We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Driving Creek Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

For us , for a short stay or a longer stay this is perfect, 2 1/2 hrs nice drive from Auckland, quiet, private, comfortable, fully equipped and with the advantage of the surrounding bush and bays, beautiful walks and great amenities in the township 2 or 3 km's away. The owner David keeps a very low profile !

Room Tip: There are three well designed villas here, two are identical in layout, we have stayed in both and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ava_seymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

we booked at Driving Creek Villas as a nice spot to stay while on a fishing trip. The villas were sensational, plenty of room, well appointed, quiet and exceptionally private
nothing beats coming back from a cold days fishing and being able to warm up in a beautiful cedar hottub.

would recommend this place to anyone looking for a private coromandel luxury hideaway

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at Driving Creek Villas for 2 nights in April. The villa provided everything we needed for our stay and more that we did not have time to make use of. Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise at night. There were also two single beds upstairs which would make this suitable accommodation for a family. David met us when we arrived and provided us with very useful information about the location that helped us to make the most of our short visit to Coromandel. He also recommended that we eat at the Thai restaurant at Driving Creek Lodge. We did this and enjoyed an excellent meal in wonderful surroundings. The villa has bikes to use which we would have loved to make use of but just did not have the time. It also has a hot tub outside which is very peaceful. Overall, I would recommend Driving Creek Villas as a top quality accommodation in a great area of New Zealand to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warcnala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

In a beautiful setting, the villa is tastefully decorated, looking as if it has just recently been built. The quality and facilities in the villa are excellent, the heated bathroom floor and the Japanese hot tub outside little touches of luxury. You feel secluded but not isolated, the local cafes and restaurants are definitely worth a visit. We loved our stay here so much we booked in for another night while we were here. The excellent rating for these villas are well deserved.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Dry Creek Villas is one of those places that the minute you enter the property you realize that you have made an excellent choice. Secluded and peaceful the cottages have complete privacy. The modern interior is tasteful and stylish the open plan kitchen and lounge is huge making you feel so relaxed. The bedrooms are a good size with crisp clean linen. Cleanliness is evident throughout wherever you look. The huge bathroom with heated floors could easily take the whole family !! The wooden outside patio is a great place to reflect anytime of the day with the truly beautiful melodic songs of the abundant birdlife. A great place to stay and unwind while in the Coromandel....... superb !!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Dera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Had a great stay at Driving Creek Villa, a superb place with all modern conveniences, a tranquil villa with a character. And the hot tub is just brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Its been 5 years since we stayed at Driving Creek Villas and i'm pleased to say it was just as we remembered it - peaceful, quiet and an all round excellent experience !! .

We were a family of 4 - ( 5yr old and 9yr Old) and it was just the right type of accommodation for us - self catering , spacious, private with all mod cons (including the hot tub) . Its also perfectly situated by Driving Creek itself ....

Located only a few minutes from Coromandel Town - Its also the the perfect base for seeing some of the sights of the Coromandel - Favourites being the beaches at Whangapoua and New Chums.

David is the perfect host ...... I cant recommend this place highly enough

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
319 reviews
14.2 mi away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#2 of 23 in Whitianga
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driving Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driving Creek Villas

Property: Driving Creek Villas
Address: 21A Colville Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Driving Creek Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful, private bush surrounds, our spacious, fully self-contained boutique villas offer the perfect accommodation to unwind - beside the meandering Coromandel stream where gold was first discovered in New Zealand over 150 years ago. Purpose-built to a high standard, Driving Creek Villas combine colourful pacific themes with modern styling, providing a Coromandel luxury accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Driving Creek Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing