We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee tour & a nights stay in the hostel.....fantastic!”

Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia
Ranked #7 of 56 things to do in Manizales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Betwen Medellin and Salento Located 20 minutes away from manizales, Hacienda Venecia is a working coffee farm with the intention of providing an educational and informative experience of both the coffee making process as well as coffee farm life. Whilst sharing our coffee knowledge it is important and valuable for the local community to be inspired by the worldwide experiences your visit brings. Also we offer accomodation in a Hostel, Guest House and in Main House fiting all bugets, with meals and open kitchen, swimming pool, Coffee book library, WIFI, hammocks, games, honesty bar, perfect place for hiking in coffee plantations.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the hostel but if you have time i would recommend staying 2. The coffee tour starts at 9:30 & goes for roughly 3 hours. The guide is very informative & it definitely gave me a new appreciation for the work behind my daily cup...or 3!!
The only criticism i have of the tour itself is that we had quite a large group...all english speakers & 3 spanish speakers. the guide did a very good job but he had no choice but to repeat the tour in both spanish & english which made it drag on a bit.
We stayed at the hostel & the food & staff were fantastic. If you have a bit more cash though i would definitely have preferred to stay in the 'main house' for a bit more luxury. We may return one day to do just that!!

1  Thank MRudd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your comments. We understand fully your frustration with regards to the English and the Spanish speaking on the same tour. It is most unusual for this to happen as we offer two tours, one in the morning that is in English and one in the afternoon that is in Spanish. We hope you decide to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beans"
in 17 reviews
"coffee tour"
in 35 reviews
"swimming pool"
in 6 reviews
"an option"
in 3 reviews
"colorful birds"
in 3 reviews
"whole process"
in 3 reviews
"various types"
in 3 reviews
"perfect place"
in 3 reviews
"make your own"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 7 reviews
"production process"
in 2 reviews
"on site"
in 3 reviews
"large group"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"plantation"
in 15 reviews
"hostel"
in 24 reviews
"farm"
in 32 reviews
Filter

105 - 109 of 214 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We have seen coffee farms and production all over the world. But we found this one very interesting, especially. Our guide explained and showed a lot and as we could taste, touch, smell and try different things it was an integrated experience. We have also been walking through parts of the big fields and have seen the factory including different processes.

The lunch is not included but it was inexpensive and good value. We had a very delicious soup, fresh juice, freshly made lemonade, sweets and coffee. The whole place is beautiful. Little colorful birds are flying around and the pool is a nice treat after a warm day. If you can, stay there for one night or two.

Thank Jumarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We greatly appreciate your feedback and are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Hacienda Venecia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Do this if it is the only coffee related tourism you do in Colombia. It is outstanding value for money, professional, well organised and a great way to spend four or five hours in stunning surroundings learning about Colombia's important export.

I didn't stay here but I would recommend doing so having seen the quality of accommodation and the beauty of the finca.

John Mather
London

1  Thank Johnmather79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you very much indeed for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the coffee tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We with my boyfriend found this tour in late evening and called the number written here at 10 pm. Juan said he will pick up us (we lived not in hotel, was hard to find us) at 8:30 and drive us to the hacienda. So, early in the morning was a car with other tourists and the owner - Juan was as a driver, fluent english and french (what is very rare thing even between tour companies in Lat America). We were driven through a center of the city, so it is a kinda small city tour, the view was amazing. And after 20 min ride we were in the plantation and tour started. A guy in english and french told us as much info as we could get and gave answer to all our questions. The thing i liked- if didn't know the answer he just said he don't know or made a good joke. The excursion was from 9 to 13. And during all that time there was only useful information without any annoying promotions of their products, like other plantations do. I was completely relaxed and on positive wave. At 13 was lunch in a very beautiful terrace with flying humming-bird (colibri) around. The lunch was traditional colombian and very tasty, definitely suggest to try it.
Price- for tour and lunch we paid 46. 000 pesos (tour 35.000, lunch 11.000) per person. At 11 of august it is around 23 US dollars.
And one very nice thing- they asked as for passports, because no-colombian residents, do not have to pay VAT tax. So we paid a little less, that actually a coins, but as a business attitude is amazing.
I personally had a big pleasure to stay at this place, because i almost physically felt the respect to me as a customer. The highest level of service in Colombia by far. And open wi fi network at lunch zone.

1  Thank Anasta_c_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your feedback, and for writing so much. We are really pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The tour was just so fascinating. We were made very welcome by the team at Venecia. We were given a fascinating talk about the history of coffee growing, and the techniques of harvesting and roasting. We also learned about coffees from around the world and found out why the coffee we had been drinking in Columbia was so poor. The whole thing was delivered with humour and lots of fun interaction. And of course we got to sample some absolutely stunning coffee.
then we had a walk around the plantation, a ride in a jeep and finished off with a delicious lunch at the beautiful hacienda.
This visit was a highlight of my trip to Colombia. The team at Venecia were fantastic, the visit itself was interesting and the location was fantastic.I would highly recommend it.

Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Wow! Thank you very much indeed for your feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia also viewed

Manizales, Caldas Department
Manizales, Caldas Department
 
Manizales, Caldas Department
Manizales, Caldas Department
 

Been to Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing