We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa Mare Gale Portugal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Mares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vila Gale Mares
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Camacari
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Villa Mare Gale Portugal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

A fantastic villa, plenty of space, we went with 6 adults and a child and we did not feel we were living on top of each other. Lovely outside living space. Very close to beach and a supermarket that sold everything you could possibly need was in walking distance. Just brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank SueW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    1,162
    471
    169
    96
See reviews for
1,722
719
9
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our room was dirty and several of the appointments did not work. On our last night the air côn gave up! After two hour some one came to look at it. He advised us that it was broken and COULD not be fixed. After attemts to get some one sort our problems we where told we would have to chance rooms now át. 10 oclock Pm.. To Call reception on average it would tale UP to 15mins on the phone.
The kids Play áreas where full of poorly maintained slides and swings. Cables with loose wires, wood that was splintered amongst many other details.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_dhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Mares, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Google Translation
Prezado Sr.Ian Dhill

Primeiramente gostaria de agradecer os comentarios sobre a sua estada no Vila Gale Mares.

O nosso objectivo é servir cada vez melhor os nossos clientes,excedendo sempre que possivel as suas expectativas,por isso os seus comentarios sao preciosos e ajudam-nos a corrigir eventuais deficiencias e a melhorar o nivel dos nossos serviços, que pretendemos seja excelente.

Seus comentarios servirão para uma analise séria e comprometida do nosso Staff, em busca de corrigir a nossa prestaçao de serviço no futuro.

Gratos pela atençao dispensada , esperamos sinceramente tê-lo numa proxima oportunidade em um dos nossos hoteis no Brasil ou em Portugal,

Atenciosamente,

Maria João Baptista
Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

This place is 100%, loved it and the food was amazing!! totally ejoyed our holiday and would love to return here..

Rooms are great sized, beds feel like heaven!! and chocolates and flowers on the beds in the evening make it very special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matsy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We were into a family sort of bvacaton trip. we total 6 people. Once you are at the Vila Galé you can forget everything else. There is nothing to be concerned with. Enjoy the beach (alittle bit windy on the occasion), the sun, the drinks and the people.

Room Tip: The hotel is very large as any other resort in the region. Try to get rooms near the reception of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PELLEZZANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

It´s a nice hotel with a good swimming pool but it´s not a five star hotel or a resort. It is focused on quantity and not quality. The employees are friendly but not oriented to the consumers need. The bar stop´s at 1 AM and the hotel does not have enough animation, probably because it seemed to me that they were more oriented to families programs.
The food isn´t bad but it far from the usual “resort” style, with several meals similar during the week. In the bar I also noticed that they have a small menu and lack off choices.
The Hotel it´s a little far from any cultural and shopping areas but they have several programs that we can do thought agencies that operate in the area but they seemed a little expensive.
They have an ATM machine but it´s wasn´t working, a problem that we should be solved in the interest of the gests.
In resume - not bad – specially concerning the relation between the quality and the price but it´s far from being a FIVE STAR hotel according to the European standards.

Room Tip: Rooms far from the pool probably are better because of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atrigueiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I and my father stayed at this hotel for 4 days during december 2011. In fact, it is not a five star hotel or a resort. They just have a big swimming pool and nothing more. Staff is enable to give a reasonable service. Food is focused in quantity and not quality. During the weekend they giv promotion and the hotel is crowded with guest whose intention is just eat and drink until the death

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rdpiovezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaragua Do Sul, SC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Well, I had a discouraging experience at this hotel.
The hotel had been recommended by two couples of friends who have stayed there years ago. They spoke wonders of the hotel. My family and I decided to get our vacation here.
First arrived before check in and we could not use the hotel facilities or common areas before the start time of check-in. I was very hungry and there was nothing to eat before check in started. I had to wait five hours.
The place is decadent, the furniture of the rooms are old, they are broken, releasing the walls. The garden is poorly maintained, and the soccer field, park, library, nightclub, games room, etc.. The pool deserves a special chapter as many tiles missing and the remaining are falling all the time inclusive may cause injury.
The beach chairs are torn. The food is bad. For dinner the two decent restaurants, you need to book each day and the number of places is limited.
The hotel service is BAD.
One night I saw a cat eating in the buffet restaurant central.
Missing comfortable area, lack comfort, lack everything.
I will never return this place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gilzacarlafloriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camacari
21.8 mi away
Bahia Plaza Hotel
Bahia Plaza Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abrantes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
5.6 mi away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,748 reviews
12.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
#1 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Mares

Property: Vila Gale Mares
Address: Praia de Guarajuba | Guarajuba, Camacari, State of Bahia 42820-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Camacari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Camacari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vila Gale Mares 4.5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is located beside the beautiful beach of Guarajuba and is 42 km from Salvador (Bahia) International Airport and 12 km south of Praia do Forte beach. The building is an exotic project utilising exclusively native materials and profiting from the magnificent tropical landscape, the lush vegetation surrounding lakes, a lagoon, and a 460 m long private beach (with lifeguard and security). Surrounded by sprawling gardens, this air-conditioned beach hotel with security has a total of 447 rooms, of which 352 standard rooms, 74 chalets, 18 superior chalets and 3 master chalets. The impressive lobby offers guests a 24-hour reception desk and a hotel safe. Facilities on offer here include four shops, three bars and three restaurants. Guests may also take advantage of the library, the business centre with an Internet connection, and a conference room. The laundry service completes the offerings, and parking is available for those guests arriving by car. The comfortable rooms all come with an en suite bathroom with shower, cosmetic mirror, and hairdryer, a direct dial telephone, an Internet connection, and satellite/ cable TV. Also provided as standard in every luxurious room is individually adjustable air conditioning, a minibar, a hire safe, and a balcony or terrace. There is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with loungers and parasols laid out ready for use within the hotel grounds. There is also Jacuzzi for guests to unwind in. Guests searching Spa treatments may visit Satsanga Spa composed with a set of infrastructures composed by a gym, heated indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Vichy shower, massages and treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Vila Gale Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Mares Camacari
Vila Gale Mares Bahia/Camacari, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing