We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee”
Review of Driving Creek Cafe

Driving Creek Cafe
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The Driving Creek Cafe is one of the best kept secrets of Coromandel Town - a warm and homely vegetarian cafe with a magical ambiance that may just keep you there enjoying the fine coffee or teas and delicious home made meals and cakes for much longer than you originally intended. Unless of course you're on a train, in which case we will prepare your order with much speed and gusto! You will also find fresh pressed juices, fresh fruit smoothies, and incredible homemade Chai whose recipe was procured after years of dedicated service to a Master Artisan. The Driving Creek Cafe has organic loose-leaf teas and great LaLa organic coffee. Enjoy our freshly baked gourmet cakes and scones, falafel burgers, breakfasts and a great range of toasted sandwiches, tasty beaches and salads. For keeping in contact we do have great unlimited free Wi-Fi. Allow yourself enough time to check out the collection of Mick the Plumber's stunning puzzle boxes showcasing Coromandel's unique tolerance for what may be considered art or drop in for one of our live rants. Discover the peace of our garden with a sandpit and playhouse for the children or put your feet up on the wide sun-drenched deck. Get ready for a treat. We look forward to serving you!
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Wacky and different a great place to chill.Had one of the best coffees and a tasty cake.Give it a try,Lives up to the reviews

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moira66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    82
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An original, scrumptious choice with a unique personality.”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We went to Driving Creek Café on a cold, rainy day, having heard about this café from our Lonely Plant Guidebook. I was impressed at how good the food was, with some creative things on the menu, certainly not the drab, repetitive fare that you often find in restaurants that focus on ethical, organic food instead of flavor. The ambiance was strong, and the restaurant had a unique personality, with reggae pulsating through the ceramic floored dining area, asnd muse art punctuating the homely colored walls. I saw a couple of monks. The waiters were humorous and the service was relatively fast. There was a second hand bookshop that seemed to invite the customer to stay. All of the dishes we stried were very good. The lasagna was delicious, the crepes impressive, and the more unusual dishes like mushrooms with blue cheese sauce were delectable. There was an appetizing collection of juices and smoothies, and all the ones we samples were fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Driving Creek Café, and would recommend it to all who visit there- but a note to all carnivores; they do not serve meat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little hidden gem”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Having driven to Coromandel Town especially to find this cafe we were not disappointed. For us the food, service and ambience were excellent. With a wide range of food to choose from and very personable staff who joined in the spirit of our visit as part of our Great New Zealand cafe adventure. Thanks Michal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie and Bill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely Place. Very relaxed”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stopped here for lunch on a cold rainy day and went back several times since. It is warm and friendly with good simple food and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. It has a true NZ feel. The range of food is surprisingly wide for a small place and it is very good value. The quality is very high with organic food to the fore. Lots of options which change form day to day. Staff are helpful and welcoming and it is very family friendly. Coffee is excellent! A good place to pass an hour or so any day! The cafe exhibits art and craft work of a high order and acts as a community centre. Customers will chat to each other and share information over meals and coffee. Newspapers available as are books and magazines if you want to settle down for the afternoon.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely place to go.”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Lovely setting, good playground for the kids. Nice food and friendly staff

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaupoSheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driving Creek Cafe also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Driving Creek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing