We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great family fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 246, Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My family and I had a great week at Coconut Bay. The pools, the food and drinks were all wonderful, but the best part was the staff. Everyone that works there will do whatever they can to help you, which is something you will not always find.There is a good variety of pools, and my kids loved the water slides. I would like to give personal acknowledgements to certain staff members that stuck out in our minds.
Eric - who greeted us right off the bus with rum punch and juice, and helped us with our bags.
Dean John and Shervon - who made the water slides so much fun for all of us.
Yvonne - Most personable staff member ever!
Valencia - Kept our room spotless, and left us a thoughtful note everyday.
Verna - The Air Transat rep who was there to answer any questions, and made sure we got out on our day trips without any problems.

My kids are already asking when they can go back!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Jeff
Thanks for posting your review. We are all thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay. The Staff and Management wish to thank you for vactaioning with us and would love to have you back!

Cheers
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,906
    1,666
    438
    153
    111
See reviews for
2,158
1,799
65
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iroquois Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is very dated.Took 3.5 hrs to get checked in.We had booked in adult section & were given rooms on family side along with 3 other couples we were with.Beach very disappointing as full of seaweed in water,beach itself was kept clean.Night life almost non existent.We were there for a wedding which was very unorganized.On a positive note food excellent & bartenders Joker & Honey made us laugh & kept us well hydrated.Would never return here!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Noreen, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests expectations. We clearly did not succeed in doing so in your case. For this the Staff and Managment wish to apologize. Every Resort has areas to improve upon and we are no different. We accept the areas we need to work on and improve daily through training, and listening to constructive comments like yours.

We all thank you and wish you the best

Cheers
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This isn't the most upscale hotel, but it is clean, nicely decorated, well maintained and well suited for kids and families. We had the "family suite", which is basically two adjoining rooms with a connecting door. The beds were comfortable and the shower stall roomy. The staff is very friendly, the food was good, and the kids had a blast in the lazy river and the 2 water slides. The food in the a-la-carte restaurants was excellent (and I'm a foodie). While there are only 3, if we had stayed more than 5 days I'd have had no problem visiting each one a second time. Lots on the menus looked good and deciding what to order was a tough choice. Calabash is a must. Very unique food. The others were more traditional Asian and Italian with a Caribbean flair. The buffet has a good variety at all times (and we never had to wait), and the cajun chicken sandwich at the grille is fantastic. Also, definitely order a "dirty banana" at the bar.

All room balconies face the ocean and there is always a constant breeze rolling in, but it was never too windy. There are some good reefs to snorkel on just right off the beach if you go out far enough (about 2-3 times the breakwall distance). Lots of fish and coral, but slightly rough water sometimes depending on the wind (its on the Atlantic side). There is a snorkel shack right on the beach and they had kayaks as well. There is quite a bit of sea grass and it washes up on the beach regularly, but they do a good job maintaining it. The sand itself was nice and fine.

Very close to the airport (<10 minutes), which is a big plus. Some people in line at the airport were saying they had an hour and a half drive to get to their hotel (probably on the north side of the island). It is about 30-45 minutes to attractions in Soufriere, on a well-paved but winding road. I do have to say I was impressed with the condition of their roads. Complete opposite of Jamaica. I did get a little queasy both times, but that's pretty much what you're looking at traveling anywhere in St. Lucia because of the island's topography.

Another reviewer who went at the same time said that the hotel was full. That surprises me. I had assumed it was half full. We rarely waited in line behind more than a few people for anything --- the bars, the restaurants, the water slides. Other resorts I've been to, all the chairs are gone by 8am. And forget getting one in the shade. Not here. Plenty of chairs everywhere. It did not feel crowded at all --- quite the opposite.

While the waitstaff at the restaurants are on the slower side (one night with a group of six it was about 10 minutes between the first and last plate at the table), I can't think of a single bad attitude from ANY staff member. Even the gardeners wave and say "hi" to you. Bartenders are always singing. Even the grille people sweating up a storm were always courteous and took care of everyone. Everyone is super-friendly. I think this isn't just Coconut Bay, but indicative of St. Lucia. The people are just really warm and open and smiling all the time, waving and honking to each other everywhere you go. All of our tour guides and cab drivers were super-talkative and friendly. Even people hawking stuff when you're around town seem more interested in talking to you than selling to you. Compared to somewhere like Cancun, it is night and day.

We took two excursions, which we booked right in the hotel lobby. One was to see the volcano, which included a mud bath and a very hot hot tub, and a dip in a fresh-water area filled by a water fall (the temperature was like bath water). That also included breathtaking snorkeling at a marine reserve right between the Pitons. Incredible!!! Hundreds of colored fish of all kinds, choral, urchins a foot in diameter. Best snorkeling I've ever done. I stayed out an hour and didn't want to leave. The kids and I also tasted a bunch of cool fruit from a guy selling stuff out of a canoe right on the beach (try the big softball-sized "apricot" - can't remember what it is called).

We also did the whale and dolphin watching catamaran in Soufriere. No whales, but tons of dolphins and flying fish. That was a nice time.

All in all we had a very good time and would definitely recommend Coconut Bay to anyone, and especially St. Lucia in general. It's not like other tourist destinations where you see nothing but wall-to-wall tourists. It's off the beaten path so I think not as crowded (although the St. Lucian's want to change that obviously to increase tourism revenues). A real gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CT_Programmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I work in the travel industry and have travelled extensively around the Caribbean with my family. I was just expecting a run of the mill 4 star all inclusive for a week of sunshine with the kids (9,11 and 12) but did not get anything like that. It was so much fun, absolutely fantastic Yoga, Pilates and Water aerobics with Vernon. The evening entertainment was very much enjoyed by the kids. The kids club are just the loveliest and most patient people I have ever met. Great bar staff and waitresses. Rooms were clean and spacious and there were lots of choices during the mealtimes for my kids.

The staff are truly amazing, they were so friendly and could not do enough for you, not just with the entertainment crew but everywhere. Really !
Shout out to:
Elva, Samanfer, Mitch, Anson, Vernon, Elsious, Sevee, Mia, Sarah, Ulia, Marcia, Valencia and Eric. We are all missing you already and cannot wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88Turquoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have traveled to many different islands and stayed at several all inclusive resorts. This one was by far, the most disappointing. Hotel is vey old and rooms are outdated, bathrooms are terrible. Food is just ok and the entertainment is non existent. They have sign up sheets but no activities ever happened and we never saw an activities director. The pool water is very cold and there is a constant wind, not breeze, that makes it almost chilly. There are Donkey's tied up to trees outside of the hotel and they make VERY loud noises every few hours all day and night. Makes it very hard to get a good night sleep. Bugs are a problem (especially at night on the outside of your hotel room door, gross! They do spray to help the situation but spraying pesticides at dinner time while your are eating outdoors is awful. Lounge chairs by the pool are very old, many broken and the water park is nothing more than 2 slides and a lazy river. The slides close at 4. and the pool bar at 5. There was another bar by the pool but it was never open. Beach is not good.

I have read the recent reviews and honestly cannot believe how anybody can say such positive things. If you are spending all that money to go on an all inclusive vacation, don't go here. Not worth the money, very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobiasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel. Poss little dated in areas. Good, huge variety of food (a little disappointed with Italian and Asian restaurants). Pools and areas great, non slip, ideal for kids. Clean and tidy. Beautiful beach tho tad blowy as Atlantic and bit seaweeds as it is a reserve but nothing spoilt it for us. Wedding package was perfect and so simple. Remember the Caribbean people are layed back and nothing seems urgent even wedding organisation or pouring a drink (seems slightly rude) but they do get right and make it enjoyable. Our wedding cake, flowers, venue, vowels and service couldn't have been more perfect for our family of four(we upgraded my bouquet for about £10 and one long stem flower for eldest daughter, other than that it was basic package). Entertainment was great, from bands to dancing to a country show to Caribbean show was fantastic, but you can always find somewhere just to chill. Great onsite photographers. The kids club was excellent, plenty to do, if our nearly 3 year old wasn't so precious we would have put her in daily (great hearing kids come out raving about it). Slides great fun for all ages. Rooms are clean, large and tidy, poss tad basic if being fussy. No complaints from us. If your going just chill and enjoy it, it's a family Caribbean fun and lovely resort (very near airport). Would recommend

Room Tip: Harmony for adults but soo much space and choice all over complex for pools, seating, quiet etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

+ Just returned home from 11 days here for our honeymoon with our two young children. Staff, reception, bartenders, waiters/ waitresses, entertainment team, kids club staff very friendly and helpful, polite and kind. Our room was upgraded from a Garden view to a Splash view as we were a honeymoon couple. Rooms very spacious and clean. All restaurants pleasant with plenty of food choice, loved all of the types of restaurants; Italian, Caribbean, Asian food we wouldn't choose to eat at home so that was lovely. Enjoyed the themed nights and sitting outside for tea of an evening next to the pool. Our daughter enjoyed the kids club and the water slides and lazy river were brilliant. Lovely sandy beaches rotavated regularly by tractors to clear seaweed...... our daughter loved the horses. Tuesday & Saturday market set up in hotel convenient and a good selection of goods. Photographer on site for some action shots, Food available all day, loads of drinks & cocktails available. Very funny staff JUNIAS totally crazy and friendly :-) 5 minute transfer from Hewanorra airport however, very few planes overhead so still very quiet and not much disruption.

- average bathrooms with noticeable wear and tear. Delay in suitcases being taken up to room, no cot in room on arrival, balcony sliding doors unable to lock however fixed efficiently by staff, heavy rainfall caused a massive puddle in room due to door not being level with a gap between the door and door frame, not enough shelter from sunshine which we needed with our young baby which meant us having to get up very early to get sun loungers with shade. Not informed when activities are starting and where they will be taking place only meeting points advertised.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
12.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
20.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
22.0 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
22.3 mi away
East Winds Inn
East Winds Inn
#1 of 14 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: PO Box 246, Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, 4 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing