We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There and back again and again and again...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My love affair with the Coromandel Peninsula started with love at first sight to its scenic views made intense with longing for its quaint towns and epicurean offerings. But what made this beloved place perfect for travel-weary-shoestring-backpackers like me are places like Anchor Lodge. I was so impressed that I have stayed with Anchor Lodge thrice! It is great value for money whether I'm in a backpacker or double room as it offers a small pool/jacuzzi as well as maintained a quiet, tidy and clean accommodation. Anchor Lodge exudes a warm family and friendly atmosphere among its multicultural staff and guests so much so that I have remained friends with those I met there. It is just a short walk from town so everything is accessible especially the Corosmoke Co. and Pepper Tree Restaurant. To my constant delight, I always get dropped off and picked up by the bus right at its doorstep. When I am in Coromandel Town, Anchor Lodge is my happy place. Make it yours too!

Room Tip: If you want more privacy and time in the shower and toilet at the backpackers' lodge, ask the Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaValencia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I were impressed with 4 star accommodation at reasonable rates. First impressions count and we were thrilled to have a place to stay in that offered a spa pool and swimming pool in a peaceful tranquil setting. Most important is the fact that you are only a 5min walk to some excellent coffee shops!! The staff were very helpful

Room Tip: As there are a variety of room options, make sure you let the staff know what your needs are when bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHanna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed one night here thinking it looked really great. Maybe If you stay in the expensive cabins it's great but we stayed in a basic private double room. If you love paper thin walls then you'll be right at home! The bathrooms are terrible, both men's and women's. Three showers in a line with a pull across curtain that allows water to get all over the floor so you don't nearly slip and break your legs at all, the lack of privacy in there only adds to the special moment. The kitchen area is OK if quiet. Overall it's not bad, just not as amazing as it looks and we only booked here because the woman on the phone said the room was $55 a night, I didn't even look at my receipt until later on to notice it was actually $65 so that annoyed us as we are backpackers and were trying to save every dollar possible. Average.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Anchor Lodge is mainly a motel but we do also have a hostel here. Our website has clearly marked photos of the hostel rooms and motel rooms so that people don't get them mixed up. As our rates are seasonal, you have been charged the correct rate for this time of the year. The disapointing thing is instead of letting us know you were not happy with your room, which would have given us an opportunity to move you into a different room, you have decided to go on trip advisor and write a negative review, so you were left unhappy (which you did not tell us about at the time) and we have been left with a negative review.. No winners here. We are here to provide our customers with quality accommodation and facilities and we want to know if you are not happy with anything during your stay so can fix it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

One of the best places I have stayed at in a long time. Its good value, the room was great, the people were friendly. Its close to everything you need while on holiday in the sunny coromandel. The location was perfect!!!
I would recommend this beautiful lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livvyb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

One of the cleanest room I have stayed in. The staff put me on to great activities in the area and sorted me out a bike to ride there and around town. great experience will go back and stay when I am in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenelusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very nice place to stay. Great location. Good Price. Good choice of rooms and appartments! Pool and whirl-pool available. Also nice back-packer accommodation available as well as really nice appartments.

Room Tip: The rooms and appartments are all great - and well layed out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this lodge was a great experience, the room was clean and tidy. lots of advantages very friendly and helpful staff.
It has a good view. good parking space bbq and spa pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
254 reviews
12.7 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: $45 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing