We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but could be excellent”
Review of Mangrove Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mangrove Manor
Ranked #1 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good but could be excellent”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Anne and Peter were very gracious, helpful hosts who made us feel 'at home'.
The house is on the edge of mangroves with a nice view to the ocean in the distance.
We travelled in mid March and the temperature was about 21C. The fan in the room was barely adequate to keep the room cool enough to sleep. In mid summer it must be very hot at night in the sea view room.
The bedroom was quite small and there was no room to hang clothes other than some hooks behind the door. Also, the bed had a footboard and this made the bed too short for a 6' person.
The bathroom amenities did not include shampoo, conditioner or body lotion as we have typically found in other B & Bs. Also, surprisingly, there were no biscuits in our room or downstairs to have with our tea.
If you are sensitive to automatic insect repellents through the house, please ask Anne or Peter to turn them off.
Peter made a wonderful breakfast which complemented the continental breakfast. It was very nicely cooked and presented, with choices of tea, coffee and toast.
The free wi-fi was fast and reliable.
Anne and Peter have a lovely B & B and with a few changes it could be excellent.

Room Tip: Front rooms on the road could be noisy with trucks passing during the night. The room facing the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rascaloidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangrovemanor, Owner at Mangrove Manor, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent overnight stay ,as it was only a few days ago, we do recall it as one of the hottest nights we have experienced this season, and with the Seaview Room most famous for it's sunsets, it does heat up if the blinds and curtains are left open. (Also, your comment re: front rooms on the house could be noisy during the night - there are no front bedrooms in the house.)
As detailed in our guest compendiums, any extra shampoo,conditioner,moisturiser, etc, are always on hand in our utility room upstairs,should anyone require them.Our bathrooms are well stocked with make up removers, 2 types of hand & body wash/soaps. Also stated is our home baked bread and jams downstairs in the dining room , being available any time for an additional snack, with Tea/Coffee. There is 1 fly repellant in the house which is used intermittently in the large downstairs guest lounge on the exceptionally hot days, and you may have noticed me turn it off whilst I was sitting helping you select your following nights accomodation in Whangarei.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
82
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NA
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Upon arrival we were warmly greated by Anne and Peter. Their home was comfortable, clean and relaxing. Anne and Peter provided us with great ideas on what to do in the Coromandel area as well as on day trips. More than that, without us asking, they provided us with beach towels and a cooler so that we could keep our lunches cold and us sand free.
We had a most enjoyable stay at the Mangrove Manor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Peter and Anne warmly welcomed us to their lovely house on the outskirts of Coromandel. The grounds are beautifully kept and the views are lovely. Our room and en-suite were well presented, roomy and spotlessly clean. We had a great view overlooking the mangroves and the sea beyond. In short, guests' needs are perfectly catered for and you have free range of the large and comfortable open plan lounge area. Breakfasts are a joy with home prepared foods from yoghurt to bread and a cooked breakfast if you are feeling a little more peckish - we were and it was delicious. Our hosts were able to point out places to go during our two night stay and even made reservations when required. This was a really excellent experience and it was a delight to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed with Anne and Peter for four nights in late February as part of our six week tour of Australia and New Zealand. We chose to stay at Mangrove Manor as a result of reading other visitors comments on Tripadvisor and were delighted with our choice; Mangrove Manor is an attractive, well cared for house with modern up to date facilities. We had a double ensuite with sea view which was very comfortable with lovely bedding, toiletries and tea making facilities. A very nice sitting room with plenty of reading material and a large screen TV was superb to relax in at the end of each day, in fact it felt like returning home. We received a warm welcome from Anne and Peter who were very interested to know about our trip and very helpful in making the best use of our time on the beautiful Coromandel peninsula. Also their guidance on where to dine in the evenings was invaluable. Anne's breakfasts were superb; with fresh fruits, juices, yoghurt, home made bread and preserves, complimented by Peter's culinary skill preparing a delicious full breakfast complete with tomatoes from their garden! There is no doubt that our hosts help, knowledge of the area and generous hospitality was crucial to our enjoyment of this wonderful part of New Zealandwhich left us with many happy memories.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexus450Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Anne and Peter catered to everything for us, they were gracious hosts. From Anne's homemade bread and jams to Peter's wonderful breakfast including homegrown herbs. Their courtyard was wonderful to relax and gaze at the stars at night. This is how a B&B should feel

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PlanZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Peter and Annie are wonderful hosts. The property is beautiful done inside and out with nothing forgotten. Peter cooks up a fresh breakfast with herbs from the garden while Annie bakes mouthwatering bread. We would recommend this place to others and definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpollock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent two nights here on our way to Napier. It was my first experience at a bed&breakfast, and a wonderful experience. Ann and Peter are wonderful people, they have a lovely home. We felt extremely comfortable because the rooms are lovely and the bathrooms are clean. Their breakfast is awesome and they have a nice backyard. I will definitely go back when I'm in New Zealand.

Room Tip: The mountain view room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangrovemanor, Owner at Mangrove Manor, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we were pleased to hear that you still managed to enjoy your stay with us, despite you not feeling so good at the time, and thanks again for the lovely pictures of the property that you emailed through. Thanks, Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coromandel Tui Lodge
Coromandel Tui Lodge
#6 of 17 in Coromandel
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Manor

Property: Mangrove Manor
Address: 2710 Tiki Road | P.O. Box 170, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Purpose Built Bed & Breakfast, situated on a coast block of 1.5 acres , just 500 metres to Coromandel Mussel Kitchen Restaurant, or a 2-3 minute drive into Town where there is a great variety of Seafood Restaurants, Hotels, Cafe's. We have 2 Rooms upstairs, both ensuited & one that looks out to Coromandel Harbour, and the other that looks over the beautiful Mountain Ranges. We have a "Well Being" Treatment Room Downstairs that is available for Guests, Treatments include Facials, Shiatsu Pressure Point Massage, Reflexology. Breakfast is a Full Cooked as well as Home Baked Bread, Cereals, Fruit, Home Made Greek Yoghurt & Jams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mangrove Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing