We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning location, beautiful villa, perfect getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Driving Creek Villas
Certificate of Excellence
wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stunning location, beautiful villa, perfect getaway!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

The accommodation highlight of our North Island road trip. Loved the forest location, the colonial style modern villa, the japanese hot tub - felt private and secluded... really suited a family with a small baby. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Fantastic location and quiet area. Travelled with 3 children and this was a great place to use as a base and explore the area. Spacious house and very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdvsgnsfbns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We received very helpful advice from our host, David, which helped us make the most of our
two days stay. We were very impressed with the Villas and their surroundings, which were
a private idyllic bushland setting. The Villas lived up to their online description and more.

As we were travelling with our two sons, 17 and 20 yo, we were especially thankful for the laundry
and outdoor drying facilities available in our unit. It seems such a small thing until you have twenty socks and the associated dirty laundry. Although this may not be important to other guests, for us it was a tremendous bonus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We have enjoyed two 'long holidays' at Moehau - a home away from home !!
Moehau has the warmth and ambience of a private dwelling - quality fittings, original
art works, stunning indoor / outdoor flow and a unique garden outlook with a NZ native
bush backdrop. As a result, native birds abound.
We cherish the privacy provided and the meticulous presentation.
A must, for those who enjoy something special and very individual.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in a beautiful self-contained villa. It was very tranquil relaxing on the deck and soaking in the hot tub surrounded by native bush and listening to the stream nearby. The villa was beautifully presented and very well equipped. It was a short walk to local attractions such as the Driving Creek Railway.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spalover_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

We spent 3 wonderful nights here.super location,comfortable and well equipped.The hot tub in the evening watching the stars is a must! if you are looking for a relaxing hide away ,this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lichfield2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

These beautifully appointed villas are set in a divine bush setting complete with stream and many native songbirds to greet us each morning. Quiet and peacefull and within walking distance of cafe and Driving Creek Railway - really worth seeing and experiencing. Clean, light and airy, and comfortable beds- always important. Hot tub with our unit just added to the level of relaxation. Short drive into Coromandel town for excellent shopping for gifts, or just to spoil self, and a selection of great places to eat.The area offers many attractions for a longer stay - we had only a couple of nights, but will definately be going back again. All the mod-cons and all of the highest quality - just delightful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
1.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
1.5 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Little Farm, Coromandel
The Little Farm, Coromandel
#14 of 17 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driving Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driving Creek Villas

Property: Driving Creek Villas
Address: 21A Colville Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Driving Creek Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful, private bush surrounds, our spacious, fully self-contained boutique villas offer the perfect accommodation to unwind - beside the meandering Coromandel stream where gold was first discovered in New Zealand over 150 years ago. Purpose-built to a high standard, Driving Creek Villas combine colourful pacific themes with modern styling, providing a Coromandel luxury accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Driving Creek Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing