We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star and Garter Hotel

Star and Garter Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff were confused, the pizza was raw in the middle and burnt on the edges and when I called to complain the lady just said 'okay have a good night'... No apology, no offer of a refund or replacement. Save your money and frustration and get fish and chips.

Helpful?
Thank Trippingaround88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Inn place - the beer is what we`re back for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

So good to find the Star and Garter serving cool black beer and to sit in those lovely leather chairs in the window and feel we`ve arrived. New Zealand does it the best! Glad the character of this establishment remains and the informative history and delightful Christmas touches complete the ambience too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a wonderful bowl of large green lip mussles and a large pizza washed down with local N Z beer

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthurf1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“The cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

David (chef) in cafe is one of the funniest people I have ever had the pleasure to meet.friendly polite and the service outstanding.i bought a cake(large) and there is only one word to describe it AMAZING....daughter thought is was the best so a very big THANK YOU..is the only way to say it..
Maria x

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

First, I should mention I did not eat here (not unless you count a whole bottle of rum as food) but came in for drinks while I was in Coromandel Town for the weekend.

Saturday night was the best night with an amazing live band (covering a range of music from rock to funk) and a great mix of friendly locals and some really friendly and chilled bar staff.

I should add that my review of the bar may be slightly biased as I completely fell in love with the beautiful young blonde working behind the bar. If you're reading this, you should help keep the Coromandel Peninsula (and New Zealand) special, just by being you.

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star and Garter Hotel also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Star and Garter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing