We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of KORU at Rapaura

KORU at Rapaura
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Coromandel
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: A place where Mother Nature tickles your taste buds! Sample great home-style cooking, using fresh ingredients from the Coromandel; like Hauraki Flounder, Green Lipped Mussels and seasonal treats. Served in a tranquil setting surrounded by New Zealand flora. The perfect place to enjoy a 'Dam’ good coffees and home-baked delights.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was told about this restarant from a neighbour whose daughter in law found it on the web. We both live in Thames and had no idea the place existed.Was abit quiet the day we went but people soon started to filter in. The food was lovely I had the chicken tikka and my husband had the lamb balls, both were tasty and well presented.Sally makes you feel very welcome and the service was wonderful. We didn't get to see the gardens as were on a time refrain...but we will definitly be back for another meal and a visit to the gardens which I hear are very special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZVICKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tapu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of this world!!!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The most relaxing down to earth place to rest and revive A nice selection of gifts, and tasteful music that compliments the setting. The Gardens are immaculate, capturing the very best of native new zealand. The reception from the hosts is welcoming, and very professional. We felt valued and very well served. The food is exquisite, finely presented, and deliciously seasoned - beautiful. Good value for money, highly recommend this place,the food, and the gorgeous hosts. We will definitely be back

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to visit the gardens, which are lovely and thought we would try the cafe. Sally and her staff have a super product here. The chefs have developed some great tastes (by the way the vinaigrette is available to buy) a typical fusion of Europe meets the South Seas which the New Zealanders have off to a fine art. Setting, food and service would be lovely for a wedding.
Not well sign posted if you are coming from Coromandel town. After about 34 km towards Thames, turn off left at Tapu towards Coroglen. The road is metalled except for a about 500 metres.

Helpful?
Thank Tripper100England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Where do they get these great flavours!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

You just have got to come here. Sacha is the master in the kitchen, who proudly proclaims he's not a chef, but if that is true, he is certainly a great cook. Maybe the chalk board menu at first sight looks a little sparce, but the food is truly great. My chicken tikka was excellent, and my wifes Morrocan Lamb Balls wonderful. We will be back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank IvanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food - gorgeous location”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a fine! Who would have thought there would be such good food so far off the beaten track! This is a seriously good restaurant and the prices/service/food/selection are excellent. Very gracious service, too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosemarystclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KORU at Rapaura also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to KORU at Rapaura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing