We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Driving Creek Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Relaxed elegance”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We keep returning to the driving creek villas, it's hard to keep away!
It's a wonderful place to relax, the quiet only disturbed by the babbling brook yet a nice 30min walk to the township to collect yummy things to eat, play a game of pool and browse the shops. Our a drive over the hill to the lovely east coast beaches.
Fully equipt with everything you need it has always felt like a home away from home albeit a very tidy & clean one.
A great spot for a couple or a family with older children (I wouldn't advise the stairs with a toddler!)
Plus hottub under the stars...need I say more.
I hope we can vist again soon -maybe a get away without children next time!

Room Tip: Both villas are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2011

The villa was as always, well prepared, the bed very comfortable, and the food I requested in the fridge. The villa is very secluded and private in a beautiful location. The only sounds are of the Driving Creek, the birds, tuis, wood pigeons etc. and the rain—if there is any. The wooden tub was well heated. My only cavils would be about the lack of a hand rail in the shower and poor radio reception.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilgit_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2011

A beautiful location, friendly hosts and a peaceful idyllic and safe place to take children (who loved exploring the creek at the end of the garden!). The villa was first rate. I'd unreservedly recommend Driving Creek Villas.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2011

All round amazing! The driving creek villas over exceeded expectation; with everything you could possibly want privacy, comfort, beautiful scenery, luxury and more. Nothing was a miss right down to the hospitality of our host David who went the extra mile to make our stay more than forfulling. Listening to the creek whilst gazing at the stars with a glass of wine in the hot tub after a barbecue in the afternoon sun, absolutely supreme. Would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for the perfect spot in the Coromandel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Make the most of an awesome opportunity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alipal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Driving Creek Villa was perfect from the moment we arrived. The location was great, a short drive from Coromandel Town and surrounded by a beautiful garden so it felt very secluded, but also only 5 minutes' walk from the nearby cafe which we returned to three times in one day. The villa looks even better than it does on their website and was very comfortable, including a lovely bbq area, comfy beds and an amazing kitchen with all the basics you need to cook up a feast (crockery and cookware, olive oil etc). There's even an outdoor hot-tub where it felt very luxurious to sit in with a glass of wine, under the stars. Even on the one rainy day, we were all happy to lounge around and read books in the very relaxing villa. The owners were friendly and ready to help if we needed it, and then left us to our own devices after providing plenty of info about the Coromandel. It was very well priced for four adults sharing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2011

A great welcome from David to a beautiful villa, fitted and furnished to a stylish high spec.
We loved the total privacy and the absolute peace and quiet that the location gave us- the cicadas and tui birds have become the theme tune to our holiday! On our last night we were able to stargaze at the spectacular clear skies over the southern hemisphere in total peace and stillness. This place was our favourite to stay in during the whole of our 3 weeks touring around NZ.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuayleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The accommodation highlight of our North Island road trip. Loved the forest location, the colonial style modern villa, the japanese hot tub - felt private and secluded... really suited a family with a small baby. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
12.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
426 reviews
15.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driving Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driving Creek Villas

Property: Driving Creek Villas
Address: 21A Colville Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Driving Creek Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful, private bush surrounds, our spacious, fully self-contained boutique villas offer the perfect accommodation to unwind - beside the meandering Coromandel stream where gold was first discovered in New Zealand over 150 years ago. Purpose-built to a high standard, Driving Creek Villas combine colourful pacific themes with modern styling, providing a Coromandel luxury accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Driving Creek Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing