We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are going to Coromandel stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
305 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“If you are going to Coromandel stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights, were really impressed and believe we stayed in the best Hotel in Coromandel Township.

Staff were friendly and helpful, you can even get a free Tuktuk ride into town from Reagan.

Location was great, easy stroll into town (Tuktuk a novelty rather then needed).

Room excellent, decor etc as good as I have seen in some 4 star hotels we have stayed in.

Facilities great, Tepid swimming pool, spa pool, (our room also had a spa bath), grounds have a tropical fell to them. Being a Hotel and backpackers you get the best of both worlds, great room and facilties including such things as barbecues and laundry available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    115
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
75
154
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Tour of 31 seniors arrived in pouring rain. Umbrellas were supplied at the bus door for our use. Premises were spotless, and staff were most helpful in setting up a group BBQ by the pool. Can highly reccommend this facility

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TykeHBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed here only for one night as we traveled through the town. The location was good for those who want to walk to the town center and the room was clean although really small (we stayed in double). The pool was also small but it wasn't a problem as we were the only ones in it.

My biggest issue with this place was the miniature kitchen and the fact that there was no proper dining area. We ended up making our dinner outside in the patio as the small kitchen was full all the time and eating outside due to lack of place to eat inside. Rooms and the common areas in the backpacker side were worn down and I'd really hoped that in the showers there would have been a place to hang your clothes while taking a shower. Now you had to walk across the kitchen area with nothing but the towel on and I think it's not the ideal situation for those who are making food...

But all in all ok place but not the one I'd like to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanneSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We found the staff to be very helpful and the room was clean and nicely set up. We found the bed comfortable and a great shower water pressure. The motel looks magical at night and very tropical being set up against the bush and having fairy lights. It was great being able to use the complimentary bikes and it was only a short walk to town. Our only negative was the lack of soundproofing between rooms. You could easily hear tvs, talking, showers etc which meant a couple of early morning wake up for us.

Room Tip: We had a road front room which was a bit noisy as every car coming in and out used that entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Brennie, Owner at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Anchor Lodge, and made use of all our facilities. We are in a very quiet area of town, so unfortunately any guests leaving early, (especially those with fishing boats) do make a bit of noise when they drive out. The two rooms near the exit driveway have to contend with any early risers. The two front rooms are also our wheelchair access rooms and they have an internal inter-connecting door. Due to this door the rooms could not be sound-proofed properly (as the rest of our rooms are). We are endeavoring to seek advise on how to change the sound-proofing with the door and hope to have this rectified very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had a unit tucked up in the bush with our own little balcony - and before we even got up to our room we were impressed with the setting, the exotic plants and garden art.
Nice room, it was spacious, modern and clean...good bathroom. Very handy to town.
Just one complaint - their laundry is hideous! When I found it - behind office - I wasn't sure if I was in the right place as it looked like a junk pile under a lean-to - it was between 7.30 and 8am - & office was closed - there were a few filthy looking machines, and there was junk laying on them, a tatty ironing board with more junk on top of it, sitting in front of machines and a laundry sink with food scraps piled in it...the place stunk...such a contrast to rest of place...really grotty! I was prepared to clear and tidy up a section of laundry for my use, but couldn't get a machine to work and there weren't any helpful signs saying how to use, tokens or coins? or how much - so gave up and went to laundromat in town. So Anchor Lodge, wise up - don't offer a laundry if that's your best effort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Brennie, Owner at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and very positive comments about the complex. I am very sorry you found the laundry in a messy situation, however, during your stay. At this time we had been clearing out one of the implement sheds next to the laundry. Most of the work was done during the evening, and unfortunately when you went to use the laundry early morning found it unusable. All our washing machines and dryers are new Matags, and when not covered with tools, are in excellent condition and working order. We apologize for your inconvenience, and would like to assure all that the laundry is now "spik-and-span", with plenty of room for washing, drying, ironing and hanging washing out under the covered laundry area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I checked in for 2 nights but ended up staying 3. The cabins are mostly in pairs and this can be noisy - I could hear the neighbours in the bathroom, TV and moving chairs about etc.

The rooms are clean with small kitchen (microwave, hob, fridge, kettle, toaster), good linen and towels. You will end up making friends with your neighbours as the balconies are shared. There is a strict no noise after 10pm rule which is great and a number to call if you are disturbed in the night.

The position is great with a few minutes walk to the town where you will find lots of cafes and a couple of bars. The staff will run you to the town in the Tuk-Tuk if you ask nicely!!

The staff were very helpful but did start their rounds cleaning the rooms quite early. Check out is strictly 10am and you will be charged for overstaying. The staff will help with maps and advice on the area.

The bathrooms could do with a shelf in the shower to put shampoo etc on.

A good stay and I would recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: Try to get a room up the top as these have wonderful views and the afternoon sun is not directly on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Brennie, Owner at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and very positive comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Anchor Lodge. We do have a strict check-out time (10am). This is due to many guests asking for an early check-in. We endeavor to have our rooms cleaned and ready for new guests by midday, so need to start the cleaning at 10am. We do offer a late check-out option for a small charge, this can be arranged at check-in. In future we will ensure all guests are aware of the check-out time.
Thank you for your comments relating to noise from your adjoining unit. Our access units, in which you stayed, have an internal inter-connecting door. These units also double as a larger family unit if and when needed. Unfortunately we do get a small amount of noise coming through this door, if the "neighbours" are a little louder than normal. We only have two rooms in the complex with this combination. Thank you once again for staying, and we hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonNZ
Level Contributor
163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed one night here. I stayed in a beautiful room with a priceless view over the water. The room was spotless, with nice linen.
The gardens are well laid out with a tropical feel. Reception was lovely as were the staff.
However, there is a lack of sound proofing in the rooms. I could hear everyone's TV's start up for the 6pm news and could hear every word the couple in the room next door to me were saying and they werent being loud. Plus everytime they moved around or closed the external door, my whole room shook. However, after they went to sleep it was all quiet. No traffic noise, bed was comfortable and I woke up to bird song in the morning.
I probably wouldnt come back here again cause of the noise factor, which is a shame...as everything else about this lovely Motel is perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms up the back (elevated) give an amazing view of the sunset over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
12.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Property: Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing