We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One man's dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driving Creek Railway and Potteries

Driving Creek Railway and Potteries
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barry Brickell (acclaimed potter, painter, engineer and conservationist) started building the railway 35 years ago to bring clay from the hillside to his pottery. This amazing switch-back railway climbs the mountain to the 'Eyeful Tower' with magnificent views over the Hauraki Gulf. The one hour return journey incorporates superb engineering with 2 spirals, 3 short tunnels, 5 reversing points and several large bridges. Unique pottery sculptures and tile walls line the track through a regenerating forest setting. Back at the station watch the DVD about Barry and the railway. Enjoy a walk in the sculpture garden followed by a bush walk in the predator free native sanctuary. Pottery, souvenirs, mini-bricks, books and the DVD are available to purchase in our craft shop. Tours Times: 10.15am, 11.30am, 12.45pm, 2pm and 3.15pm DAILY. During the busy seasons we may run additional tours at 9am, 4.30pm and 5.45pm (subject to demand) As this attraction is extremely popular we strongly suggest you book your seat; especially over the summer period.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One man's dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The whole thing is one man's dream as described by the train driver.

The whole experience is full of fun and well worth the money. The trains cut through many different terrains until they reach the Eye Full Tower on the top where you oversee the whole peninsula and even Waiheke island.

It's a must visit especially for family with kids. Our sessions were so busy that they were fully booked

Helpful?
Thank Benny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    250
    48
    12
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“For young families and oldies.......I got bored.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Perhaps I'm not in the targeted demographic, or I have missed the 'vision' of the artist, and perhaps I may sound harsh, but I am surprised by the glowing reviews this attraction has received.

The scenery is nice, and perhaps the international tourists would find it a novelty, but after 10 minutes of native nz forest it was just a train ride through the forest. Perhaps the trip could have been dotted with more of the artists pottery to showcase the inspiration of the artwork.
There is no eating establishment on site, which is a given to most attractions. And again I think is also missing the opportunity to showcase the artwork of the various artists.
It needs some refinement and improvement to be truly a tourist must do.

Staff were pleasant and friendly.

Would not go again, and not recommend to my family or friends.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book before you go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went on a very busy day, but thankfully had booked in advance. It was very crowded on the train and the staff gave a constant commentary (almost too much, it's nice sometimes to just enjoy the trip, not have it interrupted with constant 'jokes').Very relaxing way to spend the afternoon. We were surprised at the size of it, and the views were great. A very enjoyable train ride and worth visiting. Definitely book at this time of year as there were many people waiting for places that just weren't available.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nieci48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing view and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We been there on 27th and it was really busy,. We were unable to make an booking and when we reached there, the train was sold out already .

Then one of the staff approached us and we told her that we cannot get the next ride as we have to drive far and she ask us to put our name in wait-list.

Finally she was able to get us the afternoon ride.. Great views and the driver was really kind and knowledgeable.

will come back again

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaviMorya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great views and a great ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a surprising and unexpected attraction in such a small place. The train ride is all the more remarkable when you learn that one man is responsible for creating it. It is a feat of engineering to be marvelled at, and the train ride is an enjoyable way to take it all in. The scenery is beautiful and the highlight is reaching the "Eyefull Tower" for a picture postcard view of Coromandel and the surrounding area and sea. The train terminal and pottery shop are worth checking out for their quirkiness. The place is unique and something special. Booking is essential at peak holiday times if you want to avoid missing out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntipodeanGenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driving Creek Railway and Potteries also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Driving Creek Railway and Potteries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing