We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Coromandel
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Recommended experiences in and around Coromandel
from $93.19
More Info
from $201.68
More Info
from $58.41
More Info
from $56.58
More Info
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
72
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
72
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews km walk stony bay fletcher bay coastal walkway tea and cake wonderful opportunity great driver port jackson hire car excellent trip stunning scenery local history gavin minibus colville peninsula fletchers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 78 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2020

In short: Coromandel Discovery is a class act. It is a long drive up and back but we felt we were in safe hands with Gavin at the wheel and also enjoyed his bone dry sense of humour as he simultaneously talked to us about the landscape and history of the peninsular. We also thought it was really well-balanced with little stop offs and tea breaks. We absolutely recommend this tour as it allows you to just enjoy this stunning day walk and part of the world!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank hvalgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneJ446, Owner at Coromandel Discovery Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are delighted to hear you had a great day. Many thanks Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

Gavin picked us up from our accommodation and immediately made you feel comfortable with a relaxed, informative rundown of the day. The weather was overcast as we left, but the local history regaled to us kept us engaged and the places of interest pointed out made the day truly special. The manner in which Gavin uses his family history to intertwine with the past is a unique talent. The walk itself is beautiful, highly recommended. Thank you for a great day out, money well spent.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneJ446, Manager at Coromandel Discovery Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Thank you for your lovely compliments. We are very proud to be able to share our stories and experiences with you. We try not to present a "forced" commentary and encourage everyone to contribute which adds to the occassion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I are fairly fit pensioners, but we have a few aches and pains, so we were a bit daunted at the thought of a a full 10 K Bush walk along the coast.
Gavin was just great, he gave us alternatives and explained them very well.
We settled on a less arduous 3 K coastal cliff walk, which I would thoroughly recommend to anyone.
Gavin picked us up from our chalet dead on time for the journey up the peninsula. There was none of this forced commentary that you get on so many tours. Instead, Gavin's relaxed friendly Kiwi way made us feel really at home. It wasn't so much a commentary, it was a relaxed chat and we learned so much.
What a day! What views! and what a genuine host!
A hidden gem and an absolute must.

1  Thank Rodger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneJ446, Owner at Coromandel Discovery Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2019

Thank you so much Rodger for your very kind words. You have really summed up what we are trying to achieve. We ourselves are not fans of a "forced commentary" so right from Day One, we worked on transforming what we started with into something far more personable and interactive. The Muriwai Walk along the clifftops, past the old pa site and down along Port Jackson beach is a great scenic alternative when the Coastal Walkway is just a little too far. Gavin had a great time hosting you both and really enjoyed your company. Many thanks. Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2019 via mobile

Coromandel Was recommend to me by a fellow traveler. So I crossed the gulf from Auckland to The Peninsula and it did not disappoint. Both Gavin and Leanne were magnificent, local people with a great respect for the local community. Top business, fantastic knowledge Of not only the country but environment. Day 1 electric mountain biking over the ridge at castle rock to new chums.... wow what a beach and one hell of a bike ride. Day 2 10k costal walk what can only be described as one of the most breath taking places on earth.... what an ocean the big blue , sorry for letting the secret out! Pics don’t to it justice come see for yourself. Plus the green muscles are just to die for.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Kirkp409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneJ446, Owner at Coromandel Discovery Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2019

Hi Kirk, thanks for your kind words. We love sharing this special place and neat that we could mix up a bit of hiking with a bit of biking for you. The ebikes really do eat up the big hills we have around here. To climb to 450 metres and be met with peace and quiet and beautiful views isn't a bad sort of a reward. And then there's New Chums and of course the Coastal Walkway. I could just go on and on but I think you have covered it all. Happy travels. Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2019 via mobile

We booked the trip with Coromandel Discovery. Gavin picked us up at the camping site. During the drive he gave us a lot of insights in the region and the life on the peninsula.
It was an easy 3 hours walk with breathtaking views on the way. On the way back we even had a stop for an afternoon tea.

Thank 9i_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneJ446, Owner at Coromandel Discovery Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2019

Great to hear you had a neat day out with Gavin. We have some awesome scenery and spots up this way and its a privilege to share them with you. Brownie and Anzac biscuits at the end of the day seem to be proving very popular with everyone! Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews