We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Mt Maunganui
1 review
“great place to relax”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We had q wonderful weekend away. It all started with rhe great greeting we received and it didnt stop there. Our room was lovely, clean and tastefully done.
Totally recommend this place to stay. Lots to see & do.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveHolidays18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    115
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
75
154
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed in Coromandel, New Zealand on our way back to Australia from USA. Everyone had always raved about the Coromandel so we decided to spend our four days there. We stayed at Anchor Lodge in Coromandel Town (at the top of the peninsula). What a wonderful location. We had a suite set up among the trees. (ask for these when you book). The rooms looked like brand new, and we had a large deck at the front overlooking the harbour. The owners are really friendly and so is their cat. They convinced us the fishing was really good so we did a charter with Les on Albatros Charters. We caught too many to keep, so gave them away to the owners...and the cat! The town is beautiful and ther is so much to do our four days were suddenly gone. We will definitely be back to stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2009

My family and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend away in Coromandel Town, we had a great time staying at this beautiful resort, the Resort is spread across quite a large area (maybe an acre), the chalets are surronded by tropical gardens with unusual species of flora & fauna (loved that!) and bush all around.
There were a large group of us, myself and my children stayed in one of the new family apartments, it was like a house really! full kitchen, large bathroom with spa, king bed, ultra modern decor, all the trimmings!
The Resort appears to have many different room types, other family members stayed in studio chalets up in the forest with nice balconies and sea views.
The large park area directly across the road was great for the kids to play cricket and run around, and for the adults it was only a few hundreds meters to the cafes & shops!
All in all everyone very impressed with this little piece of paradise!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We have just spent 6 weeks in NZ and the accommodation at this place was the nicest we had experienced. We stayed in a brand new spa bath unit, in the new wing of the complex. This motel is in a great handy location to the town centre and also has the harbour just across the road.
The units have great harbour views from the balcony. We had great fun using the mountain bikes provided by the complex free of charge, they have glow worm caves on site (free), and a heated pool and spa. I would definately reccommend this motel, it appeared to be the newest in town and was in pristine condition.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addictedtotouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in a double room in the backpackers. We had our own private area of the balcony and an external lockable door. We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and getting your own TV in a backpackers was a real bonus! The showers were hot with great pressure. Being in the backpackers meant there was no late night noise like you often get in hotels due to the rules in place. The grounds are lovely and being able to walk to everything in town (about 2 mins) was wonderful. The cabins looked good too and if you've got the extra money they would be well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinkyKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed one night in June in a two bedroom. It took the room quite a while to warm up with the small heater. It also was very damp and the living area had a musty smell. We used the hottub, and it was leaking, so it wasn't able to warm up that much. The grounds are beautiful and the balconies have fantastic views. The staff was helpful and booked us on the Driving Creek Railway which I highly recommend. It's so different.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
185 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

I didn't stay here but came to hire bicycles - the cheapest bikes (by far) in Coromandel Town. The staff were great - they were friendly and helpful but also allowed me to change in their staff area and kept my backpack till my ferry - I wasn't even staying there! So I am sure it would be great to stay there. Lovely location too.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Property: Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing