We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t go there until July 2011”
Review of Vila Gale Mares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Mares
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camacari
Certificate of Excellence
Uberaba, MG
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don´t go there until July 2011”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Excelent hotel with a friendly staff. The Nep club "uncles" and the "inevitavel" restaurant re fantastic!
If you can, pay a extra and stay in the "superior chalet", it´s another hotel, another life.
But you may NOT go there now, because the 2/3 of the pool are closed and the remaning part is with the floor broken. You can get injured there !!!
And of course, there are lot´s of workers not prepared to work in a resort, so you may became unconfortable... See my pictures
Only stay there if they give you a huge discount or if you don´t have another option.
Another HUGE disappointment: no free internet.

Room Tip: Daniela (manager), she´s a problem solvers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisRonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    1,234
    500
    174
    101
See reviews for
1,869
774
10
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

The structure is very good, wonderful view, nice beach, great pool, drinks and food was ok. The staff don't work happy, don't expect to be served at the restaurant. There is too many guests, and only few people working and the staff is not well trained. The room is great, and the hotel have many options to relax and have fun.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olasBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We, 2 adults + 3 year old + 8 month old, enjoyed this place for three full days.
The resort itself is very nice with a swimming pool half the size of a football field. There are many bungalows with the hotel rooms on the outskirts, a bit far from the center. Nevertheless, the resort does not give you the fake, made-in-Hollywood, feel of some other All Inclusive resorts. The beach is nice - the hotel does not supply beds and umbrellas – they are available on the grass a few meters behind the beach. The waves are pretty strong there so swimming is difficult but you can take a 10 min stroll on the beach to calm waters protected by natural rocks.
The room was large although with the king size bed + extra bed + crib it did become a bit tight. One con was that there was no bath which made washing the kids a bit challenging.
Food was good – not gourmet but good as far as mass production All Inclusives are concerned. The service was good (unlike what we read in other reviews): took care of our luggage, let us stay for an extra late check out, we changed beach towels about 6 times a day… Entertainment was down-to-earth, unlike the cheesy stuff we encountered in other resorts – no loud techno at the pool but rather fun Brazilian music. The wet bar and the bar near the reception gave excellent efficient service. The entertainment was also more relaxed and less low quality “shows” – they had a Samba band (i.e. a real band, not the regular staff dressed up, etc.).
Since our kids were too young for the mini-club we can’t really comment on the quality of its staff. There weren’t as many toys as we had expected to find.
Overall, a great place and while not really “authentic” it was a tad more authentic than other resorts that resemble neighborhoods manufactured at Hollywood… The hotel was far from full capacity when we were there, which may or may not explain the availability and good quality of all the services.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tres barras
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Not a good hotel, there are many others much much better than this hotel for the same price, the staff is unpreppared and they have a rude way to treat the guests, the towels politics is horrible, u can only use one towel a day if ur towel is wet in the morning u have to use the same in the afternoon... if ur comming to Brasil for vacation dont choose this hotel, go to Iberostar that is just about 2 miles from this hotel and is much better.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarikkouba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We were very impressed with this hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and booked at the last minute, and so got a virtually half price deal. We didn't realize that all food and drinks were included in the price, so this was an extra bonus on our arrival! Our room was extremely comfortable, with a 7 ft bed and a balcony with hammock looking across to the sea and palms. The hotel was not full, and we easily found sunbeds within the trees overlooking the beach, or by the enormous pools at any time of day. The beach is naturally beautiful, with a long stretch of white sand fringed by tall palms, and the sea is clear and warm. The hotel is placed in the middle of mangroves and far from any built up areas, so quite unspoilt.
The buffet was varied every day with a huge choice of delicious fresh fruits and salads and local dishes, sometimes they had themes eg 'Italian night', and as much beer/wine as you wanted. The entertainment was very good (I usually hate hotel entertainment) there was a local band and dancers one night, and a samba class, very relaxed and fun on another evening.
The hotel staff were courteous and the hotel spotlessly clean, it was obviously under very good management. However, if we had paid full price for this hotel, it probably would have been verging on a little expensive!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenelopeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I'm writing in my last night on Vila Gales Mares. The place is fantastic, but the services are terrible. This is a class on how to make a wonderful place in a terrible vacations. First the all inclusive must be called all "same bad food everyday" inclusive. If I go to Bahia I want to eat the fantastic regional food, but they have almost everyday the same choices of a bad tasting food and no Bahia food at all. Since they will "not" charge for the food or drinks they don't have enouth people to serve you. In the main restaurant just a few waiters that you have to be very luck to get their attention. In the swiming pool forget it. If you want something to drink you have to cross the big pool to fight for a caipirinha. In the bar they have 2 bar tenders for 200 people. In the pool restaurant they have one more. Or you can self serve your soda or draft beer on plastic glasses.
In the swimming pool we learned in the first morning that we must use our 5 months baby as the time keeper to run for a chair. When he wake up first in the morning we run to mark a chair with something, Do you thing 7 am is early? At that time maybe 50% the best ones are already marked. They don´t have enouth to all.
We stayed on a chalet looking for more privacity and silence specialy during the night. But each chalet has two apartments and the acustic is perfect. One night my wife asked to turn off the tv, she didn't realized that I already turned it off 5 minutes before and the sound cames from the other apartment. You can hear and participate on everything happening with your neibor.
The Kids Club is another fake! Take care with you are planning to travel with kids. My 5 years old boy asked to not stay there. Even if in the pictures you can see a beatiful area for the kids they have only two people to take care of them and they stay most of the time in front of a TV. To stay in front of the TV I can stay at home!!!
They have two "a la carte" restaurants that you must make a reservation. Take care because in one of them you must dress pants even if you are in a tropical resort. And the funiest thing is if you have a old, dirt pants is ok.

So if you are planning to came to this wonderful place (one of the most beatiful places in the world) look for another resort. Three stars for this is too much. I've been in two star hotels with better services than here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belluco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Hi people! Well, we've been to quite a few resorts in Brazil and abroad and I thought I'd take the time to write about this one.
----Location----
The place is far far away from anything that resembles a city. So you really have no choice but to use the hotel services.
The place though is absolutely gorgeous! Really pretty with a nice look to it. And the swimming pool has got the be the largest I've ever seen in a Hotel.
At night, it gets beautiful but quite dark tho as the lamps are few and rather weak for the spots.
----Rooms----
Rooms were clean and rather big, but nothing extraordinary as a resort like that should have. The bath is very good. A bad thing is the buildings have 2 floors but there is no elevator! So I had to take the stairs everytime - including at the checkin, since they had nobody to take my luggage.
---Food----
Food is all inclusive, but very blend and really average. Interestingly enough, the hotel DOES NOT HAVE ROOM SERVICE! And to make matters worse, the rooms are very far from the two restaurants (a 5-minute walk,at least) and also the location doesn't have any other choices of restaurants.
---Service---
Terrible service.
1. No one to carry our bags even though the hotel is HUGE
2. No Room service available
3. Despite the high pricing, Internet access isn't included! You have to pay extra for it, and trust me,it isn't cheap
4. Bar serving was painfully slow
5. Mess up at the checkout, almost had to pay extra because of their mistake

All in all, I think I would not return there.Too high priced. There are better resorts in the area (like the Iberostar) at the same price range and with way better service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0d_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camacari
21.8 mi away
Bahia Plaza Hotel
Bahia Plaza Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abrantes
343 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
719 reviews
12.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
6,066 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sauipe Resorts
Sauipe Resorts
#2 of 3 in Costa Do Sauipe
6,410 reviews
19.6 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#4 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Mares

Property: Vila Gale Mares
Address: Praia de Guarajuba | Guarajuba, Camacari, State of Bahia 42820-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Camacari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camacari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vila Gale Mares 4.5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is located beside the beautiful beach of Guarajuba and is 42 km from Salvador (Bahia) International Airport and 12 km south of Praia do Forte beach. The building is an exotic project utilising exclusively native materials and profiting from the magnificent tropical landscape, the lush vegetation surrounding lakes, a lagoon, and a 460 m long private beach (with lifeguard and security). Surrounded by sprawling gardens, this air-conditioned beach hotel with security has a total of 447 rooms, of which 352 standard rooms, 74 chalets, 18 superior chalets and 3 master chalets. The impressive lobby offers guests a 24-hour reception desk and a hotel safe. Facilities on offer here include four shops, three bars and three restaurants. Guests may also take advantage of the library, the business centre with an Internet connection, and a conference room. The laundry service completes the offerings, and parking is available for those guests arriving by car. The comfortable rooms all come with an en suite bathroom with shower, cosmetic mirror, and hairdryer, a direct dial telephone, an Internet connection, and satellite/ cable TV. Also provided as standard in every luxurious room is individually adjustable air conditioning, a minibar, a hire safe, and a balcony or terrace. There is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with loungers and parasols laid out ready for use within the hotel grounds. There is also Jacuzzi for guests to unwind in. Guests searching Spa treatments may visit Satsanga Spa composed with a set of infrastructures composed by a gym, heated indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Vichy shower, massages and treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Mares Camacari
Vila Gale Mares Bahia/Camacari, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing