We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B in a nice location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breakaway Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Tairua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely B&B in a nice location”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Thank you Michael and Ross for providing us with such a lovely place to stay. The unit was well appointed and maintained. The service was great and the breakfast all we could have wanted. We loved our chats over breakfast. It is an easy walk to town and lovely restaurants. Coromandel is a quaint town with an old worldy feel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyOudney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was my first B&B I've tried in New Zealand and I wasn't disappointed.
This B&B is well-maintened with a generous breakfast (homemade jams, bread, cereals …).
This everything in lovely surroundings, it was quiet and a flowered garden).
Mickael and Ross are charming and considerate hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELPHINE974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Luck was on our side when we asked at the local Tourism office for a place to stay one night for a weekend away from Auckland.
Michael recommended one motel which was full, so then recommended Breakaway B & B.

What a great find. Super comfortable uint, private and quiet set in 5 acres of lush land.
Michael & Ross super hosts, warm, friendly, helpful and entertaining.
Full of recommendations as to where to go and what to do - it was the perfect weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Highly recommend this B & B - perfect for a weekend escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

In our view this accommodation is unbeatable and has everything and more that we would ever need in holiday accommodation. The hosts Michael and Ross were very friendly with lovely tales to tell and a great knowledge of the area, it was a pleasure meeting them and we would cat only go back for another stay. The room was really comfortable and lovely gardens which were so peaceful with birds visiting and keeping us amused too. Thanks Guys for a lovely break, Rose and Jim

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie48095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this great B&B. The room was exactly what I wanted - comfortable and clean. Michael and Ross were very friendly and helpful with a great knowledge of the area. The location was very quiet, but a quick walk from the main street. Breakfast was good, but I would have liked some protein (e.g. eggs or cheese). Will definitely return! Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I received a most warm and friendly welcome and found our hosts most knowledgeable regarding local amenities. Room was very clean and comfortable and bathroom was very user friendly which was ideal as I have a slight disability.
Beautiful gardens and a delicious breakfast in friendly company. We will recommend to friends and certainly stay there again.
F + M Pollard

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here. The room was very clean and well appointed, and the bed very comfortable. It was set in beautiful grounds and breakfast was served in a gorgeous conservatory. The property is very quiet and peaceful, yet only a few minutes from Coromandel Town.
The hosts, Ross and Michael, were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I left my phone charger there and they happily posted it back home for me and only chaged the shipping cost.
we would strongly recommend Breakaway to stay at, if your are planning a trip around the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#9 of 18 in Coromandel
68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#5 of 14 in Coromandel
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
17.3 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakaway Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakaway Bed & Breakfast

Property: Breakaway Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39 Whangapoua Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE ,OUR RATES ARE FROM NZD$125.00.To NZD$195.00 Per night 1-2 persons NOT AS SEEN IN THE ADDITIONAL INFO T.Just a 10 min walk, or a 1 min drive to the town,our property is semi rural overlooking our gardens, and the Coromandel Harbour, it is peaceful and quiet, our 4 units are separate from the house for your complete privacy, ground level with parking right out your door. There is an en-suite in the units with tea/coffee, fridge, microwave, TV, we have 2 queen units and 2 twin units, 1 being a unit for disability wheel chairs. The outlook is of private garden settings, with some cattle in our paddock. We serve breakfast in our conservatory between 8am & 9am which has views of the Coromandel Harbour in the distance. We are well known locals and can advise what to do, to make your day, and stay with us, enjoyable.We also own and operate Coromandel Discovery Coastal Walkway tours,something to do while staying in Coromandel. Just email with your enquirey or phone. WE ARE PET FRIENDLY.......... Your Hosts Michael & Ross ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing