We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 309 Road

The 309 Road
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Avoid it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Really bad road, all gravel with lots of curves, extremely difficult to drive on. nothing special to see, except the jungle. if you are going to Drive , dont use this route to go to whitianga. On a Rainy day, this can be a trip most avoidable. however, its good for trekking and cycling.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hunkvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    95
    31
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mangere, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not for the quick road trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The route is all gravel right throughout, definitely do not recommend taking this route to get to Whitianga if you enjoy a quick, smooth & easy drive as this way is anything but!! However was our only way to get to The Waterworks other than that didn't want to carry on down the 309 to see the other attractions on the way as our car was not gravel fit unfortunately! Would probably recommend this road for 4wds & offroaders.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Loved driving the 309 road. Found a local honey shop and not to miss the Waterworks. A must do while you are there. It was good fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5cloggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good scenery and stops along the drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We really enjoyed this route, stopped to feed the wild pigs and held a 3 week piglet ;) Also stopped to see the waterfall (hiked down short track) and the Kauri tree grove (beautiful short track).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Viva-Luigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We took the 309 Road from the Whitianga side going west to Coromandel town. The lush scenery was awesome.
At some point, I asked myself if we made the right choice taking this road. There were sufficient warnings about the road being unsealed gravel, narrow and winding. And I have write the warning again, drive with care, best if you have a 4 wheel drive. The roads are rally narrow and twisty, Care must be taken at corners as you never will know if there's an oncoming vehicle until the last minute.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank xtne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 309 Road also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The 309 Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing