU in the main street. Best meal we had for our entire stay in NZ. The salmon dish was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend break here. Room was clean and well equiped with an awesome view of the harbour.
A short walk (20 mins on the flat) to Coromandel town adds to the peace and quiet, if you don't fancy the walk Des will drop you into town( and collect) for a very reasonable price.
The breakfast was very well priced and a real treat on a Sunday morning.
Nothing to fault.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandmarknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Many thanks to Leanne & Des for a fabulous 2 nights with beautiful views across the bay. The hosts are excellent - really know how to treat their guests (not like some!), very friendly and full of good advice, ie local fish & chip shop (fish so fresh it melted in the mouth). Spotlessly clean. The seaview units are a good size with comfy ks beds. Good heating. Kitchen is more than adequate but could do with more microwave dishes. Toilet is separate from shower. Lovely private deck with table and chairs to watch the fishing boats and towns across the bay and the beautiful sunsets.
Would most certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyBell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed her for one night during a 4 week road trip. Our hosts were very welcoming & very forthcoming with information on where to eat & what to do. Our unit was very spacious with a wonderful view from the veranda. We chose to have breakfast in our unit which was very reasonably priced. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed one night after going to the information centre to find accomodation wanting a room with a view. We were very impressed with the motel and the amenities. The room was clean and it ws nice to have a king size bed and and clean large rooms. We had a very nice beakfast ordered also and it was very relaxing looking at the harbour views. Wifi was available too. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiesmithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

stayed here as our third stop on our road trip as we headed back up to Auckland. We arrived a little late for winter check in, which is 7pm and found a note on the door saying which unit we were in and that we would catch up tomorrow. The first thing we did when we entered the room was switch on the heater and put on the kettle to make a much needed coffee. I walked out onto the deck and even though it was dark, I just knew that come the morning, the view would take my breath away.

We were shattered that night due to driving from Tauranga, walking to cathedral cove etc and navigating those very winding roads (they are certainly an experience but think of it as lugeing in Rotorua and you will be fine lol) up towards Coromandel town. so we just flaked and relaxed in what can be described as a huge unit with a separate twin bedroom, a living area and a kitchenette and of course the bathroom (loo separate from shower, for some people that can prove useful info lol).

So still suffering from jet lag, i wake up around 5am, I make my coffee and go stand on the deck and watched as daylight came and revealed a gorgeous view. I stood there for hours, just taking in the view and although we live in Wales Uk, and are used to spectacular views, I could only think 'the girl done good' which was a reflection of my hotel booking skills to have booked Harbour view as one of our stop overs.

When it was time to leave, all I can say was the check out was the best laugh I have had in ages. Friendly is not the word and we are only gutted that we couldn't have chatted more the night before due to our late check in. Lots of advice was given to make the most of our last day of our road trip as we headed back to Auckland to stay with our friends again, which we took on board and did lots of stops as the views really are magnificent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeandgary1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.9 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
12.7 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
354 reviews
1 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: $79 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing