We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Base for Coromandel Peninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had a wonderful 4 nights at the Anchor Lodge. It was my home base as I explored Coromandel Peninsula. I had great breakfasts, a quiet and clean room, a place to do laundry and even a lending library! The staff was kind and helpful at all all hours of the day and evening. I could walk easily to restaurants and some walking trails. I'd recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: I liked rooms 1-4 that were on the ground level. I was in room 3 which was further from the noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Anchor Lodge is in a great location close to the town centre and the restaurants. The chalet we has was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was provided the night before on a tray. It was fairly standard but fine and the milk and fruit can be stored in the fridge. Our only criticism is that the room was quite small, therefore difficult to cope with luggage and the washbasin in the bathroom was hand rinse size only, although there was a larger sink in the kitchen area. Coromandel is a lovely area and close by the scenic railway up the mountain is worth a trip

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterandvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our two night stay here was never going to be anywhere near long enough. Excellent two storey, two bedroom, two bathroom self contained chalet was impossible to fault. Well equipped, well maintained, spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds (why other places so often have to choose such hard beds!) and a lovely outlook to the harbour and easy walking distance to town makes this place hard to fault.

Thoroughly recommended. Try to get a harbour view although it looks like most rooms would have a view of some kind. Will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muznkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Wonderful place to stay!! Very friendly, helpful staff and clean, comfortable room in a great location.Close to plenty of nice eating places of different options and close to some picturesque walks. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizacoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at the Anchor Lodge whilst visiting the Coromandel Peninsula, the rooms are a really well equipped with fridge, microwave, crockery plates and cutlery. BBQ also available and our balcony over looked the estuary, lovely to sit & relax after a busy day exploring the Peninsula .
There is also a heated plunge pool & spa.
The local bush walks which are easily reached from the lodge, give access to varied nature and views across the Peninsula which are stunning.

Room Tip: First floor have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Got messed around by the Motel up the road with the booking (their mistake) and had to find somewhere else for 2 nights for 2 couples on our NZ holiday. Called into Anchor Lodge and the service was fantastic. Booked us into a family unit which was modern, clean and comfortable with all the facilities you could wish for. The location is close to town but quiet with a lovely park and the bay across the road. The staff were always helpful and wanted to do everything to make our stay memorable for all the right reasons. The pictures and description of the Lodge are accurate, which is not the case with the other Motel up the road (with Harbour views) which seems to get higher ratings. I don't why that is because Anchor Lodge beats it in every aspect. Singles, couples, families, looking for quality and value should make this their first choice in Coromandel.

Room Tip: Make this your first choice in Coromandel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkAussie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I with my family enjoied 2 nights before Christmast in the luxury spa house: modern, roomy, confortable, clean and with a good range of appliances. The pool is so small but ok for the children. Among the resort facilities there are 3 gas fired Bbq available ! We had a sunny cool stay here... hope to come back !

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Manuel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
254 reviews
12.7 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: $45 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing