We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2010

The layout of this hostel is strange as there is a hotel/chalet sort of area then a small backpackers part, there are seperate rules for the backpackers regarding the use of the pool and the spa which I fould a bit silly as everyone is paying to stay there and if you are going to service backpackers don't treat them as though they are second class to other guests! We were in the spa one day and told to get out as other guests wanted to use it but felt as though they couldnt... We suspected this was a lie and we ended up being right as once we had vacated no one came to use the spa. Other than that the backpackers part is spacious and clean. The dorm we stayed in had a door that went out onto a bit of bush and the door wouldnt lock so this gave me the creeps all night preventing me from having a good nights sleep! As mentioned the rooms and facilities are nice enough but I expect more from hosts/owners when I am paying to stay in one of their rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annika81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Brennie, Owner at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our property annaik81. Anchor Lodge resort is predominately a resort with superior and luxury rooms and apartments. We also have a backpacker lodge, which you stayed in. We do have rules regarding the spa pools for all guests, namely a reasonable time limit. Often, unfortunately, some guests take rules to the extreme, and we have to ask them to vacate the pool, whether someone is waiting or not. I am sorry that on this occasion you felt we were treating you differently. We do go out of our way to please all our guests, and we hope they all enjoy there stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 346 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed at the Anchor Lodge backpacker, Coromandel. We found the rooms to be very clean, even decorated with a plasma which for a backpackers is pretty cool! The complex is very nice, 5 minutes walk to the heart of Coromandel Town with excellent bay views. The staff were very friendly and overall we really enjoyed our visit. I would certainly recommend the Lodge and if we were to visit again, would upgrade to the cabins. They looked lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltoncaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed for two nights, the room was quite good, the staff very friendly and the position good, but $200.00 for a fairly basic setup then an extra $10.00 for internet was too much for what we got.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterRAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

The 9 bed dorm was spacious and the bunk beds were sturdy and wooden - no being kept awake by the creaking springs of the person above you! As with any large dorm, it can be noisy with people coming and going at different times.

Bathrooms were nice, and we saw them being properly cleaned each morning.

The kitchen was also clean, with sufficient space to prepare food. There were tables out on the verandah to eat at.

The hostel is only a short walk from the town centre - it's just a shame there's nothing much to do in town. Bikes are available to hire from reception, but there are not very many so be sure to ask early.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara_k_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Our family (2A,3C) stayed at Anchor Lodge Motel at the beginning of January. It was our best week in NZ. They have a lovely swimming pool and spa area which the kids just loved, and a big trampoline, which the kids spent a lot of time on as well. The owners were very friendly and helped us organise our day trips around Coromandel. We definitely suggest the gold mining trips on the Argo with Roy. Coromandel was such a great place and our holiday was made even better by everything at the motel. We would definitely recommend staying here, and Coromandel has so much to do we didn't even do everything in the week we had. We will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_Holidays0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We had q wonderful weekend away. It all started with rhe great greeting we received and it didnt stop there. Our room was lovely, clean and tastefully done.
Totally recommend this place to stay. Lots to see & do.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveHolidays18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed in Coromandel, New Zealand on our way back to Australia from USA. Everyone had always raved about the Coromandel so we decided to spend our four days there. We stayed at Anchor Lodge in Coromandel Town (at the top of the peninsula). What a wonderful location. We had a suite set up among the trees. (ask for these when you book). The rooms looked like brand new, and we had a large deck at the front overlooking the harbour. The owners are really friendly and so is their cat. They convinced us the fishing was really good so we did a charter with Les on Albatros Charters. We caught too many to keep, so gave them away to the owners...and the cat! The town is beautiful and ther is so much to do our four days were suddenly gone. We will definitely be back to stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaldieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
512 reviews
12.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
91 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: $42 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing