We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Green House B&B
Ranked #3 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Green House is a very attractive B&B. It is an extremely comfortable place to stay, with modern facilities and an excellent varied breakfast. Malcolm and Denise bring great enthusiasm to ensuring their guests enjoy their stay at The Green House, and make the most of what Coromandel has to offer. We had a great 3 night stay there.
Like most B&Bs, it is not going to suit those visitors who like to keep themselves to themselves. The nature of the accommodation is such that it would be almost impossible to avoid mixing with other guests. In addition, breakfast is a convivial but shared experience. If The Green House does not sound to your taste, so be it, but in my view, you will be missing a real treat

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm and Den... S, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write this review. It is very much appreciated. You are absolutely correct - we do love to interact with our guests and ensure they make the most of their, often too short, time with us - that's why we are in the business. Have a safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
81
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had a fantastic stay. We were really well looked after by the hosts who gave us excellent advice as to what to do in the local area. Great comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, a lovely, well equipped, private living area for guests.
A beautiful location, not to be missed if you are travelling round New Zealand.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsandbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Just stayed at Malcolm & Denise's beautiful Coromandel Peninsula home - it was everything it said. Fantastic views over the Peninsula, lovely accomodation and a great breakfast. We got what we wanted - a very relaxing stay. Being within walking distance of the town was a bonus allowed us to walk in for dinner and not worry about having to drive back. Malcolm and Denise are great hosts - made us feel very welcome. The accomodation is 5 star they have done an excellent job - very tasteful and comfortable. Breakfast was fresh fruit, home made bread and local perserves...and the overnight stay was all at a reasonable price...would not hesitate to stay again..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We had the most delightful stay at Malcolm & Denise's beautiful Coromandel Peninsula home. We were lucky enough to be the only people in house at the time so we sat down with our hosts over breakfast sampling the fruits of their garden with home made bread and a vast amount of other breakfast treats.Malcolm has a first rate knowledge of the area and he is on hand to give you tips to get the best out of the available time in that part of the world. We stayed in the front room enjoying the best views but as we were the only guests in house at the time we were offered the use of the deck via the bedroom opposite which overlooks their lovely back garden. Nothing is too much trouble for the husband and wife couple that go out of their way in every sense to make your visitation all the more enjoyable. Breakfast yummy advice terrific and a lovely way to spend your time. my score 10/10

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pamster1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boatie60, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
It was an absolute pleasure sharing our home with you and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such lovely comments. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your tour of New Zealand. Kind regards. Malcolm & Denise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodmin
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Great hosts and accommodation. Must be one of the best in the area. located 5 minutes walk to lovely town. Great narrow guage nearby.excellent restaurants in town and gift shops. well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley18Bodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Having stayed at some outstandingly good b and b's during our holiday, The Green House was a total let-down. It is set on a busy main road - the traffic noise in our room in the morning was horrendous, but the room was so small and stuffy (no fan or A/C in rooms) that you had to have the windows open. The breakfast was the most miserly we experienced. The owners stood over the table throughout the meal, the meats seemed to have literally been counted out - there were six guests and just six of everything - sorry, one morning they managed 7 slices of tomato between the six of us.
The best thing about it? - we were only there two nights!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gchampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boatie60, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.It is difficult to please everyone all of the time, but as you can see from our other reviews, this is the first negative view we have received.
We cannot do anything about our position on the road, but this is usually outweighed by our convenience to the town and the stunning views of the Bay and Ranges.
I assume that you were in the ground floor room which is the smaller of our rooms. However, it does have an HRV system (air circulation) and a modern en-suite. The other rooms do have fans available for when it gets hot and stuffy.
Breakfast is served in the dining area next to the kitchen, all open plan. We, as hosts love to interact with the guests, have interesting conversations over breakfast and impart our local knowledge to ensure guests make the most of their time in Coromandel. This would be rather difficult if we were not there "standing over the table" as you put it.
Even with 6 guests at the table, the continental meat and cheese platter has never been emptied suggesting there has been plenty for everyone. We are always happy to replenish anything that runs out. Cooked options are also offered if the continental breakfast does not appeal. Our breakfast also consists of a selection of fruit juices and cereals, fresh fruit salad, home-made bread, preserves and yoghurt ( much of the produce from our garden) plus as much tea or coffee as you can drink. Our guests have always complimented us on the quality of our breakfast during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We came across The Green House by chance and were glad we did. The bedroom had a spacious bathroom and balcony looking towards the hills and shared a seating/kitchen area with the other guest bedroom. Located a short walk from Coromandel Town. Malcolm and Denise were very welcoming and most helpful when planning our stay in the Cormandel Peninsular

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebedee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coromandel Seaview Motel Style B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House B&B

Property: The Green House B&B
Address: 505 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Green House B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Green House B&B, we pride ourselves in supplying more than comfortable home-from-home style accommodation. You will find a friendly and accommodating welcome. It is our aim to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. We are happy to book attractions or restaurants for you and have a growing knowledge of the area enabling us to advise you on how to best use the time you have available. We have two en-suite double rooms available. Breakfast includes freshly baked bread, a choice of fruit juices, a selection of cereals, home-made yogurt, a selection of fruit mostly from the owner's garden, a meat and cheese platter plus the option of eggs prepared to your taste. We can now offer mountain bikes for guest use. Free view TV in the guest lounge and in all rooms. With your smart phone you can use our chromecast gadget to access chromecast settings - youtube, anything you can see on your smart phone, your netflix account and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The Green House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing