We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can have more for the same money in resorts neraby”
Review of Vila Gale Mares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Mares
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camacari
Certificate of Excellence
Santos, SP
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You can have more for the same money in resorts neraby”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The pool area facing the beach , in polinisian style it's gorgeous. You will spend most of your time for sure around there. By night , the low light recquired for the turtles procreation allows you to see a million stars, very romantic.
The hotel starts to feel the age, the rooms need new televisions and furniture , the bathroom ceiling new painting and we could use more acoustic protection, since through the walls you can hear everithing that happens in your neighboor, wich can be a little bit stressfull if you have a light sleep.
The buffet food it's above average , and it's my personal opnion that it's possible improve with a little bit more of imagination. You can have dinner in other restaurants a few times , but booking it's very burocratic. It's a shame because those restaurants have enormous potential, and I would not mind to pay an extra fee to have my meals every night on then, but it's not possible by the resort policy.
But what really disapoint it's the low quality of the service and the amateur staff.
Bell boys careless, the concierge impatient, , the employes at the buffets are unfriendly and sometimes rude.
The reception could be more efficient in the briefing time, in the check in, and a warm reception it's the key to make us , the guests , satisfied. You know what people say about the first impression!
Nevertheless , you may enjoy a nice staying, but keep in mind, for this kind of service , the value it's overpriced, and a feel miles away you have similar resorts, equaly beautifull, some of them several years "younger", with better food and similar prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos Alonso G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    1,234
    500
    174
    101
See reviews for
1,869
774
10
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was in 2007 on the very first year of the Hotel that I first stayed there on the new years eve.
I cannot say anything else apart from memorable!
All included is a trully all included with imense quality. The beach is one of the best, the accommodation very good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

In spite of the other reviews, this hotel really surprised me. I stayed there for 6 days with my wife and 2 years son.
I stayed in the superior room close to the sea. A very pleasant place to stay while not by the pool or sea.Comfortable and cosy. Its possible to stare at the ocean from your bed.
The staff was very friendly and there s an excellent infrastructure when travelling with kids.
The beach is clean, very beautiful and I could say only for the hotel guests.
The only down side is that the food and drinks does not mert the same standard of the hotel infrastructure. The baby kitchen is poor, no microwave and not so many choices for your kid.
All in all a good plave to stay and I will certainly come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrasiliaBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel have been excellent. The staff is very friendly and they have everything for babies and infants. My twins with almost 6 months can have soap made for babies and they have a special space for the kids. The pool is awesome.
The only negative item is they charge for the internet access which has no reason to pay for that as the 3G coverage is excellent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A fantastic villa, plenty of space, we went with 6 adults and a child and we did not feel we were living on top of each other. Lovely outside living space. Very close to beach and a supermarket that sold everything you could possibly need was in walking distance. Just brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank SueW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our room was dirty and several of the appointments did not work. On our last night the air côn gave up! After two hour some one came to look at it. He advised us that it was broken and COULD not be fixed. After attemts to get some one sort our problems we where told we would have to chance rooms now át. 10 oclock Pm.. To Call reception on average it would tale UP to 15mins on the phone.
The kids Play áreas where full of poorly maintained slides and swings. Cables with loose wires, wood that was splintered amongst many other details.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_dhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Mares, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Google Translation
Prezado Sr.Ian Dhill

Primeiramente gostaria de agradecer os comentarios sobre a sua estada no Vila Gale Mares.

O nosso objectivo é servir cada vez melhor os nossos clientes,excedendo sempre que possivel as suas expectativas,por isso os seus comentarios sao preciosos e ajudam-nos a corrigir eventuais deficiencias e a melhorar o nivel dos nossos serviços, que pretendemos seja excelente.

Seus comentarios servirão para uma analise séria e comprometida do nosso Staff, em busca de corrigir a nossa prestaçao de serviço no futuro.

Gratos pela atençao dispensada , esperamos sinceramente tê-lo numa proxima oportunidade em um dos nossos hoteis no Brasil ou em Portugal,

Atenciosamente,

Maria João Baptista
Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mk
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This place is 100%, loved it and the food was amazing!! totally ejoyed our holiday and would love to return here..

Rooms are great sized, beds feel like heaven!! and chocolates and flowers on the beds in the evening make it very special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matsy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camacari
21.8 mi away
Bahia Plaza Hotel
Bahia Plaza Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abrantes
343 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
719 reviews
12.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
6,066 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sauipe Resorts
Sauipe Resorts
#2 of 3 in Costa Do Sauipe
6,410 reviews
19.6 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#4 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Mares

Property: Vila Gale Mares
Address: Praia de Guarajuba | Guarajuba, Camacari, State of Bahia 42820-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Camacari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camacari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vila Gale Mares 4.5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is located beside the beautiful beach of Guarajuba and is 42 km from Salvador (Bahia) International Airport and 12 km south of Praia do Forte beach. The building is an exotic project utilising exclusively native materials and profiting from the magnificent tropical landscape, the lush vegetation surrounding lakes, a lagoon, and a 460 m long private beach (with lifeguard and security). Surrounded by sprawling gardens, this air-conditioned beach hotel with security has a total of 447 rooms, of which 352 standard rooms, 74 chalets, 18 superior chalets and 3 master chalets. The impressive lobby offers guests a 24-hour reception desk and a hotel safe. Facilities on offer here include four shops, three bars and three restaurants. Guests may also take advantage of the library, the business centre with an Internet connection, and a conference room. The laundry service completes the offerings, and parking is available for those guests arriving by car. The comfortable rooms all come with an en suite bathroom with shower, cosmetic mirror, and hairdryer, a direct dial telephone, an Internet connection, and satellite/ cable TV. Also provided as standard in every luxurious room is individually adjustable air conditioning, a minibar, a hire safe, and a balcony or terrace. There is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with loungers and parasols laid out ready for use within the hotel grounds. There is also Jacuzzi for guests to unwind in. Guests searching Spa treatments may visit Satsanga Spa composed with a set of infrastructures composed by a gym, heated indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Vichy shower, massages and treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Mares Camacari
Vila Gale Mares Bahia/Camacari, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing