We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay - but won't be back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Okay - but won't be back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Let me preface this review by saying that we follow the Trip Advisor reviews very closely - and did prior to booking at Coconut Bay. We have traveled to Cayo Coco, Bahamas, and Punta Cana before. This was our first trip to St. Lucia.
In terms of the location I loved that it was literally 2 minutes from the airport. It was fantastic. We would see maybe 4 planes a day pass overhead - only on take off - but it was great for the kids! They were all in awe hearing the plane go overhead and looking up.
I thought the beach was great! It's not a typical Caribean Sea beach but is unspoiled, the water is warmer than the pool and you can walk for a few miles. Yes there is seaweed - but it's JUST seaweed!!! The ocean was never too rough that you couldn't swim in it - there are no other hotels near by, no beach vendors, just nice and peaceful.
My biggest complaint about the resort was that it was dirty. The pool was not cleaned every morning, the sand would build up on the bottom. One morning we went down to the pool and there was a half eaten pork chop under my lounge chair....2 nights of the week they do dinner outside around the pool and it wasn't even a morning after one of those dinners, so no idea where that came from. All the tile could use a good scrub or power wash....Our room (on the Splash side) was nice, but dated. Our old 21" tv didn't have colour which was more concerning for our 3 year old. lol.
We were only to have our room cleaned twice during the week. We were in room #301 which is the first room on the 3rd level - the last room the maid cleans. We would come up to the room at 3pm so our son could have a rest before dinner and she'd still be 3 rooms away. I went down to the front desk to ask if she could come before 2:30pm. They said "No problem" ...The next morning she was there at 9:30am, then back to after 4pm the following day.
The food was good - for me probably one of the highlights. We ate all our lunches at the grill or the outdoor barbecue which were both great. The Italian was good, and the buffets were great too. There was a ton of variety and something for everyone.
The staff was good, not overly personable, but nice all the same. The worst staff I found at the front desk. definitely didn't want to go the extra mile to help out....
One of my other major complaints is that this resort is really under staffed. On our second day we went to the pool bar and had to wait at least 1/2 hour for a drink every time we went up. It was a nightmare. They had 2 people working when they should have had 4. Our first buffet breakfast nobody even came around with coffee. We asked twice and still, nobody.
Our son didn't want to go to the kids club, but I heard great things about it! the kids that went got a free t-shirt, hat, water bottle and bag. So worthwhile for your child to go even for 1/2 hour.
It's a good resort for kids because of the zero entry pool, and water slides. Our son loved having cotton candy everyday!!!
We are very laid back, and it really takes quite a bit to bother us. We had a good trip, the island is beautiful, and will definitely return to St. Lucia, but not to Coconut Bay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,909
    1,670
    439
    154
    111
See reviews for
2,166
1,801
65
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Unbelivable vacation. 8 of us arrived on January 10 after an exhausting 5 minute drive from the airport to be greeted in the lobby with a glass of champagne. All in all, a great trip and kudos to the following staff:
Trevor (Mosquito Man) who kept me bite free all week
Loan and Small J at the adult pool
Stingray at the lobby bar
Lindon and Clinton with Security
Julius and Michael - 2 top rate professionals who arranged our awesome excursions, Land & Sea and private charter with Captain Ricky (2-8 people) who is located in Vieux Fort. Food was excellent all week with good variety - special thanks to Mary (the egg lady)
Theme nights were entertaining and the C&W singer is the best this side of Nashville. All of us agreed that we will be returning next January.
Rock on coconut soldiers!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This hotel is good for both families and couples but don't expect a beautiful beach because it's on the atlantic side so its very windy most of the time and the beach is covered in seaweed. Also it's miles from any of the bigger villages and towns. However, there is loads to do in the hotel, the kidz club is great, the cocktails are awesome and the spa very relaxing although I wouldn't recommend having a massage on the beach as you'll get blown away!
Overall a really good holiday but next time we'll go to the caribbean side of the island.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossie94England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown,NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

The Coconut Bay Resort was a very enjoyable vacation for my family. I think I am the one with more critical views as opposed to the rest of my family. By the time we were checked in and had drink in hand it was approximately 10 minutes - I kid you not. It is that close to the airport. It's also very far from activities - at least a 30 minute ride to anything which is okay. It gives you a look at the rest of the island. The staff is phenominal. My biggest gripe was with our room. The end tables were stained with nail polish and coffee,the lamps were from the 80s,the shades were yellow from age, the tv was also very old and the picture tube (yes I said picture tube) was fading. I think they give the nicer rooms to the honeymooners. The shower head in the bathroom kept falling down, the door did not fit in the doorframe causing hot air to get into the room causing severe condensation on the tile floor. We had to keep a towel down the entire time so as not to slip and fall. The bed spread was only a blanket. I did not try to change rooms because my family were exhausted and it didn't both them. The room was cleaned everyday. The resort had some construction going on but they kept the noise to a minimum. It only proves that they are making improvements which is never a bad thing. There was entertainment every night with a different theme and a night club. There are two restaurants but men need long pants. My husband and son did not have long pants so we had to eat at the buffet every night. Not bad but it's not air conditioned either. It is all open air. The food was decent. This is not a 5 star resort remember. There is a tour desk in the lobby. Don't wait, try to make your arrangements shortly after your arrival. Not all tours are offered everyday and you may miss out on something. On the whole this was a very nice family resort and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weluvtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

What an awesome resort beautiful close to airport
staff was great
beach a little rough
staff was so friendly we cant wait to go back again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrymcpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This was our second visit to Coconut bay and it didnt dissapoint it was just as lovely as our first time, the staff are all so friendly and can not do enough to help, our room was upgraded to the top floor so we had fantastic views of the ocean it was clean and bright and very spacious. The food was lovely and plently of it and a good choice from the two restaurants upstairs to the coconut walk buffett not forgetting the beachside grill. It was my husbands 40th birthday while we were there and they made a lovely cake and champagne , anyone who pays a visit here will not be dissapointed there is so much going on you dont need to leave but there is also plenty of relaxation time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We decided on Coconut Bay initially because of the price, couldn't afford resorts on other side of the island. We quickly discovered the location was a plus, while others grumbled at the airport about their 1-1/2 hr trip to their hotels, we were delighted knowing we would be sipping on our drinks in as little as 10 minutes. The strength of this resort lies in the great people that work there. Our first memorable encounter was with Ozzy our bartender. She showed us the Lucian Love right away, wanting to know what brought us to the island and then going out of her way to live up to our dreamy expectations. We met so many enthusiastic and helpful people that work at Coconut Bay. They were genuine, not the kind that are over the top to get the tip like so many other resort people can be. They simply loved making you smile and be happy. They encourage you to explore all the island has to offer by giving you a $250 room credit to use for various island activities, spa or gift shop. All of the tour guides/operators we met were great. Harmony Premium ocean view room was spotless with a great view, food was always varied so in 7 days you didn't get bored. We didn't eat expecting the food to taste like home, we ate what was freshly prepared - and every piece of fish was amazing! Definately value for the dollar while still making you feel like you are in an island paradise - which you are!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen123649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
12.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
20.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
22.0 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
22.3 mi away
East Winds Inn
East Winds Inn
#1 of 14 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: PO Box 246, Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, 4 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing