We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a joy to return!”
Review of Castle Rock Winery

Castle Rock Winery
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Rock Winery
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Such a joy to return!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

First stayed at this location in 1997 under previous management and loved it. Thrilled to return this year under new management, who were absolutely delightful, down-to-earth and welcoming.

We rented both the large unit at the end of the property as well as the studio. Both extremely clean and bright with all of the fixings you could think of. Full washroom facilities with shower in each unit. Lovely homemade jams in the fridge to enjoy as part of our included continental breakfast.

Grounds are lovely with chickens walking freely, small pond, lush greenery. Five minutes' drive to gorgeous Whangapoua beach (where one can also access New Chums Beach). Short drive to Castle Rock for a hike. Stunning home base to soak in the Coromandel. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! :)

Room Tip: Enjoy the studio unit while you can - owners may need to modify this part of the grounds to expand t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiFan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nelson
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great unit and ever so friendly and helpful hosts nothing was a bother to them. Good breakfast of cereal and toast.Excellent jams and sauces for sale all made from locally sourced fruits. Wonderful base for many attractions in the area. Good luck for your venture.

Ian & Jeanette

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Sharon and David were still busy moving in when we arrived as their first guests and could not have been more friendly and helpful so we wish you all the best in your venture. A wonderful place to stay - tranquil setting in lovely grounds. The facilities are great - fridge, hot pan and BBQ on the decking - what more could you want, especially with a vineyard on site too. Just wished we could have stayed longer. Just watch out for the winding roads that go on forever both in and out.

Room Tip: All rooms superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nom la Breteche
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

In a quiet place in the middle Of an orchard you Will find the Castle Rock Winery. Beside running a little shop with excellent products you Will find several accommodation suite big : I had a two bedroom apartment with a fully equiped kitchen and paid NZ$ for two days. Of course you have to cook tour breakfast a continental one being available. The drawback is that it is 13km away Of Coromandel with hundreds Of turns to get there!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

This is a very pleasant place to stay, in a very pleasant, quiet beautiful part of the Coromandel. The apartment we were given was more of a house - with huge living room, good sized kitchen, elevated deck, gas BBQ and lovely views across a beautiful garden/orchard. The owners run a winery and cafe on the same site, and are attentive, helpful and generous - providing a great breakfast and an invitation to help ourselves to the pears ripening in the garden. I could not recommend this more highly as a splendid place to spend time. Do make sure that you bring what you need with you though, as the small settlement has no other shops. Those seeking more immediate facilities will stay in Coromandel Town (about 15 minutes west). But they wil miss a superb place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We spent 2 nights - tried to get an extra night - but sadly it was booked.
The flat is spotless and the private deck with own barbeque was great (we had our New Year's Eve meal outside). Last but not least it was nice to taste the products of the winery (we do hope business will prosper and that you'll like to continue, Sharon and David),
We went to Cathedral Cove, which is worth a trip - but the beach 10 minutes away by car is also lovely. If you like the relaxed hippie style of life you'll find Coromandel village intesting.
To make it short - we would love to come back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbjerregaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We were directed to Castle Rock Winery by the Tourist Info in Coromandel. Height of the season and was the only room left in our price range (NZ$ 100)
It is halfway across to Cooks Beach, along the mountain road. A lovely quiet spot, ideal for a relaxing break from touring.
It is sold as a B&B, but as Brits we were pleasantly suprised to find that NZ B&B's are very different from those UK! In fact it was a studio that looked like a log cabin. Inside was very modern, spacious and decorated beautifully. The bed was comfortable, there was a sitting area with sofa, table, TV, ensuite shower / toilet and a large kitchen containing, fridge, microwave, fresh coffee, complimentary tea and instant coffee as well. Plenty of dishes to rustle up a light meal.
Breakfast was left in the studio and replenished daily. This consisted of fruit, cereals,fruit juice, bread, spread and jams. Any extra items required were supplied with no problem.
Outside was a deck with electric B-B-Q,of which we made good use.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful. At the time of our stay there was a shop selling their own fruit wines and also a small cafe. The latter I believe was due to close.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afartribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
0.5 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Fern Lodge
Fern Lodge
#7 of 11 in Coromandel
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Rock Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Winery

Property: Castle Rock Winery
Address: S.H. 25 Te Rerenga, Coromandel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing