We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Nice, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in Te Kouma in January with our two little girls and we loved it. The cottage was charming, extremely clean. The view on the lake was just beautiful... Kurt and Jo were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good (and Jo's blueberry muffins excellent!) We would be very happy to come back and stay longer this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed with Kurt and Jo on our first night in the country and it would be hard to top the experience for a NZ holiday intro. We arrived at sunset, which was spectacular, but waking at dawn to see the full extent of the view was our highlight. Stunning! Such a peaceful part of the world. Along with perfect weather, we were treated to warm hospitality - a very hearty breakfast (Jo's home made feijoa jelly is delicious), good conversation provided by our hosts, and song accompaniment provided by several Tui just outside the window. We wished we could have stayed longer and will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I booked Te Kouma after reading other Tripadvisor reviews and once again reviewers got it just right. Kurt and Jo are delightful hosts, they make you feel very welcome and their accommodation is superb. We had the apartment which was beautifully refurbished to the highest standard and a lovely decking area on which to admire one of the best views in North Island. The area is filled with the sound of birds and Kurt and Jo helped me identify many of them. Sitting on the decking, listening to the birds, watching the sun go down on the bay with a glass of good wine, you could be forgiven for throwing your passport away and never going home!! Also, the lack of light pollution meant that the night sky at Te Kouma was spectacular. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast each morning and Kurt and Jo gave us useful advice on where to go. I could have stayed much longer than the two nights we were there and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Kurt and Jo are wonderful hosts offering lots of information about the surrounding area. The upstairs room has a fabulous balcony with equally fabulous views. Breakfast is superb. We just couldn't fault the place and we will have to go back as next time, Kurt has promised to take me fishing (I will hold you to it Kurt,)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank khellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife, son & I had the pleasure of staying with Jo & Kurt a few weeks back. We wanted to find a bed and breakfast so we could experience Coromandel with locals who know the area, and stay in a quiet non-hotel atmosphere.

I was concerned that Te Kouma B&B would decline, as we were traveling with a two-year old. Not so! Our hosts were very accommodating, making up a small bed for our son to use in an adjacent room, and spending time interacting with him. We felt more like we were visiting relatives than staying in a stranger's home.

The accommodation was terrific, with a kitchenette and oven for our use, and a gorgeous view of the harbour with deck chairs to relax in. Very clean, and a healthy breakfast awaiting us each morning.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APrecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Our time in Te Kouma B&B was of the most enjoyable during our February tour through New Zealand. The hosts, Jo and Kurt belong to the friendliest, kindest people we met on the way.
There are many good points worth mentioning in this review: delicious home made breakfast, comfortable and spacious room with a stunning view over the bay and finally hospitality of Te Kouma B&B owners. We could not choose better and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Jo and Kurt are wonderfully hospitable. We were travelling with a toddler and Jo and Kurt could not have been kinder. The rooms are great and have a fantastic view. Coromandel town is close for shops and restaurants/take-aways and the Coromandel Peninsula was one of the highlights of our trip to NZ.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
3.7 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.3 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Green House B&B
The Green House B&B
#3 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast

Property: Te Kouma Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 Puriri Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing