We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome weekend work trip away”

Coromandel Adventures - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 10 Tours in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coromandel Adventures travels to the most spectacular places the Coromandel has to offer including Cathedral Cove, Hot Water Beach, and the Northern Coromandel.Our unique full and half day tours cater for everyone. Choose your own adventures from the options available on each tour.As agents and managers of the Auckland to Coromandel ferry service operated by 360 Discovery we can customize your itinerary and combine a ferry trip with our transport and tour options.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our company needed a place close too Auckland for the team of 17 to spend a weekend away. After contacting Sarni at Coromandel Adventures everything was taken care of instantly and Sarni went out of her way to accommodate our requirements to make it all fit within the hours available to us.
We had a full on weekend starting with the train trip at Brigham Creek, which we all thoroughly enjoyed, followed by a drive up to Stoney Bay. On arrival there we were provided with a beautiful picnic lunch with food in abundance. After lunch the fit ones among us did the walk from Stoney Bay to Fletcher bay (3 hours) while the not so fit ones were taken on a further tour along the top of the Coromandel. Our very knowledgeable driver Willie from Coromandel Adventures drove around and collected us later on from Fletcher Bay. Willie's passion for the Coromandel stands out in his commentary of the area and all the historic spots pointed out to us on our drive. We couldn't have wished for a better driver Willie! We were also lucky enough to spot some whales on the way back.
On the Sunday we were driven to the Matarangi Golf Course where we had a morning session of Ambrose golf and our trip finished off with a lunch at Kuaotunu Beach.
From when we arrived by ferry on the Friday evening to being dropped back at the wharf to return to Auckland on the Sunday afternoon we can honestly say it has been a fantastic well organised trip thanks to Coromandel Adventures. Thank you so much Sarni and Willie for making this a very memorable weekend for all of us. It was much appreciated.

Thank greymouth110910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 109 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have just had an amazing weekend trip in the coromandel with coromandel adventures! Sarnie and Willie made the trip very memorable with a friendly and realible service . Got to see lots of places like cathedral cove which is beautiful and experience hot water beach! Great value for money and a great experience with comfortable accomadation arranged too. Also got to see lots of beautiful sights and there is something for everyone.

Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarni H, Owner at Coromandel Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. We enjoyed getting to know you and your friends and doing what we could to help you have a great time in Coromandel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband was a very 'small time' customer. Only needed a ferry trip and bus ride, but Sarni organised it for him, so he had nothing to do but enjoy the short trip, feeling very well looked after. Thank you Sarni.

Thank marnimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarni H, Owner at Coromandel Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We like to do what we can for all our customers. There's no reason that "small time" shouldn't also be a good time! Thanks very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked this tour and planned on staying a few nights in Coromandel. I was told I would be booked into a bed and breakfast on the Island. But then two nights before I was scheduled to go there I was told that I would be staying at the owner's house alone. There was no internet or phone service. SO in other words, I would be screwed if there was an emergency. Considering the fact that I wasn't feeling well and I didn't trust staying, I decided to not go. I believe I was misled so the owner could rent out their property. Sarni is a huge liar. She will tell you what you want to hear just to get your money. She has the typical greedy New Zealand attitude. STAY AWAY unless you feel fine putting your safety in the hands of money hungry kiwis.

3  Thank sandramE731PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarni H, Owner at Coromandel Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We are sorry that believe you have had a disappointing experience with Coromandel Adventures. We are a company that works hard to provide the very best service we can. It is very unfortunate that you were unwell and decided not to contact us to let us know you didn’t intend on following through on the itinerary you had confirmed just two days prior. We offer a free itinerary service in order to assist our visitors make the most out of their time in Coromandel and do our best to customise the options to suit the information we are provided with by our customers. This can be a very time consuming process when numerous changes and emails are required as for your itinerary, however we provide this with no charge as we are committed to doing our very best to ensure the planned experience closely matches the requirements of our visitors. The reason we provide choices - as was offered to you, especially in regard to accommodation is so that our customers can check our suggestions and select the option most appropriate to their needs. We are therefore puzzled as to why you would select a holiday cottage which was unsuitable for your individual needs – other than perhaps you were attracted by the winter promotion, and didn’t check the details. All other guests who have chosen to stay have been totally delighted with the setting, level of hospitality and service. Unfortunately by not following through on the itinerary that had been carefully planned with you in close consultation, you did not get a chance to experience this.

As well as delaying the departure of the shuttle departing Auckland we did our best to contact you, sending an urgent email requesting you contact us to discuss your reservations. As your reservations were confirmed and we had no contact from you we needed to hold your reservations in case you arrived later, turning other guests away to do so. Had we received any contact from you or response to our emails requesting contact, we could have provided you with the appropriate refunds – or made alternative arrangements for you so that you could relax and enjoy your visit as there is an excellent range of quality accommodation providers in Coromandel.

It is very unfortunate that you were unable to respond at the time so this could be resolved immediately and chose instead to send a threatening and abusive email two months later. We manage our business with the utmost integrity and do what we can to provide a positive and enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

One of our best days and trips on the North Island of NZL! Great Walk with beautiful views, different landscapes to explore and a nice sunset! If you are in the Region of Coromandel, you have to do this! Otherwise it is a really good reason to get there...Big THANKS to Willi!!! Awesome guide and great guy, from who you can learn a lot about the nature there.
Sabrina & Michael from GER

Thank MJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coromandel Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangapoua, Waikato Region
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Coromandel Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing