We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Nearby Hotels
The Olive Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel Court Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel(Coromandel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
179
127
32
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
127
32
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathclose to townthe kitchensingle bedfamily unitshort walkroom was spaciousmountain bikesa wonderful staygreat spotshops and restaurantsnew zealandstayed longerbackpackersmotelaccommodationreagan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 362 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We went to Anchor Lodge for a 5 day winter break with our two young children. We had the spa 2 bed suite which was amazing - decorated to a very high standard with everything you need. The room was snug and warm and the facilities were perfect - we even swam in the heated pool. The family who run it are lovely and very friendly. We couldn't fault this place at all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiltshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Anchor Lodge - The impressive entrance greets you.. Its a nice place for people travelling with friends, families or even for a single traveller. Its a good value for money! We just paid $ 20 per person for a night. the rooms are neat and clean.. freshly painted walls, good bed linen and wall paintings too! There a kitchen where you can cook ur own stuff..they also have a small collection of books to read and stuff like basket balls, badminton raquets, hammock etc. Brownie point - A hot water outdoor jacuzzi!!!
Overall a gr8 place for just 20 bucks!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bapatkates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

In the late afternoon after we trawled around Coromandel searching for an apartment, my partner and I decided that the Anchor Lodge’s offer of a room for NZ$125 (non-peak rate) was the best on offer. It was a cabin with a spacious area comprising kitchen and living room, and a separate bedroom. The décor looked pleasing enough. The grounds outside were pleasant. It’s in a very quiet location, away from the main town area. The only downside seemed to be the very strange arrangement of beds — a queen-sized one adjacent to the kitchen, and three singles in the bedroom. The only cupboard in the bedroom was locked with a single bed jammed up against it. However we decided we could live with that. But….

We found, on unpacking, that there was not a single usable wardrobe in the place. So clothes either had to be left in the suitcase, or strewn around on tables, beds and chairs. Checking the oven, we found that it was dirty and that one of the oven trays was filthy. (The response of the manager was, “Well, did you need to use it?”) More and more, we found that under the veneer of chic neatness was a lack of care in the design and maintenance for holiday makers. One of the hotplates had warped to a weird angle. The kitchen taps were cheap and badly installed. The shower fitting was also cheap and a real pain to use. The nasty little coffee plunger sprayed coffee grounds over me. The folding door of the cupboard containing the hot water heater was jammed open. The television was set up weirdly so that adjusting the volume was a tedious process. The hairdryer didn’t work. (Manager: “There is a special control at the wall. Didn’t you look?”)

To use the electric blanket we could not have a bedside light on at the same time as there seemed to be no double adapters or power points to use. (Manager: “Didn’t you look under the bed.”)

In the instructions left in the room it listed a telephone for guest use. When we asked why we didn’t have one the response was “Some units have them, but you know, these days everybody has a cellphone.”

In summary, they should spend less time pleating the towels, facewashers and sheets and do some thorough cleaning instead. The difficult bed arrangement and the lack of general care made us feel very uncomfortable, and the room was below standard for the price. We had planned to stay for three nights but fled after one.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mangoseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Brennie, Owner at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2010

Trip Advisor is a great forum for finding information about properties prior to booking them, however, it does have a small pitfall in that an customer can also use it as a tool to try and negotiate/force a discount if they feel they can.

We welcome all truthful comments about our facility, but I must reply to the review given by "mangoseed" from Melbourne, as she has made blatent untruths.

Yes they did "trawl" around Coromandel looking for a bargin. In fact they visited four other motels that we know of trying to beat the owners down in price. They visited here during their "trawl" and looked at several room types. The main request was they have separate sleeping areas as the husband snored. Approximately 45 minutes after first arriving they returned asking for a discount, as the booking was only for one night (not 3 as she has stated) and it was quite late in the day. A very reasonable rate was given to them at the time and they checked in.

The following morning when they came to check out the lady said she was unsatisfied with the room and they wanted a further discount. She mentioned all the points above, stating if they did not receive a discount she would write a bad review on Trip Advisor.

I offered to go back to the room with her to show her that the hairdryer did work (you have to plug it in and turn it on first), there were ample plugs behind the bed for bedside lights, electric blankets etc ( for safety reasons all electric blankets are left unplugged), that there was space to open the wardrobe door, the coffee plunger was brand new (you have to turn the spout in the right direction) etc etc. She declined the offer.

She was adament that if she did not receive a discount she would write a bad review. The lady obviously did not want to be be shown that things in the room was not as she had stated, so I invited her to leave a bad review if that was what would make here happy.

I am disappointed that someone would go to such lengths to get discounts, and only hope that other places they stayed did not fall for her ploy.

For all others wishing to come to Coromandel we invite you to stay here at Anchor Lodge, where you will find everything works, and our rooms are very, very clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stumbled across Anchor Lodge without making a booking, so we were lucky to get a room. We had a studio suite in the trees, with a beautiful view over the harbour. There was a nice pool (heated!) and spa area. We walked into town for dinner as it was so close. If you are dining out in Coromandel you have to go to "The Pepper Tree Restaurant". Wow. The owners at Anchor Lodge were lovely and helped us with our plans after leaving Coromandel. We had two days in town but wished we had a couple more. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptionCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed for just one night – in a Spa Suite.
We were soundly impressed by the quality – all was just perfect. Good design and finishing. The children aged 11 and 13 loved the spa bath.
We ordered breakfast as well, visitors please take note - this is not an average hotel breakfast - "trying to find the food on your plate" scenario. We thought it might be the case [our mistake] but this was more than a full plate, very well presented and on time – these people can make breakfast! – Thank you.
A though – maybe the lower beds (kids, singles) should have warm blankets. My daughter said she slept a bit cold.
Never the less this was great! Keep up the quality!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auckland_A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews