We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice places” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coromandel Forest Park

Coromandel Forest Park
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

New to country and happy to be in Coromandele. Place is very nice. Happy to return again. People meet is friendly. Pleace peaceful. Nice views.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LesterR215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
549 reviews
267 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, lots of hiking, wonderful place to spend a couple weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

There is so much to see here! We went on multiple hikes, all of which can be accessed from different parts of the Peninsula. We stayed in Te Puru, near Thames, and got in a Kauri grove hike, the Pinnacles, and some other around the DOC visitor center outside of Thames. Going up north to the far end, are more hikes with fantastic views of different bays. Can not say enough good about this area. Plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, and ice cream stores, not to mention other merchandise for staying there, but the tramping (hiking) is wonderful!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Yet another beautiful place in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Each time we come to NZ we visit a different place and as always we are blown away by the beauty. This time we drove right up to the top of Coramendel to Fletcher Bay. What a wonderful spot to camp. Looked as if it had wonderful facilities and it was right on the water. The drive right up was amazing with the sea glistening and the countryside so green. We also visited Cathedral Cove which entails a 45 minute walk each way through bush, tree ferns and fox gloves. The beach at the bottom is very pretty with natural rock formations including a large arch - hence Cathedral Cove. Not far away is the hot water beach where at low tide one can wallow in the hot sand. Sadly we arrived too late for that.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 2BISCUITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“a great walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

if you are into walking under massive trees, into the depths of an amazing forest, then this one is for you. We enjoyed this walk last week. personally i was hoping that it was a bit longer!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great walks to the sumit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great views from the sumit, it takes a couple of hours & you can pre book a D.O.C hut for the night!.

Helpful?
Thank nodrogs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coromandel Forest Park also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Coromandel Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing