We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home - but with better breakfasts!”
Review of Jacaranda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jacaranda Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A really great B&B. Robin is an energetic and welcoming host with an excellent knowledge of the local area which she's happy to share with guests. The house (including the rooms) is very comfortable and I felt right at home straight away. It has a large, attractive garden where Robin grows much of the food she serves guests and being just a short drive from Coromandel town means it is conveniently located too.

If you're visiting the west, north or north east coast of Coromandel then stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Jacaranda Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 195 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

This B&B is like being home from home. Robin is so wonderfully welcoming and knowledgable. Her home is so comfortable and homely and the gardens well tendered. The whole premises was exceptionally clean and tidy. Robin has the be the best hostess! She provides a wonderful array of home produce at her table, it's really a feast to the eye and mouth-wateringly good. Her passion for travel and meeting new and interesting people really shines through making her a very interesting character and a pleasure to talk and listen too. I highly recommend Robins tranquil home for a few nights rest and peace and quiet. Fabulous!

Room Tip: The blue room was very comfortable with fabulous views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerirex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My partner and I spent two days recently at Jacaranda Lodge. It is one of the friendliest places I have been. Robin is very generous with the variety and fresh garden treats on the table along with a huge choice for breakfast catering for gluten free etc. She is an informative hostess and obviously knows the local area and people very well. We were impressed with the high standards of cleanliness and tidiness of the place, with lots of spaces for guests to prepare a meal, sit in comfort to watch TV, or to relax on any of the verandahs around the house. A wonderful stay and I highly recommend Jacaranda Lodge.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have wonderful views especially of the sunsets and the rolling hills and bush nea...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Immaculate, beautiful room, gorgeous views of surrounding hills and Robyn's garden with blooming roses, many chooks and even 2 calves. Robyn made us so welcomed, her breakfasts were amazing with plenty of homemade breads, jams, chutneys and other goodies all produce from her garden and kitchen and presented with great attention to detail. Robyn is a fantastic hostess and made us feel at home; she is very knowledgable about her community, places to visit /eat etc. a real treasure.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ElizabethRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was a return visit to the Coromendal after 20 years and it was everything I remembered. The Jacaranda Lodge is nestled in the hills outside of the town so the nights are quiet with beautiful views. This B&B was the cleanest one I have ever seen and we have travelled lots. The blue room on the second floor had lovely views and a cross breezes. Robin gave us wonderful suggestions for touring after carefully listening to what we wanted (little driving, few tourists, and off the beaten track). New Chubb's beach was such a special place. I would highly recommend this B&B to all.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WestcockSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Second night in Country and had the pleasure of sharing Robin's B and B and garden for a night. Coulda/shoulda stayed longer. She had great suggestions for things to see and eat to keep us busy during our short stay. Very cool very clean room with attached bathroom and great view. Topped the visit off with her fantastic homemade, fresh from the yard, little of everything, breakfast. Best we had all the 19 day trip, (and we had some other good ones.) I even managed to sweet talk her into a taste, from her private stash, of New Zealands finest honey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpcvtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have stayed there for three Nights and had such a wonderful Time. The room was silent and nicely furnished. A home made breakfast being served at the veranda with a beautiful view. A nice typically English Garden and the possibility to borrow mountain Bikes made our stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
2.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.0 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Manor
Mangrove Manor
#1 of 14 in Coromandel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
81 reviews
10.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
11.1 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Lodge

Address: 3195 Tiki Road, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range: $102 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacaranda Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerard and Judy welcome you to their warm, spacious home surrounded by farmland and gardens. Located 3km south of Coromandel Town, Jacaranda Lodge provides the perfect escape. Relax in one of the guest lounges, stroll around the delightful gardens, experience Coromandel's walks, galleries, unique attractions and spectacular coastline. Delicious home-made continental breakfasts include fresh organic produce from Jacaranda's orchard. Large, comfortable bedrooms. Wireless internet connection. Special dietary needs catered for. Sleep, eat,enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jacaranda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing