We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The resort was 5-10 minutes from the airport and when we got there we were greeted by an employee given a private checkin and a walk around the resort. Oh ya forgot the rum punch and cold towel !!!! The resort has an adult only side and side for family and children. We had the best of both worlds, slides, lazy river or just hammocks, bar and lounge chairs. There was no issue at al with being so close to airport. The beach was awesome not over crowded at all and we were not bother by venders if we didn't want to be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Kim...Thanks for your review and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay...come back and see us again soon!

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,096 - 3,102 of 6,266 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hi There,

this is a little late....

My wife and I as well as our kids (3 kids between 8 and 16) just spent 2 weeks in this lovely resort. We have been to many resorts in the past and there are many things that we really liked about coconut bay and a few things we were not crazy about.

1. Food - While there is not as large a selection of food as in other resorts, the food was excellent. Everything tasted fresh and did not get boring. Our only complaint was that there was not enough fresh fruit which is surprising for such a lush island. The "fancy" restaurants were quite good. The Calabash restaurant was our favorite and made an excellent steak. The selection of food choices at the Beach Grill at night was lacking. The pizzas during the day were quite good!

2. Bar - The drink choices in the various bars was excellent. The bars have a wide selection of mixed tropical drinks.

3. Beach/Pool - The waves are good. There was a lot of seaweed. They clean the seaweed off the beach every day. The pools are great. We loved the lazy river. There are always enough chairs around the pool and at the beach. This is the first resort we were ever at that actually had more chairs than people!

4. Night Time - While there was entertainment in the evenings, I would described it as Average overall. Once the show is over, however, there is little to do. There is an adults only club that one can go to. There is also food available in the evening. While quite good, I would have preferred some additional choices. Maybe keeping the pizza oven open at night would be a good idea. There are also 2 dinners per week that are served outside by the pool. Quite fun except for the wind.

5. Special events - we were at the resort for both Christmas and New Year’s. The food was excellent and the New Year’s event was amazing.

6. Electrical – Some people in their reviews complained that there were not enough 110v electrical outlets in the rooms. We had no issue in this regard. However, bringing a few 110-220v adapters may be worthwhile. Given that most electrical devices now have built in 110-220 there is no need for a heavy transformer.

7. Unexpected events - while we were in St. Lucia, there was a very severe tropical storm. While we at the hotel were relatively unaffected (no water for showers during the day to save water), several roads and bridges were destroyed and many people on the island lost their homes. The hotel did a great job of providing updates and information as to what was happening.

Overall, this was one of the best resorts that we stayed in over the last several years. We would highly recommend it. If going to St. Lucia, make sure you go on various tours. Zip lining was fun! We did horse back riding from the resort which allowed for excellent views, a trip to the Pitons is a must.

Room Tip: The hotel is just a few minutes from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Daveman...appreciate the review...better late than never right....We really appreciate the comments...The team pulled out all the stops for the New Years party and we are glad you appreciated it...The storm was indeed devastating and the will of the staff and community allowed for an amazing recovery...The spirit of the guests such as yourself who were in house really allowed for all of us to ensure a smooth couple of weeks.
We really do hope you come back and see us...we will be waiting

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here the first 2 weeks of March on our honeymoon.
Only 5 Mins from airport which was great. We was welcomed by Eric, who between him and Ken were superb throughout our stay and couldn't do enough for us.
The food in this resort is excellent, from the buffet to all three al a cart restaurants.
But what really makes this resort is the staff. Donna in peter johns bar is amazing we will miss her, Daniel the barman makes the best cocktails especially an ummm or a whatever. Dillan also was a great bartender. These five made our honeymoon special. I hope the management read this review and make a point of giving them the acknowledgement that they deserve.

Room Tip: we stayed in a junior suite on the harmony side, would highly recommend these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gavinbecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Gavinbecki, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for posting your review. Thank you for your comments and you can be sure that we will post your review along with all the others for the staff to read. We hope to see you again very soon

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

All I can say is amazing. Coconut Bay invited us in with open arms and rum punch, We were greeted by Gibbs and the wonderful front end staff, including Billie and Emily. Everyday was an adventure, greeted early by Big Ted at the lobby bar and then by the many staff members. Kevin, Big Ted and Chris arranged a private dinner for 12 at the gazebo and it was out of this world, Chef Lwonga who is also chef at the Capri restaurant gave us a meal that certainly exceeded our expectations. They also planned a birthday dinner for Uncle Ed, where Big Ted and Sherlander tended to us. Sherlander sang a beautiful song for us which made the evening perfect. Our daughter and now fiance got engaged during the week there and Chris and Big Ted made the evening a memorable one for all. I can't say enough about the thoughtfullness and generosity of the staff at this resort. We started the days at the buffet for breakfast where one could have a yogurt to a full blown meal with bacon, eggs, sausages pancakes, crepes, omletes, fresh toast and on and on. Jonelle greeted us most days with a smile that could light up any room. The three main restaurants for evening were the Calabash, Capri and Silk, there were no disappointments at all. I'd say asking for shrimp for dessert and Silk and actually getting it made this extra special for our friend Pat. Vernon the water aerobics instructor was like no other, he definitely gave us a good workout, smiling and dancing the whole hour. At night he was part of the entertainment team and impressed us with his dancing. The kids become very good friends with a little dynamo named Pazzazz, He was a real treat to have come and spend time with us everday he was working and he sported the Canadian sunglasses our daughter in law gave to him. On to the the food at the pool grill. Everything and anything you could imagine from grilled ham and cheese sadwiches to homemade pizza. Chicken caesar wraps, hotdogs with the best chili sauce,to pulled pork and hamburgers, I am sure I missed many items but the girls working the grills were like machines.
Now, the pool bar. It was frequented by us all and we were charmed and entertained by the boys,Skeet, Corry and Morgan, Jade was there once in awhile. Dyson was a special young man who collected the glasses and garbage we all left around, he was very serious about his job and didn't like to talk too long, by the end of our stay he was comfortable enough with us to sit for a minute and talk and we actually had him smiling a few times. ketra from housekeeping left our rooms a treat to come back to with flower petals on the bed daily and funny little towel animals, there was often a note wishing us a blessed day and good stay. The lazy river and the water slide were a fun attraction even for the older of us in the group. We sure kept the kids laughing as were screaming down the water slide. Mark the head honcho spent a fair bit of time talking with us and never seemed to be in a hurry. We want to thank everyone at the resort for an amazing holiday. We came in as vacationers and left feeling like family. Once again we would like to thank everyone especially Mark, Gibbs, Kevin, Chris, Big Ted, Pazzazz, Vernon, Skeets, Corry, Morgan, Ketra, Jonelle, Tiki, Billie Emily, Shayan, Dyson and the young man who climbed the coconut trees every morning, Ted certainly was thankful to have his coconut water. I know there are many more but these went out of there way to put a smile of our faces everyday. To end ,the weather was hot,we all came back with golden tans, thank God for the breeze. From the bottom of 12 happy vacationers hearts thankyou once again, We know we will be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ramona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Ramona, thank you for your review on your stay here at Coconut Bay. What a great group of people. You guys know how to chill. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team here is thrilled when our guests have a great time and reviews like yours make it all worthwhile.

Thank you for your comments and thank you for your stay!

I hope your snow is all gone!
Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was told this resort used to be a Club Med that shut down years ago, remained closed for a few years, and eventually re-opened around 2005 as the Coconut Bay Resort and Spa. Overall we really liked this resort: it is just a few minutes from the airport; there are constant cool breezes off the ocean; it has a long quiet beach for walking; good food; the spa (using resort credits!) and, in particular, the friendly staff. We have been to a number of Caribbean all-inclusive resorts and this is the first time I want to mention the names of staff members - they all seem so genuinely friendly here. Thanks to Eric, Chris (good on bar duty and bussing tables on top of managing the restaurants), Big Ted, Mitch, Kerdi, Kay, YOLO, and all the friendly men and women working in the buffet restaurant.

Not part of a mega-resort chain makes this resort unique, intimate and very enjoyable. Although almost at capacity the week we were there, it never seemed busy and we could always find a shady spot by the pool (lots of palm trees so they don’t provide lots of umbrellas/palapas like other resorts). This is a rather plain looking resort - the buildings are definitely more “1970s motel” than “2014 luxury resort” but that was ok with us. The buildings and grounds seem to be well maintained. The resort does have some issues but these were minor and didn’t significantly affect our stay. We had a nice clean renovated Harmony 4th floor junior suite that had a very comfortable (although a bit high) king bed and great ocean view. There was nothing that special about our room and we didn’t see any of the other types of rooms. Some days we didn’t get all the towels/face cloths we were supposed to get. We had some things in our room (e.g. makeup mirror with light) that another other couple didn’t have in their room. So there were a few inconsistencies.

The lazy river is the best we’ve seen/used at any resort. The adult-only pool is very tiny and none of the pools are very deep. Although sign-up sheets are posted each day for various activities like water polo or volleyball there never seemed to be any signatures on those sheets and the entertainment staff did not race around several times a day coaxing people to participate. As a result even the “activities” pool was very quiet most of the day. Not a problem for us – we were there to relax. There were some beach activities from time to time, e.g. cricket. There were lots of families with babies and young children and there were also lots of adults with no kids the week we were there. Clients are mainly from UK, Canada and US. Probably not the best place for teens or young adults who want more activities. You will be in heaven though if you are a kitesurfer. (We just enjoyed watching them!)

The buffet restaurant was excellent even though we ate there one night only because of all the other dining options offered. Lots of variety, everything fresh, no line-ups at the food stations any time we went. We loved the food there. In retrospect, I think we preferred the food at the buffet over the food at the Silk and Calabash specialty restaurants. The steaks at Calabash unfortunately were overdone and tough. The piri-piri steak was also very spicy (my wife could not eat it) – I could not eat it until I scraped off the spice coating. Some of the dishes at Silk were too salty and heavily sauced. All 4 of us thought the food at the Capri was excellent though... I don’t understand why some people don’t like this restaurant. We enjoyed both of the outdoor theme nights by the family pool – good food and good entertainment (buffet is closed on these theme nights). Who knew country music is so popular in St. Lucia? The only thing we didn’t appreciate was waiting in line-up for 15-20 minutes to get a table at the outdoor dinners. There were also line-ups a few times getting into the buffet… not sure why staff at the buffet and theme nights need to record our room numbers or why we needed to wait to be shown to a table. The special couple’s meal by the adult pool was a letdown – food was not very warm, it was hard to see what we were eating in the low light and it was too breezy being right next to the water (we should have gone to the buffet). The weekly schedule of events is posted on the CBay website.

Service was fast, competent and friendly at all of the bars. We didn’t see any loud obnoxious drunks here unlike a few resorts we’ve been to. I created a tropical rum drink while I was there… ask Kerdi or Kay for an “Erickson-by-the-pool”!

We went on one tour (a private tour). “More Than A Cab” is a locally owned and operated taxi/tour company run by a very knowledgeable lady named Vicky.

There were a couple issues on check-out day. We were told at the spa that we could upgrade our free indoor massage to the couples cabana massage using our resort credits but at checkout time we were told that was not correct. This was resolved to our satisfaction with the assistance of the manager on duty. The other problem relates to the poor condition of the showers located in the lobby washrooms. One of the men’s showers was unusable (no shower head or control handle) and the water was cold in the only other shower. Since we had already checked out of our room, there’s no choice but to take one last dip in the pool or hot tub to freshen up a bit before the trip home.

Canadians will feel very welcome in St. Lucia and at this resort (nice to see some Canadians on the management team). We were very happy with our package from Air Canada Vacations. Overall we enjoyed this resort more than some resorts we’ve been to but, considering this trip cost almost double what we’ve paid for trips to Punta Cana, Cuba or Mayan Riviera, I don’t think we’ll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canoeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Canoeboy,, thank you for your review. We appreciate all of our guests comments and we are very happy that you found staff members worth mentioning they will be thrilled. Its great that you enjoyed your holiday and we thank you for your constructive feedback on some of your dining experiences. We continually strive to improve and comments like yours allow us to keep our eye on the ball.

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I found this resort to be great for a get away, with the pools and slides offering very good day activities. The food and snacks were exceptional, Emee offered great service and food and Maryanne in room services was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank knight2170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just waiting for our departure and I thought I'd write a Review whilst everything was fresh in the mind.
Overall, this is a super Resort, great staff, lots of activities for couples and families both on the resort and outside, excellent food options. The hotel and grounds are clean, gardens and pools well maintained (every day..!) and Mark, the GM is visible and always walking around chatting to guests, which is really good.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Resort to anyone who wanted to visit the Caribbean, the breeze just makes the hot days so much more comfortable..!
I was close to giving this place full marks but there are just a few very small things that we think could just improve the experience.
The lobby is a busy meeting and relaxing area, partly due to the free wifi, with a full mix of adults and children. Why then is smoking allowed here..? Most visitors are from Canada, USA or the UK, where smokers are now conditioned to smoke outside....so there wouldn't be any complaints..
The cocktails are fun but would taste so much better being made with juices rather than syrups....
Calabash and Silk are excellent but the experience is lessened by passing the scruffy former jewellery store, which seems abandoned and unloved. The hotel shop too needs some work.....cheap tatty souvenirs, which undermine the hotels overall quality.
The wine lists in Calabash, Silks and Capri would work better (and sell more quality wine) if there were some tasting notes..
We stayed in a 4th floor room, great views, slightly noisy air con, which to be fair we got used to, decor was clean but basic 3-4* although I believe some makeovers are planned.
We did three trips out, Botanical Gardens, Waterfalls etc were fun, Fishing also, although we didn't get even one bite...! Forest Hike was interesting but the guide was a little quiet but...we did see parrots..! Our favourite trip was on Saturday morning, hired a couple of bikes and rode into town to see proper St Lucia life......fantastic, markets, real life on the street, friendly, interesting people....loved it..!
So, thank you Coconut Bay and all your fabulous staff for a brilliant holiday, even the rainy last day added some variety......I'm maybe now feeling guilty about just 4stars....

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Edsnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
12.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
987 reviews
20.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
22.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
10.9 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
761 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range: $316 - $872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, complimentary WIFI, 8 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, West Indies, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing