We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of the way, but enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Using Te Kouma as a base for day trips was ok, but the journey to and from the place made it unsuitable to pop in for a refresher during the day. We left in the morning and came back at night. Continental breakfast on the first morning was delicious (best home-made marmalade ever!), but I had thought a full breakfast was part of the deal. A word to Kurt that night and full breakfast was served on the next 2 mornings.
Our lower level apartment was great except for the lack of A/C or fans for air circulation in the bedroom. The lack of a fly screen on the bedroom window made it risky for mosquito entry. Never saw one, but we were warned they were around. Hosts were pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varietal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 49 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just spent 3 fabulous nights with Jo and Kurt and enjoyed delicious breakfasts and great company. The unit was well appointed with great views and plenty of birdsong. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we will be recommending it to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine_birks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was at Te Kouma B&B about two weeks ago in December. A luxury stay I'd say. Breathtaking view of the sapphire sea, room lined with bookshelves, a yummy breakfast - wish I could stay there for a few months.
Add to that Kurt and Jo are wonderful hosts, not only did we have an full of laughter conversation over breakfast; they also showed us their collection of shells!
Highly recommended.
Ali and Saheem

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saheem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Kurt and Jo are delightful welcoming hosts. Their beautifully situated property offers a respite from the challenges of urban life. We sat on the balcony as the sun set and enjoyed the view of the stars appearing in the vast sky overhead. The home made produce for breakfast kept us going all day. If you are planning a visit to the Coromandel peninsula base yourself here!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniebarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Te Kouma way back in 2010 and although we have thought about our stay with Kurt and Jo on many occasions we have never quite got around to saying - until now - how much we enjoyed their hospitality and their wonderful B&B. The views from our room were spectacular and there can't be many places in the world where you can eat such an excellent, freshly prepared breakfast with such a wonderful vista. We would stay here again without hesitation and will be heading back to the Coromandel when we next visit NZ.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We ewre recently in New Zealand and stayed with Kurt & Jo for an number of nights. This was one of the highlight of our stay nothing was a bother and the breakfast was somthing to write home about. The rooms were has uninterupted views of the township and water as it is just outside the town.Kurt and Jo are wonderful hosts with a great sense of humour with great local knowledge . We would recommend staying here to every one. Thanks Kurt & Jo

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srlisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having already sent 2 sets of relatives to Te Kouma in recent years I finally visited my self and was not disappointed. Kurt and Jo are wonderful hosts with great local knowledge and sense of humour. The rooms are comfortable and have an amazing view out over the harbour. Low light pollution also allows for good star viewing from the deck

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dax68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
3.7 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.3 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
346 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coromandel Tui Lodge
Coromandel Tui Lodge
#6 of 18 in Coromandel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
253 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
91 reviews
4.2 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast

Address: 50 Puriri Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing