We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food!”
Review of Umu

Umu
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We dined here 3 nights in a row recently and were never disappointed. The first night the 3 of us had the celery and potato soup served with garlic butter ciabatta. It was delicious and filling and we probably should have stopped there, but we also had a small pizza each. We chose the satay chicken, chicken & romano cheese and the Mexican beef, beans & jalapenos. They were all delicious and the staff were happy to box up our leftovers to take home.

On all 3 nights we were served by the same waitress, sorry that I didn't catch her name, but she is excellent and professional without being pushy. She knows the menu well and her service is 5 star.

Second night we all had a hotpot with either salad or vegetables $15, there were about 6 choices, but my friends had the beef & beer and I had the chicken & mushroom, all topped with a cheesy parmesan potato crust. Both flavours were great but mine was so delicious I would have licked the bowl if I was at home :)

The final night I had the steak with garlic mushroom sauce, while my friends had the honey mustard glazed pork and the chick pea and polenta special. Again we were not disappointed and left satisfied and happy.

There is a decent wine and beer menu and the atmosphere is clean and friendly with blankets provided for cooler evenings. Some of the meals seemed a bit pricey, but it is consistent with this area and for the quality, all the meals are great value.

Can't wait to return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letsgosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    216
    39
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Veggie breakfast”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fresh, generous, simple. Good toast. Tomatoes, home made hash brown, mushrooms, free range eggs, sourdough. Yum. Fast service too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CassRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfeld (Leine), Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Town Restaurant with excellent Food...”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

You would have never imagined a restaurant with such excellent food in such a small town! As a starter we had the soup of the day (pumpkin), and as main dishes we had the mussel plate (which was supposed to be a starter but is obviously a main dish...) and the lamb. All was very delicious! Since we could not manage to have a desert we came back the following day and shared one alongside with a pie! Very tasty juice (Fejioa) and coffee! We will definetly come back, if we will have the chance to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susa488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“breakfast”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

thoroughly recommend the full breakfast, absolutely delicious, the coffee is excellent too, just a pity the music has to be so loud! turn it down guys!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lloydsboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuakau, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Umu serve a delicious breakfast, a little different to the usual cafe breakfast in New Zealand. there was a generous portion of bacon, two flavoursome sausages, tow fried eggs, basil flavoured tomatoes and the crunchiest but lightest toasted bread. A great start to the day,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umu also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Umu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing