We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Hush in your holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hush Boutique Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More Hush in your holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I were very lucky to have booked this brilliantly located boutique accomodation in the Coromandel. We were stuck for ideas of locations, but knew we wanted to get away from the big smoke of the city. We ventured to Coromandel town and found Hush. Hush's location is great-just outside of the hussel of Coro town, however it was still walking distance to local resturants and bars.
We stayed in Harmony, which had all the usual features, fridge, kettle etc. It was clean and tidy and had a very comfortable bed. To top it off we had a small stream passing past our french doors that opened onto a landing- this topped off the relaxing feeling we desired.
Our hosts Jason and Liz were brilliant. There was nothing too much to ask for and they made our holiday feel really like a holiday. Jason also had a good days fishing, in which he shared his catch with us, we cooked this on the BBQ in the shared kitchen- which was beautifully clean and functional and in a covered outside area, next to dining area! Cant wait to stay again- I would like to check out the house as another option with some friends next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Owner at Hush Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for the great review.

Staying in the Harmony suite is a great choice because there is nothing more relaxing than the sound of a bubbling stream (and since your stay Harmony has had its own ensuite added so that is convenient too when you are listening to running water!)

Pleased you enjoyed the fish. Jase is a mad mad mad keen fisherman so if the weather and tides are right he will often ask guests if they would like to join him for an arvo of fishing. The great thing about us living in Coro is we are blessed with so much snapper - very happy to share our catch.

See you again soon we hope.

Cheers
Liz and Jase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were lucky enough to manage to secure a couple of nights in Harmony (one of the studios) over the New Year period. The rooms were very clean, and it was so nice to have the stream bubbling away with the tui's chirping over head whilst we sat back and drank wine.

Liz and Jason have made Hush a real treat retreat and we just loved kicking back and using it as a base whilst we were able to go and see some of the sights and sounds of Coromandel town and the nearby beaches.

I would love to come back as a group of us and have a weekend away with a group of friends booking the place out, the kitchen is shared, and there is a space for everyone to gather. It's a good spot to go if you would like to enjoy the surroundings of New Zealand and taking a more executive approach to holidaying in the great outdoors.

Thanks Jase and Liz! Will stay with you again some time soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

so very peaceful, in a lovely wee town, close to a really great cafe and the unique railway, what more could we want from a stay.
The place is very easy to stay at, the hosts are never in your face, and it all feels so nice and new
We would love to be back again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Owner at Hush Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks Nigel.

We try really hard to make sure as hosts we are there when you want us but never hanging around when you dont.

Cheers - Liz and Jase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We recently came across Hush while looking for accom in Coromandel while accompanying our English relatives on a trip. Well, needless to say we were all 5 of us thrilled to find such a hidden Gem. We all love nature and being amongst it, so this was such a treasure. As I heard the first bird song at around 4.30am, I opened the window so we could hear the sounds as we dozed on. We were all sad that this stop was only for 1 night on our travels. This place is stunning and the hosts were just wonderful. And what a bonus, it it just across the road from the Driving Creek Historic Railway and Pottery. Thanks you so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Owner at Hush Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was a stroke of luck that you all stumbled across Hush - isn't that often the way when you are travelling that those unexpected finds end up making the holiday.

It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed what Hush is all about - peace, quiet, bird song - it truly is very special.

Cheers - Liz and Jase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing weekend away from the city and came across Hush. We booked in to one of the studios - it was clean, stylish & private. The scenery & gardens created just a relaxing environment & our hosts were very helpful & super friendly. The location was perfect for tripping in to town, we look fwd to visiting again & will definitely reccomend to friends & family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sargent79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Owner at Hush Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are really happy to hear you had a relaxing stay.

Cheers - Liz and Jase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Every so often you find something that you want to keep all to yourself. Hush is one of those things! Nestled just out side of Coromandel town opposite Driving Creek Pottery and Railway you expect it to be noisy with the throng of visitors. Its not! It is quiet and pieceful and the deck catches the afternoon sun beautifully. The house recently decorated, is spacious and well equipped with the essentials for simple living. This is an ideal place to come with family or friends. the 52 inch tv and the wood burner is great for a cossy evening in and the town is not too far away for a night out (Coromandel Style). The cabins are just as comfortable with shared cooking and bathroom. Ensuite would be a bonus for the cabins and I'm sure this is in Jason and Liz's plans.

Room Tip: Own transport essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Owner at Hush Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for the feedback.

We had never really thought that people may be wary of the railway across the road. Of course if you have never been to Coromandel you may picture it a bit like a noisy train station!! It is as you say very quiet despite its popularity and well worth going on to hear the history of the infamous potter Barry Brickel and relax enjoying the spectacular scenary winding up the hills through the bush. Always a huge hit with kids too - we recommend it for every guest.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and that Hush House had everything you needed for your stay.

Cheers - Liz and Jase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful place to enjoy a peaceful escape from daily life. We stayed in a studio and thought it was well presented, clean and private. The beach is about a little bit out (5 - 10 minute trip away), but worth it for the peace and quiet. Our hosts were very accomodating and made our stay one to remember. Make sure you check out the cafe nearby as well.

Room Tip: Studios are perfect for a couple, but next time we will return with friends and book the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattandpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Owner at Hush Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for the review - Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay and relaxed. We agree that Driving Creek cafe is a must do - so yummy and you can not bet that Coromandel hippy vibe.

Cheers - Liz and Jase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.3 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
19.7 mi away
Seabreeze Holiday Park
Seabreeze Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Whenuakite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#5 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hush Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hush Boutique Accommodation

Property: Hush Boutique Accommodation
Address: 425 Driving Creek Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand (Formerly Goldminers Retreat)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hush Boutique Accommodation offers a tranquil and peaceful escape for singles, couples and families. Offering four beautifully appointed wooden cabins, with the options of modern en-suite bathrooms and single or two bedrooms. Each cabin is private, sunny and modern. Relax with a cup of tea or coffee in your room or mingle with other guests in the stylish outdoor kitchen- Hush Alfresco. Enjoy listening to the abundant bird life and resting amongst the native gardens. The Hush House is perfect for larger groups with 3 double bedrooms, kitchen and a bathroom. The 1950's homestead is quirky in design, beautifully sunny and opens to a large peaceful garden. Located only 5 mins from Coromandel Town and directly across the road from Driving Creek Railway. Hush is a total escape from the busy pace of life. Hush also offers intimate weddings - perfect for elopements or small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hush Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing