We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Visitor”
other travelers have booked this property
garden cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden cottage
front door kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
garden cottage
front door
kitchen area
dining/living area
dining area
living area
back porch and bush bath
hot bath under the stars!
wood fired hot water
queen size bed
single bed
lounge and pull out sofa bed
rural surroudings
rural surroundings
covered front porch
open plan
ponies for kids
horse riding heaven!
free range eggs
view toward Whitianga from the farm
Rangihau Ranch horses
views galore
farm activities
horses for all sizes
waiting..
farm junk
coromandel ranges
horse trekking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet T
2 reviews
“Visitor”
Reviewed December 27, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Fun, tucked away place! We enjoyed being near the horses and petting Otis. The accommodations are basic, but definitively adequate for a rustic farm stay. It was fun to eat outside in the private patio and try the bush bath. Worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2017
Thankyou, glad you had a good stay and all the best for the rest of your holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil10065...
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful setting”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Tessa left out a welcome board for our arrival and the walk down the garden path to our bungalow was idyllic. The monarch butterflies were amazing.

The bungalow was spotlessly clean, homely and a lot of thought had gone into it such as flower arrangements, reading material, music cds, etc.

The bed was so comfortable and the spacious shower had lashings of hot water.

This is a working ranch and farm so don't be surprised to find a very rustic bungalow with a few strange noises at night you can expect in the middle of the countryside.

Tessa kindly provided us with mozzy spray and plug so we weren't bothered by them. The occasional bug did find its way in but they are harmless enough.

The setting is beautiful and the walk around the garden was lovely. We enjoyed the occasional visit from Tessa's big friendly dogs - Digger and Otis - too.

All in all, a memorable stay in a lovely rural setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Thankyou for coming to stay and I'm glad you enjoyed a few days in our corner of the world. All the best for the rest of your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterzeih...
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
“This. Place. Is. Awesome.”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I'll be the first to say that when we saw the batch from the outside I had second thoughts. It was our first farm stay after all. But inside....WOW! Great furnishings, full kitchen, big bathroom, SUPER comfortable all around. The property too is very cool. The veg garden is extremely diverse: corn, basil, rosemary, beans, peas, squash, onions, tomatoes, capsicums, and a few things I'm sure I forgot. We didn't have to make a shop-run except for bread and meat. (nice grill too!)
Oh yeah - and a wash machine as well. =D

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thankyou, glad the cottage worked out for you and you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJTravell...
Ridgewood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
608 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Best Farm Stay ever!”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently arrived home from a delightful trip throughout the North Island of New Zealand and our stay at Rangihau Ranch was the best and most comfortable place to stay during our two week trip. More...it was peaceful, quiet, beautiful, and the owners, and Tess and Nick, were welcoming and made us feel 'at home' during our 4 day stay. Tess provided us with butter, milk, fresh eggs, the famous Manuka Honey, preserves were in the fridge, oranges in a bowl on the table, tea, coffee, sugar on the shelf. The cottage itself was perfect, spacious, comfortable....we truly felt at home. A grassy path led us to the cottage with gardens of veggies and flowers on either side. There is a patio area outside and we sat under the tree for our morning coffee and afternoon tea, enjoying the atmosphere of sight, sound and smell. We bought bread and cereal for breakfast with Tess' eggs, lunch was taken out, and we grilled lamb chops with potatoes and fresh salad from the garden in the evening. So totally refreshing to live simply and peacefully for our stay. During our stay I bottle-fed an orphaned calf and a lamb, and we saw sheep being shorn and the wool packed into large bales; I loved the feeling of living on a farm, seeing the sheep, bulls, cows and horses every day, and the dogs and hens too that ran to you, looking for a hand-out! Thank you Tess and Nick!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Thanks for the review. It gives so much pleasure to be able to share our home with people like you and to give you a look into our life style. Thanks for coming
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnekiwi
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kiwi stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

One of our favourite stays in NZ last year so much so that we hope to stay longer there next year 2017. Nicest hosts. Great garden to pick from. Close to so much to venture out to. Loved it all!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed it here and look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STaR333WA
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Picturesque NZ Getaway”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great place to get away to and great for kids. Close to main attractions in the area – Cathedral Cove, Hahei Hot Beach etc. Very peaceful and picturesque farm with beautiful gardens, fields and animals galore. If the kids love horse riding then this is the place to stay, as others have stated, Tessa is a great hostess and horse riding her specialty. Cottage is well setup and has all you need including good supply of condiments, veges from the garden, laundry, electric and log fire heating. Bring in supplies if you plan to eat in. Coroglen Hotel the closest for eating out, though the range of food a bit limited and kitchen closed early in evening. Our recommendation for food and drink out is Purangi Estate – you won’t be disappointed. WiFi was not working, but you come here to leave all that behind – within mobile reception though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good value, great setting and location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
thankyou, glad you had a good stay...wifi is working again...the puppy had chewed the cable!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingstonT...
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Coroglen used to be an important lumber town many years ago. Now it is shown on the map, but there is little there other than a pub and a town hall, so one should not expect many tourist attractions too close by. Cathedral Cove and Hahei beach are about a twenty minute drive away. We had booked to stay at a self-catering farm stay cottage at Rangihau Ranch, and were absolutely delighted to see the cottage when we got there. The ranch is quite large, having large pastures of green rolling hills for their sheep, cattle, and horses (which they use to give rides) and kiwi orchards. The cottage was set down a garden path about 75 yards from the house, in a very private and peaceful setting. It was a good sized cottage, and had everything one could think of for an extended stay there. Tessa was a wonderful hostess, with lots of suggestions for things to do in the area, and for hikes around the large pastures of the ranch. If you decide to stay here, you should bring supplies with you, as the nearest town (Whitianga) is about 25 minutes drive away.
We slept well in a very comfortable bed, and awoke to the sounds of birds in the morning. We wished we could have stayed longer! Perhaps the only drawback is a weak wifi signal – one of the drawbacks to living in a rural area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The overall experience of being in such a wonderful place
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Thanks for the review and I'm so glad you enjoyed our place. The wifi is now up and running again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing