We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home-style comfort in mid-winter”
Review of Mangrove Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangrove Manor
Ranked #1 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Home-style comfort in mid-winter”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed three nights in the middle of winter. The first night I was slightly chilly and thereafter Anne kindly put a welcome hottie in my bed before I returned home from my convention. My room was perfect for 1, although maybe a tad small for 2 people. The bed was very comfy and the shower both hot and powerful. The Manor is a great location if you have a car, being a 5 minute drive into Coromandel town. Lovely views, and a peaceful location. Great breakfasts too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzmeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
82
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire England
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed the peace and quiet, excellent service from the hosts, very good breakfasts, free wi-fi, and the very spacious and well-equipped guests lounge. The open grounds help to make it a haven, albeit beyond walking distance from the town, and contrary to one previous reviewer's remarks, we stayed in the room nearest the road but had no interruptions despite the road itself being quite busy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Anne and Peter are excellent hosts and very friendly enjoyed their company for the 3 days we stayed in their B&B. Anne makes homemade bread and yogurt which was excellent. Peter does the hot food and will cook you up agreat breakfast at your request. The shower was wonderfull...it will blast the kinks out of your muscles. Nice views from the room and the room was very comfortable. Anne is also a great massage therapist and scheduled an appointment for my wife while we were there. We enjoyed sharing wine witH them in the evening. Good suggestions for things to do in town. The mussel shop just up the road from them was excellent. Anne gave me marvolous directions to the rental car return location in Auckland...it's the first time in NZ I didn't get lost. We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lomax7006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a good rest at Mangrove. We had a wonderful moment at Coromandel, welcomed by very friendly and warm Peter & Anne. The house has a nice view, nice garden. We had delicious cook breakfast & bread, thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriquetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed two nights and found the accommodation comfortable and spotless, and the owners welcoming. We had a double room with en suite shower room on the first floor. There was a fridge in the hallway outside where there was fresh milk and a kettle and cups in the room to make drinks. We were also free to use the lounge downstairs. The internet was available free of charge and the connection was good. Breakfast was beautifully presented and plentiful. We stayed mostly in motels and hotels during the rest of our stay in New Zealand and a bed and breakfast made a nice change with the opportunity to share stories with other guests over breakfast and ask the owners questions. It was wonderfully quiet at night. There isn't air con but the window in the bedroom opens. The bed and breakfast is a short drive from Coromandel but easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Anne and Peter were very gracious, helpful hosts who made us feel 'at home'.
The house is on the edge of mangroves with a nice view to the ocean in the distance.
We travelled in mid March and the temperature was about 21C. The fan in the room was barely adequate to keep the room cool enough to sleep. In mid summer it must be very hot at night in the sea view room.
The bedroom was quite small and there was no room to hang clothes other than some hooks behind the door. Also, the bed had a footboard and this made the bed too short for a 6' person.
The bathroom amenities did not include shampoo, conditioner or body lotion as we have typically found in other B & Bs. Also, surprisingly, there were no biscuits in our room or downstairs to have with our tea.
If you are sensitive to automatic insect repellents through the house, please ask Anne or Peter to turn them off.
Peter made a wonderful breakfast which complemented the continental breakfast. It was very nicely cooked and presented, with choices of tea, coffee and toast.
The free wi-fi was fast and reliable.
Anne and Peter have a lovely B & B and with a few changes it could be excellent.

Room Tip: Front rooms on the road could be noisy with trucks passing during the night. The room facing the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rascaloidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangrovemanor, Owner at Mangrove Manor, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent overnight stay ,as it was only a few days ago, we do recall it as one of the hottest nights we have experienced this season, and with the Seaview Room most famous for it's sunsets, it does heat up if the blinds and curtains are left open. (Also, your comment re: front rooms on the house could be noisy during the night - there are no front bedrooms in the house.)
As detailed in our guest compendiums, any extra shampoo,conditioner,moisturiser, etc, are always on hand in our utility room upstairs,should anyone require them.Our bathrooms are well stocked with make up removers, 2 types of hand & body wash/soaps. Also stated is our home baked bread and jams downstairs in the dining room , being available any time for an additional snack, with Tea/Coffee. There is 1 fly repellant in the house which is used intermittently in the large downstairs guest lounge on the exceptionally hot days, and you may have noticed me turn it off whilst I was sitting helping you select your following nights accomodation in Whangarei.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NA
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Upon arrival we were warmly greated by Anne and Peter. Their home was comfortable, clean and relaxing. Anne and Peter provided us with great ideas on what to do in the Coromandel area as well as on day trips. More than that, without us asking, they provided us with beach towels and a cooler so that we could keep our lunches cold and us sand free.
We had a most enjoyable stay at the Mangrove Manor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
76 reviews
10.8 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Manor

Property: Mangrove Manor
Address: 2710 Tiki Road | P.O. Box 170, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Purpose Built Bed & Breakfast, situated on a coast block of 1.5 acres , just 500 metres to Coromandel Mussel Kitchen Restaurant, or a 2-3 minute drive into Town where there is a great variety of Seafood Restaurants, Hotels, Cafe's. We have 2 Rooms upstairs, both ensuited & one that looks out to Coromandel Harbour, and the other that looks over the beautiful Mountain Ranges. We have a "Well Being" Treatment Room Downstairs that is available for Guests, Treatments include Facials, Shiatsu Pressure Point Massage, Reflexology. Breakfast is a Full Cooked as well as Home Baked Bread, Cereals, Fruit, Home Made Greek Yoghurt & Jams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mangrove Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing