We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Thames Motel
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed for three nights over Christmas, as a family 2 adults and 2 children.
The unit was very clean and tidy, the staff were very friendly, gave us a map information on things to do.
The only downside was as its a older Motel there was a bit of traffic noise, but nothing to major.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carollop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed at this motel for one night and found it to be better than anticipated. It was very clean and very modern. Great value for money and the free wifi makes it even better. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juzzer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Just quite dated.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My husband and I were travelling throughout New Zealand, from Canada, on a three-week vacation in January 2011.
We arrived in Thames, later in the evening on a Sunday night of a national holiday. Little did we know there would be no rooms to be had. We came across the Avalon Motel and we VERY happy we had. Luckily, Bruce and Raewyn were still up and the office was still open. They were very friendly and we got the room just opposite the office, by the driveway. It's a small cottage all on its own and not connected to the rest of the motel. What a fantastic room. Very big, with an indoor hot tub in a separate room. We didn't use the hot tub, but we did sit outside on the small patio. It is very close to the highway, but traffic and city noise don't bother us, so we were fine with that.
It is a little ways out of the town of Thames, but not a very far drive. There is a computer in the lobby/office area, free for customer use.

We were only there for one night, but would recommend this motel for anyone who is going to be in Thames, or like us, just passing through.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OConnorGoldwingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We had indicated to Raewyn that we would be arriving early and asked to leave our bags.
I couldn't believe that she had our room ready after having a full house the night before!
They even offered to drop us to the racecourse up the road.
Excellent customer service - very friendly. Cute little cotton ball dogs for entertainment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. Lovely motel - very clean

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Hotel room and owners were fine but we found it to near a noisy main road.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coromandel Peninsula hotels
0.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
114 reviews
19.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shortland Court Motel
Shortland Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Thames
46 reviews
27 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
352 reviews
27.3 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Thames Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Thames Motel

Address: 104 Jellicoe Crescent | PO Box 539, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Coromandel Peninsula
Price Range: $80 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Thames Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon Thames Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing