We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see in Colombia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia

Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia
Ranked #6 of 51 things to do in Manizales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Betwen Medellin and Salento Located 20 minutes away from manizales, Hacienda Venecia is a working coffee farm with the intention of providing an educational and informative experience of both the coffee making process as well as coffee farm life. Whilst sharing our coffee knowledge it is important and valuable for the local community to be inspired by the worldwide experiences your visit brings. Also we offer accomodation in a Hostel, Guest House and in Main House fiting all bugets, with meals and open kitchen, swimming pool, Coffee book library, WIFI, hammocks, games, honesty bar, perfect place for hiking in coffee plantations.
Siam Reap
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must see in Colombia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We with my boyfriend found this tour in late evening and called the number written here at 10 pm. Juan said he will pick up us (we lived not in hotel, was hard to find us) at 8:30 and drive us to the hacienda. So, early in the morning was a car with other tourists and the owner - Juan was as a driver, fluent english and french (what is very rare thing even between tour companies in Lat America). We were driven through a center of the city, so it is a kinda small city tour, the view was amazing. And after 20 min ride we were in the plantation and tour started. A guy in english and french told us as much info as we could get and gave answer to all our questions. The thing i liked- if didn't know the answer he just said he don't know or made a good joke. The excursion was from 9 to 13. And during all that time there was only useful information without any annoying promotions of their products, like other plantations do. I was completely relaxed and on positive wave. At 13 was lunch in a very beautiful terrace with flying humming-bird (colibri) around. The lunch was traditional colombian and very tasty, definitely suggest to try it.
Price- for tour and lunch we paid 46. 000 pesos (tour 35.000, lunch 11.000) per person. At 11 of august it is around 23 US dollars.
And one very nice thing- they asked as for passports, because no-colombian residents, do not have to pay VAT tax. So we paid a little less, that actually a coins, but as a business attitude is amazing.
I personally had a big pleasure to stay at this place, because i almost physically felt the respect to me as a customer. The highest level of service in Colombia by far. And open wi fi network at lunch zone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anasta_c_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave your feedback, and for writing so much. We are really pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    46
    9
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I never knew coffee could be so interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The tour was just so fascinating. We were made very welcome by the team at Venecia. We were given a fascinating talk about the history of coffee growing, and the techniques of harvesting and roasting. We also learned about coffees from around the world and found out why the coffee we had been drinking in Columbia was so poor. The whole thing was delivered with humour and lots of fun interaction. And of course we got to sample some absolutely stunning coffee.
then we had a walk around the plantation, a ride in a jeep and finished off with a delicious lunch at the beautiful hacienda.
This visit was a highlight of my trip to Colombia. The team at Venecia were fantastic, the visit itself was interesting and the location was fantastic.I would highly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Wow! Thank you very much indeed for your feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Coffee Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I went with three friends of mine just to do the Coffee Tour.
The guide was really friendly and nice, explained us a lot of things and took us around. The tour took more time, than it was supposed to, which was very nice.
We really enjoyed it and wanna come back for staying a weekend at the Hacienda.
In the fee (I think it was 35.000 COP), the transport from Manizales was included, as well as the tour itself, coffee as well as juice.

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wake up and Make the Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great day among the coffee plants and machinery and luxurious hacienda grounds. My Spanish isn´t great so the English translation was much appreciated. Apart from the tour and trying some aromas and tastes of the coffee world, I indulged in some lunch at the cafe and the food and service was fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the coffee tour and the scenery here at Hacienda Venecia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and very interesting coffee tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I spent three wonderful days in April 2013 at the Hacienda Venecia and I can strongly recommend it to anyone looking for some relax. The place is beatiful and very quite, there is a nice garden and a good pool. The staff was very nice and helpful, the food was excellent. And the coffee tour was really interesting, we had a good walk through the coffee fields and the whole coffee process was well explained. Now I know a lot more about coffee than before !

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Fede2109187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HACIENDAVENECIA, Guest Relations Manager at Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the coffee tour and the tranquility of Hacienda Venecia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia also viewed

Manizales, Caldas Department
Manizales, Caldas Department
 
Manizales, Caldas Department
Manizales, Caldas Department
 

Been to Coffee Tour Hacienda Venecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing