We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Restaurant in Manizales” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of il forno

il forno
Ranked #12 of 151 Restaurants in Manizales
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manizales, Colombia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Manizales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I have been to this restaurant probably 50 times in the 7 years I lived here. Great pasta and pizzas. It's beautiful inside and they have recently added an outdoor covered dining area with heat lamps and a fabulous view of the city.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank williamgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tried this restaurant as a result of review on Trip Advisor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Having written a review of Spago, a great restaurant in Manizales, I saw the review of Il Forno so I thought I'd give it a try.
As the name implies the courses are mostly Italian and there is a large menu of choices.
As mentioned in previous reviews the prices are very reasonable and as I don't drink alcohol I can't comment on the wines.
The decor is based on a rustic theme and the restaurant is quite large. The servers are attentive and food preparation time is reasonable. The restaurant is set on a hill ( what place in Manizales isn't) overlooking the eastern part of the city and the local military garrison ( el batallon). It has a spectacular view from it's patio of the mountains to the south of the city.
My wife had the Ensalada Teriyaki which was ok but lacked enough teriyaki sauce. I had the Pasta Carbonara which was rich, creamy, tasty and, for me, the right sized portion.
I would definitely go there again.
In defense of the Teriyaki salad, I'm told that we Canadians are known as "sauce people" who like all kinds of sauces and lots of it so that may account for my wife's not great rating of the salad.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Colombia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Delicious... like the ones in Medellin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I've been a fan of these restaurants since some years ago, and have to say this one in Manizales is also a great option. The value is unbeatable (9 - 14 US dollars for any plate) eve for Colombian standards.

Great pasta and pizza, but also very good beef, chicken and fish /pasta combos. The wine selection is not as great, but I'd say it's good enough.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Good value and good food. The pasta carbonara was excellent. Would recommend.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Italian Food...sort of.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife is a vegetarian and from time to time on our trip she got a little frustrated with the standard Colombian cuisine. The hotel recommended a visit to this Italian restaurant close to the stadium and "up-scale" areas of Manizales.

The food was okay. It seemed that they were working with limited ingredients or something. As if being the one of the few Italian restaurants in town made it difficult to get the right type of food. I had Carbonara, and it wasn't quite right. I'll admit that part of the problem might be my own American sensibility as to what Italian food should be and taste like.

At any rate, the food is good enough, and the restaurant offers a nice diversion from the standard Colombian cuisine. The service was quite effective as they use a buzzer service, which allows you to beckon wait staff by a punch of a button. Efficient. It should also be noted that the place seemed to have a wonderful view off the back patio.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abstractpablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il forno also viewed

Manizales, Caldas Department
Manizales, Caldas Department
 
Manizales, Caldas Department
Manizales, Caldas Department
 
Manizales, Caldas Department
 

Been to il forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing