We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussel lovers indulge yourselves”

Coromandel Mussell Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Come and enjoy some delicious, fresh greenlipped mussels served up in a beautiful outdoor country setting and wash it down with our very own craft beer brewed on site.
Tauranga
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mussel lovers indulge yourselves”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you like your mussels this is just the place for you. But if you don't they have fantastic burgers and other options. Mussel chowder, fritters, baked mussels and tasty bowls are all on offer. Everything is freshly prepared and delicious. The baked mussels are especially sumptuous and for those who can't choose a flavour you can order a mixed plate. The home made ginger beer is a great way to refresh. Great outdoor dining for a summer day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    95
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“for green mussels lovers, go there!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

That's what we both eat, and probabily that's why the're famous for. Soooo fresh. We had 2 dishes: a big pot of NZ mussels in a curry sauce, delicious, and the other with a combination of 3 flavours, also very nice. The place seems to be fairly new and very, very clean.
We ended up eating inside, was a bit chill outside, but the garden is very well looked after.We could enjoy our meal also because the kids were outside playing in quite and safe place. Worth visiting. We didn't try anything else but I believe the food is overall of a good standard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DIAMANTINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Relaxing Atmosphere, and Clean (incl. Bathrooms)”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A great place to relax with friends and family. Indoors or out, the service was very friendly and efficient and the food was FANTASTIC! Battered mussels have a crisp thin batter - soooo good, especially with a squeeze of lemon juice. The mussel chowder was the best I've had - not too heavy but full of chopped mussels and VERY tasty. You don't have to have mussels, there is even a vegetarian option. A good selection of beer, wine etc. You do need to check the hours they are open but it is well worth a visit. We'll be back :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor setting & great food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had wanted to have dinner at the Mussel Kitchen, but it was always closed so finally got there for lunch and we weren't disappointed.

We were a table of 3 and had the Mussel Fritters, Mussel Hotpot and Fish & Chips. All the serves were plentiful and tasty and it was a beautiful relaxing place to while away a few hours. We were too full to try any desserts, but they did look delicious.

The service was good and we waited about 1/2 hr for our food, but were in no hurry and it was very busy. They also have take away pots and pouches for sale in the store.

It is on the corner of 309 Road, about 3kms outside of town on the main road from Thames. I would advise checking on their opening hours as they change due to the seasons.

We will definitely be back :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letsgosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Closed on Friday evening at 6:15pm!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I would prefer not to rate this restaurant at all as we actually haven't had the opportunity to eat here! After a busy day sightseeing we travelled over from the eastern side of the Coromandel Peninsula especially to the Mussell Kitchen (based on several excellent reviews) only to find it closed. Why???? We were soooo disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marknjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coromandel Mussell Kitchen also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Coromandel Mussell Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing